We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Value for the Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanside Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanside Inn
Ranked #26 of 136 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
100 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Value for the Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The hotel may appear a little run-down (it is a Best Western after all, not the Sheraton (which is next door) or the Marriott down the street, but don't let looks deceive you. You walk the same path as the Marriott guests down the street do to get to the beach, which is probably about a 3 minute walk from the back of the hotel. The front desk staff is very accommodating. The included breakfast has the most items I have ever seen in a hotel breakfast - the food is spread out nicely, so there are rarely any crowds at any one station. The food choices also rotate, so you don't get the same food from one day to the next. None of the rooms have an oceanview, but you may get a sliver from the shared balcony (basically the balcony is a shared walkway) depending on which side of the hotel you're on. The locks on some of the balcony doors are questionable, so just a warning if this is a concern. The pool area never got loud when we were there in November. Parking spaces at the hotel (for a fee) are very tight. There is a small bar/lounge in the hotel which offers some room service items. Overall, a good value for what you get. Also, thanks to the previous poster who warned of the construction work next door at the Sheraton and the tip to request a room on the opposite side of the building.

Room Tip: Some 1st floor rooms are poolside; some 2nd floor rooms are on sundeck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannibal12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    558
    215
    69
    48
See reviews for
395
501
49
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This hotel was recommended sight unseen. For the price and location, it was an excellent choice. The rooms were very clean, a hot breakfast was included, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is old in areas, but it looks like they are updating the areas a little at a time. The bathroom was a decent size, very clean, the beds were comfortable. This was a 2 day stop before cruising. We were within walking distance to the Jungle Queen, the water taxi, a store and a restaurant. The beach was within a 5 minute walk. And the trolley stops nearby to take you downtown to the beaches and restaurants. Well worth the money

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanside Inn, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Donna,
I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, specially since it was recommended to you. We continue to make improvements and enjoy reading our guest comments and suggestions.
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write about us. We hope to see you again in the future.
Sincerely,
Carolina Bello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This hotel was the worst I have EVER stayed in during a visit to the US, and my advice is stay elsewhere. We booked a sun deck room, if you must stay here make sure you get one of these, as they are the only ones worth having . Having said that to get to them means traversing the dark seedy alley from car park to elevator, the depressing foyer, and dingy corridors. The staff were the most incredibly inept I have ever had the misfortune to come across. They messed up our booking bad style. When we arrived in the tacky foyer, a very miserable and combative trainee called paulina gave us a taste of what was to come. She insisted she couldn't find our booking demanding a confirmation which we gave her ,15 mins later still standing there tired an. d confused. No apology, or reassurance that she had now found it, she started to book us in . She was contradictory and was just hopeless and unpleasant. We asked to see the duty manager, eventually she called her after us insisting that we were unhappy. The manager Teresa came and was apologetic, and took over booking us in , unfortunately under someone elses booking details . This resulted in an "upgrade" that actually downgraded us from our booked sun deck room to a pool view room that was a lower grade than room we booked. When we realised what had happened I rang down and the mistake was discovered. It then took a further 30 minutes to get into the room we had booked and paid for, that was an hour and a half in total from our
arrival.
Our room was just OK, the sun deck was a filthy tiled verandah shared by the odd numbered rooms on second floor ( don't accept 209) with steps down to pool level unfortunately for us out of use due to painting. Talk about faulty towers, situation just went from bad to worse, Teresa gave ya a free drink ticket which I took to bar. There was no one behind bar just an elderly gent sat at the bar reading a paper. I asked him if the bar tender was around, to which he replied that he was the bar tender. No kidding ! He was unsmiling, and it was like I was disturbing him unreasonably to expect him to get us a drink. This place was just laughably bad, and we hated it. It's hemmed in all round and I am sure you could do much better.
By this time we had lost the daylight which impacted on our short stay in fort lauderdale.
The only positive about this hotel s location, but be aware you cannot see the ocean despite the name of the hotel.

Room Tip: Sun deck but ask them to mop round your table and chairs as the guy who s supposed to do it does not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheshirecaz59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanside Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Cheshirecaz59,
My sincerest apology for the negative experience you had at our hotel. The lack of quality service you received is not normal and definetely not up to our standards. Unfortunately the trainee got flustered and made huge mistakes including not getting the supevisor involved promptly. I have shared with the staff all your comments and have taken steps to prevent situations like yours in the future. Once again my apologies.
Sincerely,
Carolina Bello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Ontario
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We liked this hotel because of it's proximity to the Beach, walking distance from some busier areas of the beach, across the street from the water taxi, on the sun trolley route. Our particular room was overlooking the pool however there was a deck that went right by our window so the curtains had to be closed making the room seem dark. The hotel is older, the rooms clean but dated. The pool was very enjoyable day or evening. The little restaurant served good tasting snacks/meals up until 11pm. The buffet breakfast was good, not at all crowded because if all the tables indoors were used up one could also go outside to sit at a table by the pool. The staff were friendly & helpful,

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RosieRed19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanside Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
I want to thank you for taking the time to write such nice comments, they will be shared with the staff who always appreciate them. We hope you visit us again in the future.
Sincerely,
Carolina Bello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seal beach ca
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Perfect hotel for our needs` came in 2 days early for pre cruise stay~ AA ++ staff very helpful
gave my Brother & wife upgrade to suite ~ it was her birthday BUT was next to the pool cleaning at 2:00 a.m .breakfast set up started 5:00 a.m. next to the bedroom wall Pluses
Walking distance to restaurants ~ beach ~ Trolley~ Breakfast included all you could want buffet waffles ~ cereal ~ bacon~ juices etc. Rooms very clean comfortable beds safe ~ fridge Cute lilt bar great service ~ good size pool
We will go back used to use another place " Zizzy"'s hotel this is much better :) Shuttle to ship quick Try it u will like it

Room Tip: stay away from street next door is Sheraton contruction started early
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seababe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanside Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Seababe,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed it and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Sincerely,
Carolina Bello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

10/30/12 Shuttle service to and from the airport was quick and easy, the staff is very friendly, the rooms are in great condition, the free continental breakfast was really good - eggs, sausage, toast, bagels, muffins, coffee, yogurt and fruit. The hotel smells fresh and clean everywhere including the elevator. The bathroom counters are an average height not to high not to low. Our room had a flat screen tv which was nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ASunsetAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanside Inn, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear SunsetAway,
Thank you for such a wonderful review. I will make sure to share this with our staff, as I know they enjoyed serving all of our guest, and always look to make sure that everyone has a great stay. Looking forward to the opportunity of serving you again.
Sincerely,
Carolina Bello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We needed a reasonably priced hotel to stay in for 9 days when we were looking for a sailboat to buy. On our arrival our hearts sank when we entered the dingy passage leading to our room which really was not at all bad and the beds were very comfy. Imagine our horror and disappointment when next morning we were awakened with horrendous noise outside coming from the Sheraton hotel opposite where some serious renovation was being carried out . We could not face another 8 days listening to it so asked to move to another room which turned out to be on the poolside . It was a bit of like being between the devil and the deep blue sea since the pool was often used by noisy children and adults but it was the lesser evil of the two. The room was smaller than our original choice but had the things we needed fridge and a microwave for when we did not want to eat out . The aircon was also very noisy so had to be turned off at night to get some sleep .
The staff were always courteous and helpfull and keep the place very clean . I would rate the staff 5 star in a 3 star hotel... almost like a crew on an old rusting ship keeping it heroically afloat . One of the highlights was the breakfast which really set us up for the day and my husband is now addicted to waffles meaning that a waffle iron will be on the shopping list when we get home .

Room Tip: This November check to see if the Sheraton opposite is still doing major renovations and if so choos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tuire w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanside Inn, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Tuire,
First all a really big thank you for staying with us, We realize that you have many choices and we thank you for choosing us. I apologize for the construction noise being made by the neighboring hotel, they have told us it should be done soon. We are also on the planning stages to revamp the hotel and hope to do this the next 12 months and your comments certainly help us as we have many decisions to make. Our staff appreciates your nice compliments. We hope you look us up again next time you visit Fort Lauderdale.
Sincerely,
Carolina Bello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#28 of 136 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 stars 1,463 reviews
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#59 of 136 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 stars 3,212 reviews
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
#37 of 136 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 stars 3,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Aqua Hotel
#6 of 136 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 stars 909 reviews
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 136 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 stars 3,340 reviews
Central Beach
Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach - a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel
Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach ...
#56 of 136 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 stars 3,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanside Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanside Inn
Address: 1180 Seabreeze Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-2426
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#40 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#46 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach side Hotel, located just 100 yards to Fort Lauderdale Beach ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, getaroom.com, Odigeo, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Cancelon and Orbitz so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Oceanside Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Best Western Oceanside Inn
Best Western Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Best Western
Best Western Oceanside Ft Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing