We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Oceanside Inn
Ranked #19 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 15, 2012

We spent two days here in December after our cruise. The staff were very good, especially the breakfast staff and front desk staff. The rooms are big, clean but they do have older furnishings, (which did not bother us). The bathroom was large and modern. The outdoor pool was quite dirty and I saw no one using it. The location is very good although you need to walk a couple of blocks for some other restaurants or for the water taxi. I would stay here again but would request a room facing the street, not the back alley, as those views are very poor!

Room Tip: Request a street view, not the back alley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,658)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,052 - 1,058 of 1,658 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2012

It's an older hotel, but it is clean and has a good location. The best thing is the staff. EVERYONE was incredibly friendly, but the two who really stood out were Mike the bartender and Frank the host at breakfast. The free breakfast buffet was good, too.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hawkmoon_Rivenwind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

First I want to thank everybody here for making my stay so memorable and enjoyable. David Kong makes sure everybody here is happy EVERYBODY! Thanks to Sirena & Aznie at front desk for getting me the best room on sundeck!, Rose for tuna melt and beer, Bobby for footlong hot dog and cheeseburger and beer, Frank for excellent service at breakfast, and everyone else who helped make me happy here. I looked at all the hotels on the beach and this one has the best view, service, price, and friendliest staff I have seen anywhere on my vacations. Everybody helped me find taxis which were cheap and friendly (WAY BETTER than car which there was no need for anyway. Beers for only $3 here, and food was the best on the beach!! I went to all the other hotels here and nothing compared to this one NOTHING up to the most expensive/exclusive one, whatever its name was i dont remember. this is the place to feel good on your vacation, the pool is warm, there is no stress here like other close hotels, and there are many college girls that stay here too hahahaha but you gotta see it for yourself i cant tell you everything

Room Tip: ASK for room on sundeck, its the only way to do it if you want the best experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sportatorium99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

This facility is just a short walk from the beach and our three night stay was very enjoyable despite some minor issues related to an older building.

Front desk staff was friendly and efficient. And Frank, the breakfast room host, deserves special recognition. He was always upbeat and put forth a genuine effort to get guests' mornings off to a pleasant start. He also had some excellent tips for sightseeing and dining in the area.

As other guests have mentioned, the building is older and there were some minor issues I associate with that age - a closet door that dragged against the floor, a door to the balcony that had a loose knob, and an entry door that rattled when the wind blew (closing it on a wash cloth quieted it). The room itself was clean, the bedding comfortable, lighting good and shower adequate. Free internet worked well.

I feel, given location, room price was reasonable, even though parking is an extra $10.00 per day.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

I am puzzled to read all the good reviews for this hotel. It certainly doesn't have the same Best Western standard we have in Canada. We stayed there for three nights after our cruise and paid close to $200 per night. After being in our room on the 5th floor for only 1/2 hour we asked to be moved because we could hear every word the man in an adjoining room was saying. We nearly froze in the second room, also on the 5th floor; the temperature dropped dramatically at night and our heater was broken. Also, there was no hot water unless we let the shower run for twenty minutes. The phone didn't work. Both those rooms had broken closet doors, thin sheets and needed serious updating. We decided to stay a third night because it was easier than finding another hotel in a city we didn't know. We moved to a third room because ours was already reserved for someone else that night. The third room on the third floor looked really promising and looked somewhat updated. Then we discovered the coffee maker didn't work.

On the plus side,the staff was excellent. Our heater was not only fixed immediately but the workings were totally replaced and the phone was fixed. The young man named Caress actually ran out onto the street to get us a taxi when the one we ordered didn't come quickly enough. Frank, who is in charge of the breakfast room, is excellent with friendly advice on things to do and see in Ft. Lauderdale.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valerica45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Frank the maitre'd in the breakfast room was terrific. Very Knowledgeable about the area and gives very good tips on where to go. He is the highlight of this Hotel. Hotel is definitly an older hotel showing it's age. Rooms was average. Average cost for the value. Beds comfortable. The only complaint I had was the descrimination from the Front desk. I had brought my son who is 19 and his friend.Whe had paid for 2 rooms. When he accidentilly left his key in the room, the front desk did not allow him in, or give him another key. They made them sit in the hallway outside of there room untill he got ahold of me and I had to stop enjoying my Vacation and return to the hotel t get a key from the front desk for him. They would not even give him a key by request over the phone. Ocean View rooms is not. You have to squint threw the trees and you can catch a veiw of it. Common areas (hallways, garage elevator, Ect.) Needs more cleaning, updated. If this was done, could probably be a BW Premier hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tlogsdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

You will find a friendly staff, nice rooms, clean pool, nice bar with TVs and a pool table. There is covered parking in a secure garage. Enjoy walking on the beach or walk to area restaurants. The Trolley also stops right in front of the hotel so you can travel around Fort Lauderdale for 25 cents. The location is excellent. I travel to South Florida on business several times a year and always stay here.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bulldog1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#43 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,088 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#17 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,906 reviews
Fort Lauderdale Marriott North
#24 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#20 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,776 reviews
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#12 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,185 reviews
snooze
#5 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Oceanside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Oceanside Inn

Address: 1180 Seabreeze Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-2426 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanside Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#33 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#44 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: $130 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Oceanside Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach side Hotel, located just 100 yards to Fort Lauderdale Beach ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Oceanside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Oceanside Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Best Western Oceanside Inn
Best Western Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Best Western
Best Western Oceanside Ft Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing