We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Spring Break 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pelican Grand Beach Resort, A Noble House Resort
Ranked #9 of 127 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Few things are better than combining a view of emerald waters, a manicured beach (directly adjacent to the property), heated pool, lazy river, good food, great staff (especially the infectious smile on Kimberly's face), and ice cream all in one place - the Pelican Grand Beach Resort. Close enough to the hustle and bustle of Fort Lauderdale Beach yet far enough away to insure a quiet and restful night. As our girls (ages 6 and 8) said many times during our 4 night stay, 'this is just awesome!'

Room Tip: The suites (we stayed in an ocean view) are perfect for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kansas2620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkeesler, General Manager at Pelican Grand Beach Resort, A Noble House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thank you for writing. We are delighted that you picked Pelican Grand for your family’s spring break! Our beautiful beaches and lush pool area make it easy to relax. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your vacation with us. Come visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,865)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,597 - 2,603 of 3,865 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2013

My family of four (wife and two kids ages 6 and 8) stayed at the Grand Pelican from March 23 to March 27.

Location: Convenient proximity to the Ft. Lauderdale airport, this hotel is in an odd location amidst uber luxury high rise condos and 100% vacant hotels remiscient of some third world countries. The hotel is located directly on the beach which is a lovely feature. However, there literally is nothing around the hotel. This is not a problem, though, as one can hail a cab or drive wherever one wants. Rating: 4.5 (since directly on the beach) though the broader area can be both dumpy and pristine. Ft. Lauderdale is an odd mixture of cheesy/honky tonk and high class/luxurious.

Rooms: The rooms feature a bedroom area an a suite area. The suite area has a small pull-out bed that can accommodate small kids up until about age 12. The rooms are dated, but we did not spend much time in them. Your standard hotel room. The suite was nice, but I'd rate the room a 3.5 to 4.0.


Beach: The beach is small but beautiful. We were here when the winds were gusting to 35 MPH yet the waves were fairly gentle. The next day, the winds died down, and the ocean was calm. Great swimming for kids of all ages. The beach itself was clean. Hurricane Sandy swept away much of the beach, so things can get slightly, but not overly, cramped. Still, the beach is private so this is not a problme whatsoever. I mean, I counted about 20 people in the water over a 400 yard stretch, so there's plenty of room for all. Rating: 4.5

Pool: Ah....this is the best feature of the hotel. The pool is HEATED. Water temperature was 86 degrees! The lazy river is even warmer and measure 92 degrees! This is terrific! I cannot stand arriving at a subtropical or tropical destination in the off season only to step into ice cold pools. I did this at the Beloved Hotel in Cancun and quite frankly felt we had wasted our money. The pool is a zero entry pool which is great for younger kids. The deep end measures just over 5 ft. Watch out for the plastic grates in the pool and lazy river. I stubbed my toe and bruised my heel on them. Rating: 4.5

Towel Service and Water: Offered complimentary to guests of the hotel in the pool and beach areas, this is what gives this hotel that extra 1/2 star to make it a 4.5. Nathan was helpful in locating empty lounge chairs and warning us of the perils of Man-O-Ware jelly fish and sea lion fish. Rating: 4.5

Restaurants: We attempted to visit on Sunday, but were told they did not have room. Thus, we decided to eat in for breakfast (small fridge in room, so we bought milk/cereal), and then drive to one of hundreds of restaurants in the area. We read that the food was mediocre and overpriced, but we never got the opporunity to try it. But, the view is incredible. There is also an ice cream shop at the hotel. However, I was quite disappointed that they did not carry chocolat chip. It's kinda like going to a burger joint and then they don't have french fries?

Parking: Valet is $28 per day, and we tipped $2 each time we left the hotel. Kinda costly and a bit of a slap in the face when patrons of the restaurant are only charged $3. Rating: 4.5 (because the folks were generally darn quick and I actually began to enjoy not having to walk to my car and just have it delivered). But, it is expensive.

Gym: Piece of crap with one treadmill, an eliptical and a few universal machines. Rating: 2 of 5.

Overall, we enjoyed ourselves and the staff at the hotel aimed to be helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Numenor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkeesler, Manager at Pelican Grand Beach Resort, A Noble House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Thank you for writing such an extensive review for our resort! We are happy to hear you had a wonderful stay overall and were able to enjoy our pool along with our other amenities. We hope to have you and your family back to see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Jen at the pool is the best! She kept the drinks coming all day long. I've been staying here with my family for years. My kids love the pool and lazy river. I love relaxing by the pool. The staff makes sure we're comfortable and happy all the time. Food is great. Drinks are even better.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SMLP1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkeesler, General Manager at Pelican Grand Beach Resort, A Noble House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

We are so pleased to hear you have made Pelican Grand a part of your regular family vacations! Jen will be happy you and your family enjoyed her terrific services, as well. We look forward to creating more memories with you here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

The Hotel is upgrading their TV's, new carpets, new menu and some new staff. Excellent service from Melissa, Nathan, Jen, Alex and Paul. It is always a pleasure staying at Pelican. Hopefully they soon get the approval to fix their breaking wall on the beach. Great place for a quiet vacation.
Would be nice if they could incorporate some fun for the kids and Adults, suggestion would be dancing, Volleyball. Music would be nice around the pool area or on the beach.
David & Leslie.

Room Tip: Rooms on the lower levels on the south side of the hotel are noisy because of the A/C units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkeesler, General Manager at Pelican Grand Beach Resort, A Noble House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

It’s always a pleasure to have you! Melissa, Nathan, Jen, Alex, and Paul will be happy to hear you enjoyed their services and had a great stay with us overall! Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our resort. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

This is the 9th year that my daughter (and sometimes my sister) and I vacation at the Pelican Grand Beach Resort. It gets better each year. The hotel is on a private beach and a gorgeous beach it is. We always get a room overlooking the ocean and seeing the sunrise is spectacular. The room (actually two rooms - a bedroom and a sitting room) are bright, comfortable and very clean. There is a refrigerator and microwave in the room. Since we are not big breakfast eaters, we eat in the room. Then it's down to the beach. The young men who put out the chairs, towels and umbrellas are so pleasant and helpful. Joey, Rachid and LeRoy are outstanding. They could not have been nicer or more helpful. The beach is very clean. The Pelican has bar and restaurant service on the beach. Every afternoon we would have a drink and order lunch, usually a sandwich or salad. The food was always very good and a good amount (the seagulls enjoyed parts of it). Vanessa and Rusmary were really nice. After a day on the beach, we got cleaned up and went either to the bar or the restaurant, generally the bar. Except for the one night it rained and the one night we went to an awful restaurant called Mangos, we ate outside overlooking the ocean. It is a glorious way to end the day. We discovered that sharing two or three appetizers was a really good meal and provided a nice variety and Melissa the bartender is extremely friendly and nice. Later in the evening we sometimes went to the Emporium and got ice cream sundaes. A great way to end the day. It was a wonderful week of doing nothing but reading, walking on the beach and laying in the sand. We could not have asked for better accomodations, service, food or drinks. Obviously we plan to be there next year for our tenth year. Thanks Pelican..

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get a room with a balcony overlooking the ocean. The sunrises are spectacular and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbW46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkeesler, General Manager at Pelican Grand Beach Resort, A Noble House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Thank you! It makes us so happy that we have become a place for you and your family to relax for so many years! We strive to satisfy our guests and we are thrilled to hear you enjoy your vacations with us. We look forward to having everyone back again next year! Thanks again for your loyalty and for taking the time to write such a kind review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I sat down in the restaurant 10 min later someone finally waited on us. 45 min later no food we walked out. Diner the night before called to make reservations for party of 8 they gave me a hard time about not being able to accommodate we walked in at 830 because they couldn't do 8 and there was not one table taken in the entire restaurant. Took 2 hours to get food. Don't eat there pizza sucks. The food by pool Cuban was dry eat next door on the beach food excellent. Rooms need updated AC didnt work had to call 3 times to get it fixed. Hotel is pretty beach is great chairs horrible like a wilted hammock pool seating is sparcs because the pool area is very small lazy river nice but had to be 90 not refreshing main pool fine. Outdoor bathroom no toilet paper and toilets don't flush well. The grounds are pretty

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joro49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkeesler, General Manager at Pelican Grand Beach Resort, A Noble House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We apologize for any
disappointment you experienced while staying with us. We strive to please our
guests and we appreciate all your comments as it gives us insight into how we can
improve. Thanks again, and we hope you choose to stay with us next time you are in
the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We had a fantastic 1 night stay prior to going on a cruise. We found the hotel to be sophisticated, classy and elegant... but with a Victorian home-style charm. The hotel is right on a private beach and also has a heated pool and lazy river. We really loved that lazy river! The pool area was clean and well-maintained. The water in the ocean was too cold but it was still fun to walk along the beach and listen to the waves. On the main floor in the back of the hotel facing the ocean is a balcony lined with white spindle wood railings and white rocking chairs...which gives it that nice Florida coastal feel that looks right out of a painting.

We stayed in an upper level corner room (904) that had a triple window overlooking the ocean as well as a balcony that overlooked the pool and ocean. A spectacular view and very romantic! Our room also had flat screen TV, microwave, coffee maker, mini fridge, king size bed, small sofa, and desk. The room was spacious, very clean and airy and the bed comfortable.

We arrived a little early and were able to check in our bags and valet our rental car (there are no parking areas so you must use valet which is around $28/day). Then we took a walk (being from the snowy Midwest we were eager to get some sunshine) to Greek Islands restaurant for lunch (about a mile down the road on a sidewalk). If you forget anything there is a Walgreens across from the Greek restaurant. For dinner we ate at the hotel in the bar while listening to a great singer. For breakfast the next morning we ordered room service and it did not disappoint. We found the prices in the bar and room service to be reasonable and typical for an upscale hotel. We did not get a chance to eat at the hotel restaurant but I would bet it is really good.

The check-in/checkout process was smooth and the staff friendly. It is located in a less congested area than some of the other hotels so that was a big plus for us. Overall, we were very pleased and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Try to get a corner room with a balcony that overlooks the pool and ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peace10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkeesler, General Manager at Pelican Grand Beach Resort, A Noble House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

We are so happy to hear you had a fabulous stay with us before your cruise! We love to accommodate our guests and we are pleased our resort was able to give you a great jumpstart to your vacation! We hope you choose to stay with us again next time. Thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#14 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
2,821 reviews
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#28 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
4,174 reviews
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#45 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
4,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#16 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
2,033 reviews
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdal...
#6 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,617 reviews
Central Beach
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Res...
#11 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
5,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Grand Beach Resort, A Noble House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Grand Beach Resort, A Noble House Resort

Address: 2000 North Ocean Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33305-3727
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#4 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#7 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#10 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#12 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: $192 - $516 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pelican Grand Beach Resort, A Noble House Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Splitty, TravelUp, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pelican Grand Beach Resort, A Noble House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Grand Beach Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Pelican Grand Beach Resort
Hotel Pelican Grand Beach
Pelican Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing