We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Stay at a Wonderful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano
Ranked #7 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay at a Wonderful Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2011

My husband and I spent two nights at the Il Lugano Hotel prior to our cruise in January. We got this hotel at a great price through a travel bidding web-site. This is one of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed in.

The hotel is at the northern end of Fort Lauderdale along the Intercoastal Waterway just one block off of Hwy A1A. A taxi from the airport was $30. The location is removed from the hustle and bustle of the larger hotels and main beach areas, but makes for a lovely, quiet hideaway location. There is a water taxi stop adjacent to the hotel. There is a Walgreens within one block and the beach is a quick two block walk, with several restaurants and bars nearby. The location while removed from the busier area, still has all the conveniences you would want. While some previous reviewers claim the location is not in the best neighbourhood, I would say that the quiet surroundings are part of what makes this hotel special.

Upon arriving we were greeted and welcomed by very warm and friendly staff. Every staff member we came across took the time to greet us. Check in was quick and we were provided a tour of the facilities. A bellman delivered our luggage and pointed out the features of our suite.

Our room was a king bed studio suite, which really appeared more like a small studio apartment. There was a foyer with a large clothes closet and a large storage closet as well as a closet containing a clothes washer and dryer. Moving into the room you first enter the kitchen and dining area, followed by the living room and then beyond that to the bedroom and a balcony overlooking the waterway. The kitchen was kitted out with everything you could want: a full size fridge, a dishwasher, microwave, sink with garbage disposal, coffee maker and a ceramic stove top built into the counter. There is a full set of dishes, glasses and cutlery. Everything is provided including dishsoap, laundry soap, paper towels, etc.

There were two tvs, one in the living area and one in the bedroom, and a Bose radio. An I pod dock was available upon request, but the sound of the Bose radio was so nice we stuck with that. The furnishing and finishes used in the suite were all modern and upscale.

The hotel has a lobby bar, an onsite restaurant, a gym with change rooms featuring saunas, an outdoor pool and jacuzzi. There are loungers and cabanas along the waterway.

We opted to prepare our own meals in our room and found it easy, convenient, and economical to do so. There is a full grocery store within four blocks, but the nearby Walgreens also carries groceries. The hotel has a Cadillac that is available as a shuttle within a certain range. The hotel also has a water taxi stop which is a fun and easy way to get around Fort Lauderdale.

We spent one morning out at the beach by the hotel. We were offered beach towels and chairs and were given easy directions to find our way. This area of the beach is fronted by condos and private homes and as such it is very quiet. There are no lifeguards or status flags so some caution is waranted.

The staff are exceptional at this hotel answering every question and request with friendly helpfulness. Although our stay was shorter, I would absolutely recommend this hotel for longer stays and I am looking forward to staying at this property again in the future.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uplandsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    820
    325
    74
    45
    22
See reviews for
316
586
61
133
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
oregon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2011

This is a beautiful hotel with awesome decor. Becky at the front desk was great to us and upgraded us to a room with an inter coastal view. The view was amazing and every staff member we encountered was so nice. Our room had a kitchen, washer dryer and balcony. Great flat screen tv. Everything about this place is top notch.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler852000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2010

This is the first time I write a negative review about a hotel. We booked Il Lugano based on the rave reviews and were quite disappointed.

The hotel is beautiful and clean, with nice sheets and towels, and we don’t really mind the location, but it doesn't really offer many of the services of a hotel. Most staff were polite but less than friendly. It was Christmas day and there weren't even a single smile throughout the front desk.

We had a flight delay and arrived at 2am. We went out the next morning and were shocked when we came back that night to see our dirty diapers still in the bathroom. The hotel manager said because we checked in late, housekeeping would not be offered to us that day.

There was no bottle water, drinks, or anything. We weren't used to the yellow tap water at Fort Lauderdale but had to live with it. They offered coffee but the cleaning lady didn't always remember to refill it. Housekeeping cleans the room but doesn't unload dishes from the dishwasher. There was a concierge but not a shelf where you can get free travel brochure, pamphlet, or coupons. WIFI access is very sluggish. We ended up sitting in the bathroom a lot because that's the only place we can get 2 signal bars for the WIFI, and even that is unstable.

On the other hand Il Lugano doesn't have the amenities of a condo suite either. The full-equipped kitchen is really just a kitchenette. There is a microwave and small stove with a kettle, and NO pots and pans or any cooking utensils...seems like cooking is not encouraged. There is no DVD or CD player in the room or for loan. Bring one if you want to watch a movie.

When we checked out, the bill had a few errors and an overcharge of >$250 that had to be corrected. So check your bills.

We would not go back there again. We had much better experience at Mariott Executive Suites, Fairmont suites, and privately rented condos at comparable prices, and even suite hotels like Hyatt Place and Homewood suites.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank inkdrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2010

I stayed at Il Lugano for 2 nights when I was in town for a job interview. The hotel staff were professional, courteous, and provided me complimentary cocktails while I had a brief wait for my room to be ready. The room was immaculate, fresh, and beautifully appointed.

The pool area had great comfortable seating, but it is a little small and in the late afternoon didn't have much sun as it's located on the side of the hotel where its shadowed.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FunInTheSun0714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2010

Lovely Decor, blocks from a less populated beach, helpful staff. It takes a little while to get to downtown Fort Lauderdale, but we enjoyed our one night stay and water taxi ride, complete with Christmas lights.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahGraceDesigns24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorhees, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2010

We used the hotel as a base while visiting our elderly father. The entire staff from the doorman, valets, and front desk personnel were friendly and helpful.(Betsy at the front desk was great.) The room was clean and well decorated with a fully equipped kitchen and a washer and dryer and plenty of space. We didn't have time to use the pool or fitness room. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sumcmp62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2010

I stayed at this wonderful hotel for a week from 11/3 to 11/10. There are many adjectives that I could use to describe this hotel, but "FANTASTIC" probably best describes my experience at this lovely place. The location is right on the intercoastal where the view of beautiful homes and yachts are what you see from the balcony. The room was very nice with a kitchen and living area. The bed was so comfortable that I didn't want to get out of it. There was a really cute area outside right on the intercoastal where there were cabannas in sand like on the beach. It was So relaxing to sit while sipping a cocktail. The staff was friendly and accommodating.
I'm already thinking about plans to return.
LOVED IT!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SEXYASHELL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#17 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,562 reviews
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#14 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,913 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#23 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,655 reviews
Victoria Park
The Victoria Park Hotel
The Victoria Park Hotel
#3 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
The Aqua Hotel
#11 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano

Property: Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano
Address: 3333 NE 32nd Ave, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308-7120 (Formerly Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#7 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#16 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A masterpiece of contemporary design rising 15 floors above the Intracoastal Waterway, il Lugano Hotel is Ft. Lauderdale’s most fashionable address. Experience the height of exclusivity at this spectacular Fort Lauderdale Beach hotel -- offering ultra-luxurious suite-hotel accommodations and lavishly appointed private residences. Stay only minutes from the city’s financial district, shops, beaches, restaurants, and nightlife. Enjoy stunning Atlantic Ocean and waterway views, world-class amenities, and availability to arrange private dockage for yachts up to 50 feet. Travel to nearby shopping and fine dining establishments in our luxury Cadillac Escalades* (based on availability, fee may apply). Blending the style of the world’s finest boutique hotels and a dedication to flawless personal service, we are redefining expectations for Fort Lauderdale hotel suite accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Lugano Fort Lauderdale
Hotel Il Lugano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing