We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano
Ranked #7 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2010

Lovely Decor, blocks from a less populated beach, helpful staff. It takes a little while to get to downtown Fort Lauderdale, but we enjoyed our one night stay and water taxi ride, complete with Christmas lights.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahGraceDesigns24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    820
    325
    74
    45
    22
See reviews for
316
586
61
133
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Voorhees, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2010

We used the hotel as a base while visiting our elderly father. The entire staff from the doorman, valets, and front desk personnel were friendly and helpful.(Betsy at the front desk was great.) The room was clean and well decorated with a fully equipped kitchen and a washer and dryer and plenty of space. We didn't have time to use the pool or fitness room. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sumcmp62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2010

I stayed at this wonderful hotel for a week from 11/3 to 11/10. There are many adjectives that I could use to describe this hotel, but "FANTASTIC" probably best describes my experience at this lovely place. The location is right on the intercoastal where the view of beautiful homes and yachts are what you see from the balcony. The room was very nice with a kitchen and living area. The bed was so comfortable that I didn't want to get out of it. There was a really cute area outside right on the intercoastal where there were cabannas in sand like on the beach. It was So relaxing to sit while sipping a cocktail. The staff was friendly and accommodating.
I'm already thinking about plans to return.
LOVED IT!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SEXYASHELL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deering, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2010

Our busy schedule allowed us the opportunity to spend a few days in Fort Lauderdale, but where to stay? We looked at Trip Advisor and reviewed all we could on such short notice trying to select a hotel. We finally selected Il Lugano and we're sure glad we did! This was our first time at this hotel and it was spectacular: the staff went out of their way to accommodate us and answer any lingering questions that we might have; the views from our balcony, on the intercoastal waterway side, were wonderful; the restaurant was top notch, although somewhat pricey; the availability of the hotel car/diver for anything within a three to four mile area was a pleasant surprise - we used it to take us out and back to dinner; but the best was that the hotel had access to the water taxi, right at the property not blocks away, which you could ride all over Ft. Lauderdale. All in all a wonderful, low key, relaxing, pleasant, classy experience! We will definitely go back!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NHChuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2010

My stay at Il Lugano was for one night in room 709, a Junior Suite with Ocean View. Check in, at 4pm, was fast and effecient followed by a wonderful first impression when entering the room. The Bose music system was set to a low volume and the room was immaculate. The Dining and Sitting areas were impressive and the bed nice and fluffy with a selection of feather and foam pillows. The television system offers many channels of DirecTV on 2 flat screens. I was able to walk to a local Wiinn Dixie to buy some food that I prepared in the kitchen and was even able to do a load of laundry in the washer/dryer. Laundry soap is provided.

On the night that I was there, the lobby was very active with what appeard to be quite a lot of meeting attendees, which created a very nice atmosphere.

I was unable to use the gym or pool facilities, but, both looked very attractive during the evening hours. The free wifi was fast and had a good signal.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjb415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, ma
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2010

Recommended by a coworker, but terribly dissapointed. Location is a little off the beaten path in a somewhat derilict neighborhood. Staff at checkin were slow and not very friendly. Service in the restaurant Da Campo was horrible. Arrogant and rude manager, inattentive waitstaff who seemed more interested in talking to each other than serving patrons. Plenty of better choices in Ft Lauderdale. .

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NomisBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2010

I loved this hotel. I booked my reservation via Hotwire and got an excellent rate for what is their deluxe suite.
My Husband & I arrived Saturday morning at 11:30 am—Check in is 4 PM. We asked if there was any chance to get into our room earlier. At that point staff upgraded to a King Superior Suite—(never asked for an upgrade) and said they would let us know as soon as possible, when we could get in to the suite. We went out to breakfast and were able to access our room at 12:30.
The room is suite, which had a “sort of” ocean view meaning there is a public parking lot in front of the hotel, but you can still see the Atlantic. The suite is large, clean and includes two flat screen TV’s, Frig, stove, dishwasher & washer/dryer. The light is great; my only room criticism is there is no door between the bedroom and living room/kitchen, just a half wall. No big deal.
The staff was extremely responsive to every request.
I have read some complaints about Il Lugano’s location. The hotel is a bit removed from the popular beach hotels, but it was quiet, and for me—the calm is worth the five-minute drive down A1A to the more popular part of Ft. Lauderdale Beach.
My only complaint is the pool. It receives NO SUN. I am a sun worshiper so that was disappointing. However, my husband avoids the sun, so he loved it.
If you like large rooms, excellent service and peaceful surroundings, you should love Il Lugano.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#17 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,563 reviews
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#14 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,913 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#23 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,655 reviews
Victoria Park
The Victoria Park Hotel
The Victoria Park Hotel
#3 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
The Aqua Hotel
#11 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano

Property: Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano
Address: 3333 NE 32nd Ave, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308-7120 (Formerly Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#7 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#16 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A masterpiece of contemporary design rising 15 floors above the Intracoastal Waterway, il Lugano Hotel is Ft. Lauderdale’s most fashionable address. Experience the height of exclusivity at this spectacular Fort Lauderdale Beach hotel -- offering ultra-luxurious suite-hotel accommodations and lavishly appointed private residences. Stay only minutes from the city’s financial district, shops, beaches, restaurants, and nightlife. Enjoy stunning Atlantic Ocean and waterway views, world-class amenities, and availability to arrange private dockage for yachts up to 50 feet. Travel to nearby shopping and fine dining establishments in our luxury Cadillac Escalades* (based on availability, fee may apply). Blending the style of the world’s finest boutique hotels and a dedication to flawless personal service, we are redefining expectations for Fort Lauderdale hotel suite accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Lugano Fort Lauderdale
Hotel Il Lugano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing