We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano
Ranked #7 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wondeful hotel!”
Reviewed May 11, 2010

We stayed at Il Lugano for one night pre-cruise. It was wonderful! Beautiful hotel with a great friendly and helpful staff. Even though the pool is smallish.. its beautiful. Our room was very nice with mini kitchen/washer/dryer and pull out couch.
The hotel is right on the intracoastal waterway giving lots of views of beautiful yachts!
Approx. 30USD taxi fare from the airport.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank afollett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    837
    334
    75
    45
    22
See reviews for
326
596
63
135
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Titusville, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2010

How amazing? I almost canceled a free stay at another local hotel so that I could extend my trip at Il Lugano. This will be the only hotel I stay at in the Fort Lauderdale area. If this is not a 5 STAR Hotel, it should be. All the staff was warm and friendly from the time I arrived until my departure. The room was beautiful, the matress felt like clouds. and the intracoastal view was breathtaking at sunset . I can't wait to return and enjoy the amenities that I didn't get a chance to experience. Sorry I didn't take pictures but I'll have another chance soon, I pray.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShanieG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2010

My girlfriend and I loved this hotel. Every single member of the staff was very friendly and helpful from the valet upon arrival to the front desk upon check out. The room was very modern and exceptionally clean and spacious. All rooms have balconies which was great. We only used the room service for breakfast but it was very nicely prepared and who doesn't enjoy breakfast in bed. The only possible complaint would be the size and hours of the pool, however since I rarely use the hotel pool on vacation this was really irrelevant. We stayed for three nights and really can't say enough good things about this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimDog77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2010

Stayed for 3 nights. Service was attentive and all staff was courteous and professional if not a bit stiff. No problem having requests met on time. This hotel is clean,modern and newer and was not crowded at all. We had a one bedroom king suite with ocean view. Full granite kitchen, nice marble bath, 2 flat panel tvs, floor to ceiling windows and huge balcony with table and chairs and chaise. The property is about 4 or 5 blocks from the actual beach and is adjacent to a small shopping/dining district with several restaurants and a few bars. The area is not upscale like Las Olas but not rundown...more simple and local in feel but not bustling.

I usually stay at the Hilton Resort about 1 1/2 miles down the beach. That area has a lot more activity and more tourists compared to this sleepy area. The hotel is just as upscale though just smaller and more boutique in feel.

We had a 7th floor ocean view suite which was nice even though you look past a number of high rise buildings that are at the actual shoreline. My only complaint was the noise from the huge AC unit in the building across the small street. It runs constantly and roars to a level that is quite noticeable and makes the balcony almost unpleasant. Hard to relax when the only thing you hear is an AC roaring. I am not that picky but that thing was loud and when it occassionally cycled off, the actual quiet of the area was quite a contrast to the roar. Stay on the intercoastal side of this place.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Captexguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2010

Just returned from a 9 day stay and it could have been better. Room was great – couldn’t fault it, however:

Location – 4 miles from the centre of Fort Lauderdale.

Swimming Pool – very small and shady.

Room – wasn’t available on check at 5pm and front desk staff offered what came across as only a half-hearted apology.

Courtesy limousine – staff asked us if where we wanted to go was within a 3-mile radius. We didn’t know, as are visitors to the area, so we told them we’d leave it as they gave us the impression we were too much bother.

Settling bill – wanted to settle bill day before check out to avoid having do it next day. Their system doesn’t allow this though (which have never encountered anywhere else on our extensive travels) and again got what felt like only a half-hearted apology.

In fairness the manager did give us his apologies when we checked out and said he would make it up to us next time we were in town. But it was all a bit too late for us. As we say the room was lovely, but we felt the service lacked any warmth and sincerity.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LSMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
us
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 4, 2010

we stayed 4 nights at this quiet hotel on the intercoastal. superior suite had everything u cold want. quiet as a church mouse on the 8th floor. bed's quite comfy. view from balcony was superb. service pretty good. gym great. dock area nice with double chairs. concierge good; a few hiccups providing directions that were not accurate even though off the internet. parking fairly priced for area. restaurant quite good. my partner is a stickler fo cleanliness. this place has it.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nocloudydays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
1 review
Reviewed April 2, 2010

P-lllleasse! I called ahead of time to ensure we could keep the boat with us (as is shown on web site pictures)...no such thing is the reality. We heard people 'stop by' to eat but rarely come in to the hotel with a boat in tow. Again, oh p-lease! Don't show the beautiful pictures on your web site if there are not the facilities to substantiate this feature. We finally found another room (without much help from staff). Great apprearance but it's all a falacy. Small lobby, bar sits onto one side of the lobby, narrow corridors to rooms, small rooms--although nicely upgraded from what used to be seniors' condos. Great look but it like a mirage. If you like being close to others in small places, this is the spot for you! Don't bring your boat!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Watertraveler_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#16 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,652 reviews
Victoria Park
The Victoria Park Hotel
The Victoria Park Hotel
#3 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
801 reviews
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#15 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdal...
#6 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,488 reviews
The Aqua Hotel
#11 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,010 reviews
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano

Property: Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano
Address: 3333 NE 32nd Ave, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308-7120 (Formerly Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#7 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#16 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A masterpiece of contemporary design rising 15 floors above the Intracoastal Waterway, il Lugano Hotel is Ft. Lauderdale’s most fashionable address. Experience the height of exclusivity at this spectacular Fort Lauderdale Beach hotel -- offering ultra-luxurious suite-hotel accommodations and lavishly appointed private residences. Stay only minutes from the city’s financial district, shops, beaches, restaurants, and nightlife. Enjoy stunning Atlantic Ocean and waterway views, world-class amenities, and availability to arrange private dockage for yachts up to 50 feet. Travel to nearby shopping and fine dining establishments in our luxury Cadillac Escalades* (based on availability, fee may apply). Blending the style of the world’s finest boutique hotels and a dedication to flawless personal service, we are redefining expectations for Fort Lauderdale hotel suite accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Marriott, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Lugano Fort Lauderdale
Hotel Il Lugano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing