We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel and restaurant...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano
Ranked #7 of 127 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Everything from the excellent service at the front desk to the delicious meal and service at the restaurant during dinner (we sat at the bar and Lindsey took great care of us) was wonderful. As a frequent business traveler, I am particular about where I stay and I was rather pleased with this hotel. The rooms were spacious, well equipped, and clean. The balcony with ample furniture and a beautiful view overlooking the IntraCoastal Waterway was the cherry on top! My only suggestion would be to improve the breakfast buffet selection and service (I had to get up to find my server to ask for something). Otherwise, it was a great stay and I will absolutely return.

Room Tip: Choose an IntraCoastal View room. The balconies are spacious and have nice furniture.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BusinessTravel27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilLuganoHotel, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us. While there were some positive aspects of your visit, we were very disappointed to hear of the breakfast buffet service issue in Da Campo. We can address this immediately and I hope you will accept our apologies. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon in the near future - best regards - Amanda Hawkins-Vogel/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,348)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

556 - 562 of 1,348 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2014

The hotel is very nice. Rooms are spacious and very comfortable. Had a great time at the lobby bar with Jen. The pizzas are delicious. Everyone was very accommodating. Desserts are good too. Get the tiramisu soufflé .

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoonhoundGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilLuganoHotel, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a great review!. Jen is great at the Bar and it is always a pleasant evening sitting there sipping wine and eating the lovely pizzas!. Please come back and visit soon and thanks again!. Best regards - Amanda Hawkins-Vogel/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Hotel was nice/clean, staff friendly and helpful. Room with waterway view worth it. Location was great to go north, south or west walk or drive. Pool OK, but only got sun late afternoon. Take the water taxi ($22/p/day) during day and night to see the sights, get off at other stops, especially Las Olas (walk, eat), Galleria (if want to shop) and Ft. Lauderdale beach park (biggest beach with action). 5 minute walk to beach. 30 minute walk up to Lauderdale-by-the-sea. Hotel restaurant great (especially pizza on 50% off day) plus many restaurants to walk to i.e. Bokampers (sports bar with Friday ladies' specials) and Dolce Vita (lasagna and special were amazing). Many golf courses within 30 minutes. Sawgrass Mills shopping outlet 30 minutes away.

Room Tip: Waterway room is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freedom55L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilLuganoHotel, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Thanks so much for the great review, and the excellent "things to do" list (my personal favorite of course is Sawgrass Shopping Mall) IL Lugano is right in the center of it all, and yes - you are correct - the water taxi is an awesome way to take in the sights of fabulous Fort Lauderdale. Looking forward to seeing you again soon and thanks again! Best regards - Amanda Hawkins-Vogel/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

I stayed at the il lugano with my husband and my 4 year old son... I never had an experience like this at a hotel before!! From the bell hop's at the door greeting you from the minute you pull up.. opening the door for you to a beautiful lobby that you will never forget... front desk was very nice and very helpful and made us feel right at home they answered all of my questions plus more!! They interacted with my son and made a point to talk to him every time they saw him.. not once did I walk through the hallways without staff asking how our day was and if we are enjoying our stay!! Housekeeping was incredible.. very nice people. And made sure we were comfortable. The breakfast was delicious. I had a cheese and bacon omelet with potatoes and fruit. My son had fruit loops of course and my husband had eggs with toast and sausage!!. Great presentation and we ate on the balcony enjoying the view of beautiful fort Lauderdale and the ocean... and of course the lounge area out back was just a bonus and so comfortable and relaxing... the room was very cozy.. the bed was very comfortable..had full size refrigerator (not many hotels have that) the living room area was perfect. Very nice place to relax and bring the kids!!! 3 thumbs up!!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank knapp0310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilLuganoHotel, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

It was an absolute pleasure having you and your family stay with us here at IL Lugano, and we really appreciate your kind words. IL Lugano is perfect for everyone - especially families - we have great rooms with all the amenities you would need. Looking forward to seeing you again soon - best regards - Amanda Hawkins-Vogel/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Boutique by Preferred hotel, no way, is family business or paid a lot for this .
second day no breakfast on request for room service, you go reception they give you for all your stay, so i imagine is frequently, water on your room, extra charge after 5 night never more.
housekeeping, same hair during 4 night on same place, mope the bathe room, not shure.
around the hotel nothing .
room size nice is condo not hotel .
so first and last trip here

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wifi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilLuganoHotel, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Thank you for your candid review regarding your recent visit. We were disappointed to hear that we did not perform well and you can be assured that we will be sharing your feedback with our team to ensure the opportunities are addressed immediately. We hope you will accept our apologies and we hope that we may have an opportunity in the future to show you just how great we can be. Best regards - Amanda Hawkins-Vogel/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We have recently returned to the UK from a short stay in Fort Lauderdale where we stayed at the Il Lugano.
This was our second visit to the Il Lugano and it was as good as the first, great clean accommodation, and helpful staff as you would expect with the added facilities of a washing machine and dryer in your room, which is great if your are travelling with limited luggage, but this hotel holds a little secret, and that secret is the restaurant da Campo Osteria.
We have eaten in many restaurants in the area and none compare this restaurant, its roots are Italian based but it’s not all pasta and pizza, it offers a whole lot more with great steaks, fantastic scallops and seasonal fish.
If you like Mozzarella you need to try it at the da Campo Osteria, they bring fresh cheese curd to the table with very hot water and with some magic it turns into the best Mozzarella before your very eyes, and they even offer lessons how to learn the magic and make your own. I can be a bit cynical at times and look at Risotto as overpriced rice but I had to eat my own words when I tasted my wife’s Risotto Pescatore as is was just the best, as were the jumbo meatballs and spaghetti.
I know my way around a dinner plate and I am interested in food and cooking technics, and I asked the waiter how some of the specialty bread was made, and we got a detailed demonstration from Chef Raymond who could not have been more helpful.
That’s enough praise for that restaurant, I might make it too busy to get a table.
One more thing about the hotel when we returned to the UK my wife discovered that she had left half of her jewelry collection sort of hidden in the room near the safe, yes I know!!! Anyway she contacted the hotel with little confidence that it would be found and 24 hours later we were contacted to say they had been, and were in the post on their way back home, to a happy wife and an even happier husband.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilLuganoHotel, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

I cannot thank you enough for taking the time to share your experience with this wonderful site. We have the most wonderful hotel and staff in Florida, and, we have the BEST mozzarella anywhere!. We are truly proud of our team and we appreciate you singling them out, especially Ray. He really is a star. We are also very glad we were able to find your wife's items and send them back to you in the UK - we are always happy to provide this kind of service!. Looking forward to seeing you again soon. Best regards - Amanda Hawkins-Vogel/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

Carlos the best at the restaurant ! Felix thank you best salad ever ! Home away from home ! Great rooms ! The best service ! View from the rooms are just no words , valet parking great service
The bed is one of the very best i have ever sleep on

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
Thank Johnny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilLuganoHotel, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Johnny , thank you for your kind review! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit and hope that we will see you more often! I will be sure to pass along your compliments to the team. Thank you again. Best Regards - Amanda Hawkins-Vogel/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#15 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
2,825 reviews
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#28 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
4,177 reviews
Victoria Park
The Victoria Park Hotel
The Victoria Park Hotel
#3 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#19 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,743 reviews
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdal...
#6 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,617 reviews
Central Beach
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Res...
#11 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
5,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano

Address: 3333 NE 32nd Ave, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308-7120 (Formerly Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#7 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#16 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: $186 - $387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A masterpiece of contemporary design rising 15 floors above the Intracoastal Waterway, il Lugano Hotel is Ft. Lauderdale’s most fashionable address. Experience the height of exclusivity at this spectacular Fort Lauderdale Beach hotel -- offering ultra-luxurious suite-hotel accommodations and lavishly appointed private residences. Stay only minutes from the city’s financial district, shops, beaches, restaurants, and nightlife. Enjoy stunning Atlantic Ocean and waterway views, world-class amenities, and availability to arrange private dockage for yachts up to 50 feet. Travel to nearby shopping and fine dining establishments in our luxury Cadillac Escalades* (based on availability, fee may apply). Blending the style of the world’s finest boutique hotels and a dedication to flawless personal service, we are redefining expectations for Fort Lauderdale hotel suite accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Lugano Fort Lauderdale
Hotel Il Lugano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing