We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel! Would stay again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano
Ranked #7 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Nice hotel! Would stay again!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Il Lugano is a nice hotel located 6 miles North of Ft. Lauderdale's Downtown area. Upon arrival, we got a free upgrade to Lugano Suite, which was really nice, with a large balcony and a good view. Our room was very specious, clean and welcoming. The hotel offers valet parking for about $25 a day, but there is also plenty of street/meeter parking available for much less. There are good Italian and Greek restaurants within walking distances as well as a supermarket and other stores.

Il Lugano has an outdoor pool. However, if you are a beach person, please note that the hotel is about 3 blocks away from the beach and the beach is not easily accessible. Also, it is not a huge beach either - mostly residential and can get crowded.

The hotel is about 10 miles away from Hollywood-Ft. Lauderdale Int’l Airport. You can drive there in no time.

Would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philonous_XXI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    820
    325
    74
    45
    22
See reviews for
316
586
61
133
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Found this place on last minute hotels after a Priceline hotel nightmare. David at the front desk could not have been more helpful. Great room at a great rate! Full kitchen and W/D were helpful after a week in Miami. Beautiful intercostal views and oversized balconies make the place return worthy. Great valet staff too. Juan helped with restaurants and directions. Recommend to anyone trying to escape the Ft Lauderdale party scene. So relaxing!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Nate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilLuganoHotel, Executive Assistant at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
On behalf of il Lugano, we would like to take a moment and thank you for taking the time to write this nice message. We appreciate your positive feedback and are pleased we met your service expectations. If we could be of any additional service, please do not hesitate to call the hotel @ 954-564-4400. We look forward to your return in the near future. Thank you again.

Carly Golden
il Lugano Hotel
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights after a cruise. Loved the huge one-bedroom suite, facing the inter-coastal waterway; enjoyed the continuous parade of mega yachts from our very large balcony. Used the in-suite washer/dryer to clean all our clothes from the cruise; very convenient. Every staff member was professional, friendly and helpful. The food in the hotel restaurant was excellent. Nice pool area, although it doesn't get much sun in March. Hotel is within easy walking distance of several good restaurants, shopping and three long blocks to the beach. They had prompt valet service for our rental car ($25/night), since there is no free on-street parking. Took us 20 minutes to drive to the airport on the morning of our departure. We'll stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the waterway. Check our Julian's for breakfast (2 blocks away) and Chart House...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scribe765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Each year we return to Il Luagano and still have not been disapointed. We spent three weeks in month of February. We stayed in one bedroom suite on intercoastal. We love the most is the view from balcony. Convenient because we enjoy making our own meals. Good for long stays makes you feel like home away from home. Washer and dryer also included in every unit.This hotel is in walking distance of the beach. Only downfall is that pool usually in the shade. While we were there was a little bit of construction going on around pool area. We are preffered guest so we had valet parking included with our stay. Excellent service and always with a smile. Cant wait to return next year!

Room Tip: Worth it to pay the extra for intercoastal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank southpamela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilLuganoHotel, Executive Assistant at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
On behalf of the entire il Lugano staff, we greatly appreciate your positive response. We are truly pleased to hear that you consider il Lugano your home away from home. We are devoted to providing our guests with an outstanding guest experience each and every time. If we may be of any additional service, please contact the hotel directly @ 954-564-4400. We look forward to your return next year.

Best Regards,

Carly Golden
il Lugano Hotel
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed here one night before a cruise and were pleasantly surprised by the hotel. The staff were very nice and the restaurant downstairs was amazing. Loved being able to look out over the waterway and sit in a little cabana watching the yachts go by. We did have an issue with our ride to the port, but the young lady at the front desk called the transportation company for us and helped resolved the issue! The incident could have definitely marred the experience, but the fact that she went out of her way to help us says a lot. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warren2600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

My husband and I travel to Florida often. We normally stay at the W or the Waldorf Astoria but since this was a last minute trip during March Break, both were sold out.We looked for a comparable hotel and stumbled across Il Lugano. After reading reviews - we thought it was worth a try. We booked the Lugano Grand Suite (as shown on their web site) with full kitchen, massive patio overlooking the water etc. We thought we'd enjoy breakfast and lunch on our patio watching boats go by and relax by the pool for most of the day.

When we got to our room we were disappointed to see our balcony..... hardly a patio, was approx 3 feet wide. We overlooked the roof of the apartment next door and we had a compromised view of the intercoastal waterway. The balcony had 2 small chairs and a side table. No lounge chairs or dining table as shown on the web site.

It went down hill from there.

While unpacking the groceries we quickly learned there was no frying pan, no cooking untensils, not even coffee filters, or salt and pepper. After calling the front desk we was informed that these amenities were not offered. So off to Target we went.

The pool as shown on their web site is stunning. Very boutique like - very luxurious. Look close because the view as shown..... is a mural of a view of the ocean. Sadly, it offers no sun due to the fact it's located in between the hotel and another apartment so the sun is obstructed by trees and the parking garage. There is one small corner that has sun for a couple of hours early in the morning but then....it's all shade. We ended up spending our time at the public beach.....not what we planned. No lounge chairs, no bar service, no washrooms.....

One night after returning from dinner, we found our room unlocked. The cleaning staff left the door ajar. They also forgot to leave hand towels. I called the front desk to complain about the door, asked for towels and for a corkscrew since there was not one in the room. It took 2 phone calls to finally get towels, and a corkscrew was brought to us to "borrow" only as it belonged to the restarant. They claimed to be out of corkscrews and were waiting for a delivery from their new supplier.

The room was tired. The coffee table had a leather top and was very worn.
The size of the flat panel tv was so small, we were visually challenged. Our bedsheets were not changed once during the 4 nights were stayed there. One day our room was not even cleaned. Turn down service was inconsistent. The supply of body wash and body lotion was not replenished even though almost emptied, only 2 bath towels…..everything was minimal.

I would recommend this hotel for someone on a business trip but definitely not for anyone who was visiting on a vacation.

Room Tip: Ask for the exact room and view you see on their web site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seema E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

When our party of 11 arrived at il Lugano we were met with kindness, courtesy and a sophisticated elegance that took our breath away. We had just been abandoned at the Port Everglades pier by a horrible shuttle service that kept us waiting and then ditched us. When we took a taxi to il Lugano our spirits were revived. Maisa was at the front desk and she took a horrible day and turned it around. Maisa and the staff helped us forget what went wrong with our vacation and created something fantastic. Our room was upgraded to a king size suite with a balcony fit for a king. My husband loved the fitness centre, I loved getting the laundry done in my room and the teenagers loved suntanning in the comfortable loungers. The view was spectacular and we loved every minute at the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms 610 and 609 view the intercoastal and the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cubannewbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#17 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,562 reviews
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#14 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,913 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#23 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,655 reviews
Victoria Park
The Victoria Park Hotel
The Victoria Park Hotel
#3 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
The Aqua Hotel
#11 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano

Property: Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano
Address: 3333 NE 32nd Ave, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308-7120 (Formerly Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#7 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#16 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A masterpiece of contemporary design rising 15 floors above the Intracoastal Waterway, il Lugano Hotel is Ft. Lauderdale’s most fashionable address. Experience the height of exclusivity at this spectacular Fort Lauderdale Beach hotel -- offering ultra-luxurious suite-hotel accommodations and lavishly appointed private residences. Stay only minutes from the city’s financial district, shops, beaches, restaurants, and nightlife. Enjoy stunning Atlantic Ocean and waterway views, world-class amenities, and availability to arrange private dockage for yachts up to 50 feet. Travel to nearby shopping and fine dining establishments in our luxury Cadillac Escalades* (based on availability, fee may apply). Blending the style of the world’s finest boutique hotels and a dedication to flawless personal service, we are redefining expectations for Fort Lauderdale hotel suite accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Lugano Fort Lauderdale
Hotel Il Lugano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing