We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano
Ranked #7 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Prospect
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Overrated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Restaurant was much nicer than the property itself. Many of the front desk staff appeared clueless and indifferent. You can find much nicer properties in Ft. lauderdale that are better blues and closer to the beach. If you are going on a cruise out of the seaport, I'd recommend Hilton Marina

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doccatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilLuganoHotel, Executive Administrative Assistant at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
On behalf of the il Lugano Hotel, we appreciate your feedback. I would like to take a moment and apologize for falling beneath your expectations with our front office service. It is truly disappointing and certainly intolerable to fall short with serving our guest needs. We will unquestionably address the necessary department, and we will be restructuring our training services to the appropriate staff due to this occurrence. Again, on behalf of the entire il Lugano team, we sincerely apologize we did not meet your service standards. We hope in the near future you will allow us to redeem ourselves. If you have any further questions, comments, and/or concerns, please feel free to contact the hotel @ 954-564-4400.

Carly Golden
Executive Administrative Assistant
il Lugano Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    813
    322
    73
    45
    22
See reviews for
309
584
61
132
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Wonderful hotel / condo overlooking intercostal waterway. The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms were very clean. My room faced the intercostal waterway and we enjoyed watching the boats and yachts sailing by as we sat on our 9th floor balcony having drinks in the evening or breakfast in the morning. My room was very large with a (king) bed area, a sitting area, a kitchen with sink, microwave, refrigerator, cooktop burner. There were 2 full sized closets, a safe, and a closet that had an apartment sized washer / dryer. The bathroom with its tile flooring was extremely clean, the shower had a curved shower bar, nice and clean curtain and was a large area. Great adjustable shower head. The towels were pristine white and nice quality. There was a large separate room for the toilet. I am very picky about bed comfort and found the bed to be very comfortable and the linens were good quality with a feather comforter covered with a clean, white duvet. The neighborhood was a quiet area...not on beach, but the views of the intercostal waterway, if you choose to pay a little extra to get that view, more than made up for any beach view.

Room Tip: Pay the extra to have the intercostal waterway view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelTalk4You
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Great residents. Perfect room service. Polite staff. Vacation from my Ft Lauderdale beach vacation. Way too far from main area. Definitely a $20.00 cab ride. The Cadillac car service, depends... The location ruined my Ft Lauderdale beach vacation because it's not located there. The seniors citizen hall is right next door. All little Shoppes around it's location are vacant.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amludo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont, USA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Know this before you book. Excellent condo hotel with spacious rooms, spacious balconies (ours overlooked inter-coastal waterway), and an excellent staff. We booked for two days post cruise and our goal was to look at some condos in the area for winter getaways. The lobby, loungers by the intercostal waterway, public bathrooms, restaurant, and lobby bar are very chic. Had the restaurant been open on Monday we would have tried the handmade Italian dishes with pulled mozzarella cheese as the menu looked exquisite. A subtle, comfortable, casual elegance was the overall vibe to the entire hotel. I like that. The pool is shaded and small but big enough to swim a couple of laps and one can get some sun rays during the afternoon. The cushioned loungers were comfy. We enjoyed that it was heated and the outdoor jacuzzi was good enough.

Previous reviews recommend having a car, yet we did not need one for the two day stay, nor did we need the complimentary ride the hotel offers within three or so miles. Within walking distance, and I mean within one to four blocks, are enough of everything you need. This includes a Walgreens, a pharmacy, a bank, bars, restaurants, a walkway to the beach, a liquor store (next to Walgreens), a grocery store, spas, nail salons, gas station, some boutiques, and real estate agencies. Oh...the water taxi stops right next to the hotel. This is important for first timers to the area as Fort Lauderdale is nicknamed "The American Venice" and is a must do if never done before.

In the room, I had not heard of the shampoo/conditioner/soap/ body lotion brand for bathroom amenities yet they got the job done. The bedding was fabulous. Our unit had a washer and dryer, plenty of dishes, and overall, we enjoyed the linens, the bathrobes, the room size, the large bathroom, and the balcony. I think I might have been disappointed if we ended up with anything other than overlooking the intercostal waterway as this was a highlight when hanging out in the room. We love boats!

Overall, this was a refreshing yet different experience from the "main drag" of Fort Lauderdale's public beach and Downtown. I was glad to experience it and am glad to know this condo/hotel is an option for future stays when I want to relax, to get away from the action, and to watch cool boats cruise by, all the while knowing the room size, bathroom, hotel amenities, and service will be top notch.

Room Tip: An Intercoastal waterway room can only enhance your stay! An easy walk to the beach...but mostly pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CokaVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyack, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

We did our research before booking and definitely agree!
Pleasant experience in this understatedly elegant boutique hotel with a decided European feel.
Furnishings were lovely. I enjoyed relaxing on the balcony watching the yachts go by.
The Hotel restaurant was very good but closed on Mondays.
We were able to book and take a picturesque boat ride up the canal directly from the hotel.
Staff was friendly though just a tad slow.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room with Canal View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cherylazur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nauru
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Well... The lobby is beautiful, the room was huge for the price, pots and pans by request, very friendly service, free private taxi service from hotel within a short range(very nice touch), DELICIOUS pasta at the restaurant. The bucatini was handmade with a PERFECT sauce. Every other pasta I tried was just awesome. It would have been great to utilize the free bike rental as they are a fair distance from the hot spots of fort lauderdale. Unfortunately, it rained on us the whole time. Otherwise we were very happy. It felt like apartment living.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jadynleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Il Lugano in Fort Lauderdale for 5 nights 3/4-3/8/13. We received a room upgrade which was very nice. Although we faced the Coral Ridge Towers next door, we had a great view of both the intracoastal waterway and the ocean from our extended balcony. The hotel is beautiful and the room was spacious with a large bedroom, bathroom and living/dining area. It also had a kitchen with stove, refrigerator microwave, coffee maker and toaster. Elevator service was prompt.
What was best was the incredible service. Everyone at the hotel was quite friendly and promptly answered any questions. We walked to the beach (about 1/4 to 3/8 of a mile) and were provided beach chairs by Il Lugano for usage there. They also have an outdoor pool area.
We also had free WiFi but video viewing was poor. Since there was bad weather back home we tried to view forecasts on the computer but that was an iffy proposition at times.
The location of Il Lugano is north of downtown Ft Lauderdale. They provide a car service when available. There are restaurants within walking distance but a car is needed for the most part. We had friends in the area so we did not have a problem in that regard.
Overall I would recommend Il Lugano if the price is within your budget.

Room Tip: In general the intracoastal view (facing west) is the better view. If you face the ocean, higher flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jzo915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#16 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,524 reviews
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#13 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,890 reviews
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdal...
#6 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
The Aqua Hotel
#10 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#24 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano

Property: Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano
Address: 3333 NE 32nd Ave, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308-7120 (Formerly Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#7 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#16 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A masterpiece of contemporary design rising 15 floors above the Intracoastal Waterway, il Lugano Hotel is Ft. Lauderdale’s most fashionable address. Experience the height of exclusivity at this spectacular Fort Lauderdale Beach hotel -- offering ultra-luxurious suite-hotel accommodations and lavishly appointed private residences. Stay only minutes from the city’s financial district, shops, beaches, restaurants, and nightlife. Enjoy stunning Atlantic Ocean and waterway views, world-class amenities, and availability to arrange private dockage for yachts up to 50 feet. Travel to nearby shopping and fine dining establishments in our luxury Cadillac Escalades* (based on availability, fee may apply). Blending the style of the world’s finest boutique hotels and a dedication to flawless personal service, we are redefining expectations for Fort Lauderdale hotel suite accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Lugano Fort Lauderdale
Hotel Il Lugano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing