We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If Only The Front Desk Staff Could Be Nice to Guests . . .”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano
Ranked #7 of 127 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel over 15 times, and we keep coming back because the rooms and the location are truly fantastic. But there is one thing about this hotel that bothers us every single time we stay here. The valet attendants at the front door are always so friendly and helpful, but the second you have to deal with anyone at the Front Desk (check-in, check-out, your key being decoded and not working, or a phone call to request something that may be missing in your room), you are met with such haughtiness, and "attitude," and rudeness, and push-back about why something cannot be done. We simply dread our interactions or communications with the Front Desk staff, and are just bewildered at how people could treat hotel guests (including frequently-returning, very outgoing and friendly hotel guests) so rudely. If the management of this hotel could just imbue their hotel staff with a friendly, customer-service focus (and make sure their housekeeping is consistent in their service and doesn't forget to replace items, like dirty coffee cups), this could be one of the best hotels around.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jblock1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilLuganoHotel, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

jblock1962,

Thank you for your frequent stays and constant loyalty to il Lugano Hotel . I personally wish to apologize on behalf of the Front Desk Staff as your experiences and interactions are in no way the norms or high standards we have set for our hotel. I kindly ask you reach out to me via email at Michael.Hatzfeld@illugano.com to schedule a call to speak in more details as it relates to your recent stays. Once again my deepest apologies to you and your family. I look forward to speaking with you and welcoming you back to our hotel.

Michael Hatzfeld
General Manager
il Lugano Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,339)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

847 - 853 of 1,339 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2012

From the minute we pulled up to the minute we left, we had the most wonderful experience. Besides the hotel being fabulous, the staff were equally great. We we arrived, I learned our room wasn't as it said on the web site, so they upgraded us to a 1BR suite, free of charge. When asking for anything else, you were never treated like you were a bother. The rooms had nice big balcony, looking at the ocean, the beds were comfy and the sheets were nice and crisp, but very soft, nice kitchen and living room. Actually I can't find anything wrong with the place. Although the pool was not huge, it was plenty big enough. Also, it's on the water way, so you get to sunbathe whill watching the boats go by. There is also an Italian restaurant in the hotel and the other side of the lobby has a bar and lounge area. Personally, I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilLuganoHotel, Executive Administrative Assistant at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We are honored to be informed you had a great stay with us here at il Lugano and can't wait to return. It is always a great feeling to know we have provided our guests with an expectational stay. We look forward to host your next vacation in the near future.

Maisa Palacios
Executive Administrative Assistant
il Lugano Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stayed at the Il Lugano Hotel in Ft. Lauderdale for two nights in October and thoroughly enjoyed it. The price was reasonable, and the staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms are spacious and the view of the inter-costal was enjpoyable. They have an area to sit out on chaise lounges and umbrellas. Towels provided. Nice pool. The hotel is classy without being overbearing. Parking available in front of hotel at meters, that can be paid with credit card. Only $.50 for an hour between 8 am - 6pm. Overall a very nice hotel at a great price.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of the inter-coastal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gcappello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

You cannot and will not go wrong choosing this hotel!! It truly exceeded our expectations! We decided to stay here the night before going on a cruise and decided that we would also stay for a couple of days after the cruise as well. Upon our arrival, we ran into the very kind doorman, who also ended up being the manager!! love you Ken!! From the movement we arrived, even before we arrived, everyone did everything they could to help make our trip as magical and wonderful as possible!! You will not find a better concierge than Marianne, she communicated regularly with us before our arrival and greeted us upon arrival with a familiarity that was comforting! Joselyn, a.k.a. Josie! Gave a a very smooth check-in and upgraded us to the most beautiful room with an amazing view of the intercostal waterway! Every single person we ran into had a kind smile and word ,for us everywhere we went and was always willing to help if we had a question. The rooms are AMAZING! All the detail that they put into the arrangement of the room, the soft colors, the decor..and it's really like a small apartment verses a room..the kitchenette was wonderful, and the bathroom was beautifully appointed!! I could have stayed and never left! The beds are very comfortable and perfectly made up. If we weren't going on a cruise, I would have loved to stay!! Upon our arrival back from the cruise, we were concerned that we would not be able to check in as it was early on a Saturday morning (10am) when we arrived to the hotel.. Not only did they let us check in at they time, they gave us the same room we stayed in before out cruise! It was like coming home!! We were truly touched that they cared enough to allow us early EARLY check-in and allowed up to stay in the same great room!! This will always be my go-to place whenever I'm in ft. Lauderdale!!! Thanks again guys!! We will definitely back!!

Room Tip: Go with the intercostal rooms!! You can't beat the view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilLuganoHotel, Executive Administrative Assistant at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Terri,

On behalf of the entire il Lugano Staff and Management Team, thank you for your feedback and wonderful compliments. As a team we strive to go above and beyond for our guests to ensure a memorable vacation. It is an honor to read we accomplished our goal in extending a warm welcome to you before and after your cruise. We hope you and your family enjoyed your cruise as much as you enjoyed your stay at il Lugano hotel. We look forward to your next Fort Lauderdale vacation.

Maisa Palacios
Executive Administrative Assistant
il Lugano Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

This property had everything I was looking for on our 4 night trip to FLL, except beachfront location. However, received a great discounted rate from their website for educators @ $133/night which drew me to this property. The rate included a nice continental breakfast (Toast, bagel, croissant, fruit, coffee, OJ) and 50% off valet (normally $25/night). Wireless internet is free throughout the property and worked well.

Our Jr. Suite King Intracoastal view unit was upscale and perfect with w/d, nice size private balcony, living room/Kitchen area with couch and small kitchen table, robes, nice towels and linens, bose radio, nice size bath, and 2 flat screen tv's. Pool/hot tub were nice for a dip but not really a resort type pool experience for hanging out all day. Loved sitting on the balcony watching the sunset and the boats. They provide towels for pool (or beach) but had to go to front desk to obtain as no one was out by the pool to provide them at the times I visited the pool. Not a big deal. They also provide very nice beach chairs subject to availability. We had them for our entire stay.

The hotel had music in the front lounge Friday night and out back on the intracoastal Saturday evening. Very nice. There is also a blues bar 1 block away that had a nice crowd and good band the night we visited (they serve pizza).

There is a Walgreens within walking distance for odds and ends and a beer/wine store next door. Win-Dixie full grocery is a short drive north on A1A.

They provide transportation within a 3 mile limit subject to availability. However, it was not available for any of my 3 requests. Cab fare down to the strip or Las Olas area is around $10 - $15 if you are out for the evening and don't want to drive. We spent Friday evening in Lauderdale-By-The-Sea area (2 miles north on A1A) where they have a weekly street party with band. This is a great low key area right by the beach with several nice options for food and drink. Check out Aruba's on the beach.

Valet area in front of hotel is cramped and sometimes gets clogged up but they make a good effort to keep things moving and it was a minor thing.

All employees across the board were very nice and provided friendly service that enhanced our stay.

Tip on beach access, I was advised by the front desk that The Ocean Manor Hotel about a 3/4 mile north on the Galt Ocean Mile strip of high rise units allows beach access to visitors. I was a little leery at first, but drove over and I told the valet we were there for beach access and he welcomed us. Valet parking was $5 and they had a great Tiki Bar/restaurant and beach chair/umbrella rentals ($20 - and cannot bring your own chairs here). This pool is for hotel guests only.

Room Tip: Jr. Suite King Intercoastal view had plenty of room with nice balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeonardKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilLuganoHotel, Executive Administrative Assistant at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Thank you for all your wonderful compliments. We are all honored you were able to truly experience a full il Lugano vacation. Its seems during your stay you had the opportunity to experience all the amenities we have to offer from our suites to our weekend live entertainments. On behalf of il Lugano staff we look forward to your next visit in the very near future.

Maisa Palacios
Executive Administrative Assistant
il Lugano Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

Great place, great restaurant, great staff. Must try the "frutta" dessert. Loved it.
The only complaint we had was that the A/C unit seemed to be motioned controlled so it got warm at night and the toilet paper was a little rough if you know what i mean.
The positive outweighed the negative. Give this hotel a try.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allairedds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Our room at the Il Lugano surpassed our expectations by a mile! We could have lived there comfortably for the summer. Lots of closet space and a nice kitchen. We were upgraded to a suite and put on the top floor with a view to the intercoastal. It seemed like the hotel was half empty for some reason but we have nothing negative to say.
It is a bit far away from the nice beaches in Ft. Lauderdale, but the beach within walking distance is fine for a quick dip or a short walk. Lauderdale by the Sea is just a short drive away. I'd say that the Il Lugano is the nicest hotel in this neighborhood and was a very good value.

Room Tip: Intercoastal view rooms are by far the nicest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eplymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilLuganoHotel, Executive Administrative Assistant at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

On behalf of il Lugano, thank you for your feedback. We all take great pride in our hotel and enjoy hearing compliments on our "hidden gem". We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next il Lugano vacation.

Maisa Palacios
Executive Administrative Assistant
il Lugano Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#15 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
2,799 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#20 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,731 reviews
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#26 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
4,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victoria Park
The Victoria Park Hotel
The Victoria Park Hotel
#3 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
822 reviews
Central Beach
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Res...
#11 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
5,356 reviews
Pelican Grand Beach Resort, A No...
#9 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
3,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano

Address: 3333 NE 32nd Ave, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308-7120 (Formerly Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#7 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#16 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: $175 - $386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A masterpiece of contemporary design rising 15 floors above the Intracoastal Waterway, il Lugano Hotel is Ft. Lauderdale’s most fashionable address. Experience the height of exclusivity at this spectacular Fort Lauderdale Beach hotel -- offering ultra-luxurious suite-hotel accommodations and lavishly appointed private residences. Stay only minutes from the city’s financial district, shops, beaches, restaurants, and nightlife. Enjoy stunning Atlantic Ocean and waterway views, world-class amenities, and availability to arrange private dockage for yachts up to 50 feet. Travel to nearby shopping and fine dining establishments in our luxury Cadillac Escalades* (based on availability, fee may apply). Blending the style of the world’s finest boutique hotels and a dedication to flawless personal service, we are redefining expectations for Fort Lauderdale hotel suite accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Lugano Fort Lauderdale
Hotel Il Lugano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing