We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano
Ranked #8 of 131 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2012

You cannot and will not go wrong choosing this hotel!! It truly exceeded our expectations! We decided to stay here the night before going on a cruise and decided that we would also stay for a couple of days after the cruise as well. Upon our arrival, we ran into the very kind doorman, who also ended up being the manager!! love you Ken!! From the movement we arrived, even before we arrived, everyone did everything they could to help make our trip as magical and wonderful as possible!! You will not find a better concierge than Marianne, she communicated regularly with us before our arrival and greeted us upon arrival with a familiarity that was comforting! Joselyn, a.k.a. Josie! Gave a a very smooth check-in and upgraded us to the most beautiful room with an amazing view of the intercostal waterway! Every single person we ran into had a kind smile and word ,for us everywhere we went and was always willing to help if we had a question. The rooms are AMAZING! All the detail that they put into the arrangement of the room, the soft colors, the decor..and it's really like a small apartment verses a room..the kitchenette was wonderful, and the bathroom was beautifully appointed!! I could have stayed and never left! The beds are very comfortable and perfectly made up. If we weren't going on a cruise, I would have loved to stay!! Upon our arrival back from the cruise, we were concerned that we would not be able to check in as it was early on a Saturday morning (10am) when we arrived to the hotel.. Not only did they let us check in at they time, they gave us the same room we stayed in before out cruise! It was like coming home!! We were truly touched that they cared enough to allow us early EARLY check-in and allowed up to stay in the same great room!! This will always be my go-to place whenever I'm in ft. Lauderdale!!! Thanks again guys!! We will definitely back!!

Room Tip: Go with the intercostal rooms!! You can't beat the view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilLuganoHotel, Executive Administrative Assistant at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Terri,

On behalf of the entire il Lugano Staff and Management Team, thank you for your feedback and wonderful compliments. As a team we strive to go above and beyond for our guests to ensure a memorable vacation. It is an honor to read we accomplished our goal in extending a warm welcome to you before and after your cruise. We hope you and your family enjoyed your cruise as much as you enjoyed your stay at il Lugano hotel. We look forward to your next Fort Lauderdale vacation.

Maisa Palacios
Executive Administrative Assistant
il Lugano Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,376)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

879 - 885 of 1,376 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2012

This property had everything I was looking for on our 4 night trip to FLL, except beachfront location. However, received a great discounted rate from their website for educators @ $133/night which drew me to this property. The rate included a nice continental breakfast (Toast, bagel, croissant, fruit, coffee, OJ) and 50% off valet (normally $25/night). Wireless internet is free throughout the property and worked well.

Our Jr. Suite King Intracoastal view unit was upscale and perfect with w/d, nice size private balcony, living room/Kitchen area with couch and small kitchen table, robes, nice towels and linens, bose radio, nice size bath, and 2 flat screen tv's. Pool/hot tub were nice for a dip but not really a resort type pool experience for hanging out all day. Loved sitting on the balcony watching the sunset and the boats. They provide towels for pool (or beach) but had to go to front desk to obtain as no one was out by the pool to provide them at the times I visited the pool. Not a big deal. They also provide very nice beach chairs subject to availability. We had them for our entire stay.

The hotel had music in the front lounge Friday night and out back on the intracoastal Saturday evening. Very nice. There is also a blues bar 1 block away that had a nice crowd and good band the night we visited (they serve pizza).

There is a Walgreens within walking distance for odds and ends and a beer/wine store next door. Win-Dixie full grocery is a short drive north on A1A.

They provide transportation within a 3 mile limit subject to availability. However, it was not available for any of my 3 requests. Cab fare down to the strip or Las Olas area is around $10 - $15 if you are out for the evening and don't want to drive. We spent Friday evening in Lauderdale-By-The-Sea area (2 miles north on A1A) where they have a weekly street party with band. This is a great low key area right by the beach with several nice options for food and drink. Check out Aruba's on the beach.

Valet area in front of hotel is cramped and sometimes gets clogged up but they make a good effort to keep things moving and it was a minor thing.

All employees across the board were very nice and provided friendly service that enhanced our stay.

Tip on beach access, I was advised by the front desk that The Ocean Manor Hotel about a 3/4 mile north on the Galt Ocean Mile strip of high rise units allows beach access to visitors. I was a little leery at first, but drove over and I told the valet we were there for beach access and he welcomed us. Valet parking was $5 and they had a great Tiki Bar/restaurant and beach chair/umbrella rentals ($20 - and cannot bring your own chairs here). This pool is for hotel guests only.

Room Tip: Jr. Suite King Intercoastal view had plenty of room with nice balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeonardKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilLuganoHotel, Executive Administrative Assistant at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Thank you for all your wonderful compliments. We are all honored you were able to truly experience a full il Lugano vacation. Its seems during your stay you had the opportunity to experience all the amenities we have to offer from our suites to our weekend live entertainments. On behalf of il Lugano staff we look forward to your next visit in the very near future.

Maisa Palacios
Executive Administrative Assistant
il Lugano Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

Great place, great restaurant, great staff. Must try the "frutta" dessert. Loved it.
The only complaint we had was that the A/C unit seemed to be motioned controlled so it got warm at night and the toilet paper was a little rough if you know what i mean.
The positive outweighed the negative. Give this hotel a try.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allairedds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Our room at the Il Lugano surpassed our expectations by a mile! We could have lived there comfortably for the summer. Lots of closet space and a nice kitchen. We were upgraded to a suite and put on the top floor with a view to the intercoastal. It seemed like the hotel was half empty for some reason but we have nothing negative to say.
It is a bit far away from the nice beaches in Ft. Lauderdale, but the beach within walking distance is fine for a quick dip or a short walk. Lauderdale by the Sea is just a short drive away. I'd say that the Il Lugano is the nicest hotel in this neighborhood and was a very good value.

Room Tip: Intercoastal view rooms are by far the nicest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eplymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilLuganoHotel, Executive Administrative Assistant at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

On behalf of il Lugano, thank you for your feedback. We all take great pride in our hotel and enjoy hearing compliments on our "hidden gem". We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next il Lugano vacation.

Maisa Palacios
Executive Administrative Assistant
il Lugano Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We were so furtunate to find this hotel. Our room on 10th floor had views to the ocean. Large balcony. Lots of seating in the bedroom area. We had a clothers washer,drier,dishwasher and fridge in the suite. All proved invaluable. Good toiletries and towels. Excellent pillows. An interesting touch was a weighing scales in the large bathroom.

All staff who we met whether in corridors or elevators greeted us. The car valet kindly advised that we could park just outside the hotel 'in the street' free from 6pm to 8am. That was very helpful unsolicited advice. To the rear of the hotel there is a swimming pool and seating area overlooking a waterway. Toiletries are available to buy from near the reception. The clear showing of prices of same might be helpful.

Overall a very impressive place to stay.

Room Tip: Select a high floor for best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Topxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Just got back from Ft. Lauderdale...we stayed at a beautiful hotel...The Il Lugano Hotel was everything we wanted it to be. The staff were great...when we arrived they upgraded us to the 10th floor overlooking the inter-coastal waterway. It was a stunning view and the room was perfect for a romantic getaway. The hotel was very quiet and we enjoyed our stay very much.

Room Tip: The 10th floor on the inter-coastal was the best...we had a great balcony that had a wonderful view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2ndhoneymooner15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilLuganoHotel, Executive Administrative Assistant at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

We appreciate your feedback and are honored to have hosted such a special getaway. On behalf of il Lugano, congratulations on your 20th Anniversary. We look forward to hosting many more anniversaries for you.

Maisa Palacios
Executive Administrative Assistant
il Lugano Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

I am most pleased with my experience at Il Lugano and would return anytime. Except for a small amount a minor problems that really didn't bother me, this place was very close to perfection.

Il Lugano's best assets are its rooms. Mine was a standard room and yet, it was more like a suite. The size of my room itself was impressive, with high ceilings, abundant seating space, plenty of natural light and a large, furnished balcony with direct intracoastal view. Room equipment was stunning: full-size fridge, countertop stove, oven, microwave, sink with food disposer and even a washing machine and a dryer. High-speed Internet was free. Talk about value!

Everything in their rooms says comfort and understated luxury. My bed was plush and very comfortable. Two bathrobes were provided also. And the bathroom was also fairly large in size.

When selecting a room at Il Lugano, you should know that you either stay on ocean or intracoastal side. Ocean side doesn't mean ocean view, as I doubt you can actually see the ocean from that location. However, rooms on the intracoastal side do have a gorgeous view and it's definitely worth asking for an upgrade if you were assigned to an ocean side room.

My room was spotless when I got it and remained so throughout my stay. Housekeeping was efficient.

The hotel's location is truly excellent, very safe and quiet. In Fort Lauderdale, most people go to the beach strip that is adjacent to Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard between NE 18st and Riomar, without knowing that there's a better (in my opinion) beach access near Oakland Park Boulevard. In this area, parking is cheaper and the beach is separated from the road, which is more relaxing. This access is at walk distance from the hotel.

If you expect a fantastic pool area, Il Lugano may disappoint. The pool is not very large and faces a large concrete wall. However, the owners did a nice effort to make the pool area enjoyable, and the intracoastal view saves the day. However, I found that their cabanas were not so tidy and could have used more maintenance. Towels were not provided in the pool area during my stay although they were supposed to.

I never used the restaurant, but it looked quite attractive.

Overall, I found this property to be very relaxing, comfortable and convenient. It was definitely a nice change from all those generic hotel chains as well.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 73MKIV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Conrad Fort Lauderdale Beach
Conrad Fort Lauderdale Beach
#3 of 131 in Fort Lauderdale
190 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#17 of 131 in Fort Lauderdale
2,943 reviews
Victoria Park
The Victoria Park Hotel
The Victoria Park Hotel
#4 of 131 in Fort Lauderdale
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdal...
#2 of 131 in Fort Lauderdale
1,062 reviews
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#15 of 131 in Fort Lauderdale
2,084 reviews
The Aqua Hotel
#11 of 131 in Fort Lauderdale
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano

Address: 3333 NE 32nd Ave, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308-7120 (Formerly Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#7 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#13 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: $195 - $493 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A masterpiece of contemporary design rising 15 floors above the Intracoastal Waterway, il Lugano Hotel is Ft. Lauderdale’s most fashionable address. Experience the height of exclusivity at this spectacular Fort Lauderdale Beach hotel -- offering ultra-luxurious suite-hotel accommodations and lavishly appointed private residences. Stay only minutes from the city’s financial district, shops, beaches, restaurants, and nightlife. Enjoy stunning Atlantic Ocean and waterway views, world-class amenities, and availability to arrange private dockage for yachts up to 50 feet. Travel to nearby shopping and fine dining establishments in our luxury Cadillac Escalades* (based on availability, fee may apply). Blending the style of the world’s finest boutique hotels and a dedication to flawless personal service, we are redefining expectations for Fort Lauderdale hotel suite accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Lugano Fort Lauderdale
Hotel Il Lugano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing