We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Quiet, Quality Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano
Ranked #7 of 135 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Quiet, Quality Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Large rooms, great views, convenient to downtown, short walk to the beach. Liked having the roominess of the 1 bedroom suite.
Stayed in a room on the tenth floor, Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slpond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilLuganoHotel, Executive Administrative Assistant at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We hope to be part of your next Fort Lauderdale vacation.

Maisa Palacios
Executive Administrative Assistant
il Lugano Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    756
    299
    66
    43
    22
See reviews for
276
552
55
122
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

My husband and I booked a 4 night stay at the Il Lugano in Ft. Lauderdale by taking advantage of a special rate that Master Card offered (pay for 3 mights get the 4th free using your Master Card). We selected a Junior Intercoastal Suite and it was lovely. It looked identical to the pictures posted but was so much more. The IL Lugano is a combination hotel and residence. The top floor of the hotel is the 10th floor - the residences are the higher floors and have their own private elevator. This is a first class hotel with wonderful amenities that include loungers right on the intercoastal, a lovely pool area (some ppl felt it didn't get much sun - I thought it was great - lots of sun in the morning and early afternoon and then shade later), clean beyond belief, beautiful lobby and our suite was just what we expected. We were on the 10th floor and had a view of the intercoaster that was wonderful. The bed was extremely comfortable with high qualify linens, two HD Flat screen TV's and large living room with sofa bed and very nice furnishings, a dining area, kitchen with rangetop burners, dishwasher, garbage disposal and full size refrigerator - dishes, glasses, silverware and even detergent was supplied. Our suite also had a full size washer and dryer which came in very handy - laundry detergent and dryer sheets included. An oversized walk in closet with an iron and ironing board as well as another large closet with fluffy robes. We made good use of the large balcony and had wine and cheese out there several times watching the boats go by. There is also a bose radio which provided us with music while we sat outdoors enjoying the view. There is also a first class restaurant on the premises which also offers room service. We had lunch one day and it was delicious. Everyone, and I mean everyone that we encountered from the hotel were hospitable, helpful and gracious. The concierge, Maryann, was extremely helpful and booked us roundtrip transportation to and from the airport as well as taking us to Commercial Blvd. to go to the clubs one night. She is a pleasure to work with and I believe truly enjoys her job, it comes thru in her professionalism and friendly attitude. I commend IL Lugano for having such a top rate staff. I know that some have commented that it is located near an area where the economy may have taken its toll but we are familiar with the area and have walked around here many times in the past - there are a few nice places to try, Jillians Restaurant had a great breakfast (sit outside or inside) - also there is a Blues Bar that was a lot of fun as well as the "Dive Bar" which is what it is called and we had a ball there too. Shooters Restaurant and the Chart House are within walking distance so there is lots to do. There is a "Whistle" stop for the Water Taxi next to the hotel - all you need to do is call and they will have the boat pick you up and when you return just ask when you are boarding if they will stop at the hotel and they will. You really do not need a car to get around - everything is close enough to walk to, hope the water taxi to or ask for a lift from the Hotel (which offers their car service if its within 3 miles) I absolutely loved every part of my stay at the IL Lugano and can't wait to return. I would highly recommend trying this lovely place and stay on the intercoastal side on a high floor - you won't be sorry!!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor so that you have a good view of the intercoastal - also, ask for an upgrade at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nailbitter007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilLuganoHotel, Executive Administrative Assistant at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
On behalf of il Lugano thank you for your great feedback and compliments. We take great pride in meeting and exceeding our guests’ expectations. It seems you and your husband were able to enjoy all the great amenities our hidden gem has to offer. We hope to have the opportunity to host your next get a way in the very near future.

Maisa Palacios
Executive Administrative Assistant
il Lugano Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saluda, NC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

We found this hotel in an older part of Ft Lauderdale, through Price line and reserved it for one night before a cruise. It was very nice and close to several good restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

5 wonderful days at Il Lugano Hotel in Fort Lauderdale - loved it!. Especially appreciated the help of the Concierge person, Marianne Scully - truly appreciated all her help and good humour. The service was excellent whether we were in their Italian restaurant or in our room. We learned how to get around the city thanks to the help of the friendliest doormen in Florida. Hoping to return some day.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the canal are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 601JMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilLuganoHotel, Executive Administrative Assistant at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
On behalf of il Lugano we are honored to have been able to provide you with excellent service and are pleased to hear Marianne was of great help. We hope to be part of your next Fort Lauderdale vacation.

Maisa Palacios
Executive Administrative Assistant
il Lugano Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

This hotel near Fort Lauderdale beach is amazing. Very large and modern condo style rooms (full kitchen, washer/dryer, living room) facing the intercoastal. The service was top notch and the retaurant excellent. Only stayed for one night on an overnight date with the hubby and wish we could have stayed longer. Its hidden gem! not on the beach so not many are aware of it. I highly recommend for a quick getaway or a even lengthy stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simmy0203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilLuganoHotel, Executive Administrative Assistant at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
We appreciate the compliments. We are very pleased you and your husband enjoyed your date night here with us at il Lugano Hotel. It seems you were able to enjoy all the great amenities this hidden gem has to offer, from our spacious rooms to our excellent restaurant, da Campo Osteria. We look forward to hosting your next date night.

Maisa Palacios
Executive Administrative Assistant
il Lugano Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

My wife and I recently spent two nights at Il Lugano in Fort Lauderdale. We initially booked this hotel because of location (we needed be in Fort Lauderdale and wanted a waterview room) and price. Even though the website pictures clued us in on the fact that Il Lugano was an up-to-date classy hotel, we were still wondering if the website offered an accurate description. Upon our arrival, we were very pleasantly surprised to find that Il Lugano was better in person!!

We were greeted by friendly valet/bellmen and friendly front desk staff. Every member of the Il Lugano team seemed sincerely concerned about our comfort and satisfaction. This is something difficult to find in the majority of upscale South Florida hotels.

The hotel itself is in an older, but charming, area of Fort Lauderdale. The hotel lobby, rooms and facilities were all very clean, up-to-date and trendy. The view from our 8th floor Intercoastal-view room was perfect! The Lugano suite was spacious, comfortable and spot-less with a large balcony! It was everything that we'd expect from a hotel charging twice as much!

We enjoyed the lounges along the Intercoastal and at the pool. We also enjoyed the very short walk to nearby wine bars and shops. And, as a pet-friendly hotel, we enjoyed the option of having our little guys travel with us.

All around, Il Lugano was everything it represents itself to be. We had hoped we had made the right decision in booking our stay here, and we were not disappointed! Il Lugano surpassed our expections and we will certainly look to stay here again for future visits to Fort Lauderdal.

Room Tip: Book an Intercoastal view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilLuganoHotel, Executive Administrative Assistant at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
On behalf of il Lugano, thank you for your feedback. We are honored to have exceeded your expectations. As a team we take pride on ensuring our guest feel welcomed and comfortable while vacationing with us. We hope to see you and your wife again in the very near future.

Maisa Palacios
Execustive Administrative Assistant
il Lugano Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

We stayed at the Il Lugano on April 25th for one night before our roadtrip down to Key West. The hotel is a little out of the way of the "action" of Ft. Lauderdale but that wasn't a factor for us. The rooms were spectacular and the beds the most comfortable that I have ever slept in. Everything was spotlessly clean and the staff very friendly. We had a few drinks in the hotel restaurant and the bartender was awesome! I wish I could remember his name but after a few Stellas it escapes me ;) I can't say enough about this hotel. Even my parents who are avid travelers, like us, said it was the nicest hotel they had ever stayed in. The sunbeds on the intracostal were awesome and a great place to snap pictures of the beautiful boats cruising by. The pool was too cold for us to enjoy but the hot tub was really nice. If we ever return to Fort Lauderdale we will definitely stay at the Il Lugano!

Room Tip: Try to score a room on the intracoastal. We had a view of the ocean, which was fine, but an intraco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brezobonita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#22 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 stars 2,188 reviews
Victoria Park
The Victoria Park Hotel
The Victoria Park Hotel
#3 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 stars 622 reviews
The Aqua Hotel
#6 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 stars 883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#11 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 stars 1,741 reviews
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#16 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 stars 3,603 reviews
Central Beach
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Res...
#8 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 stars 4,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano

Property: Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano
Address: 3333 NE 32nd Ave, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308-7120 (Formerly Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal)
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#5 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#8 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#17 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A masterpiece of contemporary design rising 15 floors above the Intracoastal Waterway, il Lugano Hotel is Ft. Lauderdale’s most fashionable address. Experience the height of exclusivity at this spectacular Fort Lauderdale Beach hotel -- offering ultra-luxurious suite-hotel accommodations and lavishly appointed private residences. Stay only minutes from the city’s financial district, shops, beaches, restaurants, and nightlife. Enjoy stunning Atlantic Ocean and waterway views, world-class amenities, and availability to arrange private dockage for yachts up to 50 feet. Travel to nearby shopping and fine dining establishments in our luxury Cadillac Escalades* (based on availability, fee may apply). Blending the style of the world’s finest boutique hotels and a dedication to flawless personal service, we are redefining expectations for Fort Lauderdale hotel suite accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Cancelon, Otel, Marriott, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Lugano Fort Lauderdale
Hotel Il Lugano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing