We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel, Excellent Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano
Ranked #7 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Stamford, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel, Excellent Service”
Reviewed March 14, 2012

We spent one night at Il Lugano and had a superb experience. The hotel is beautifully decorated. The room was lovely and comfortable. We enjoyed a cocktail in the swanky lobby bar area prior to dinner. The front desk staff were all so helpful and met our every need. We had an intercoastal room with a balcony overlooking the waterway, which was great. All in all, a perfect stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraF684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilLuganoHotel, Executive Administrative Assistant at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. The il Lugano team takes pride in providing our guests’ with a superb experience from the moment they arrive. It seems you truly enjoyed the amenities our “hidden gem” has to offer from our views to our rooms. We hope to see you soon.

Maisa Palacios
Executive Administrative Assistant
il Lugano Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    844
    337
    75
    45
    22
See reviews for
330
599
63
137
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brossard, Quebec, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 13, 2012

We stayed for March break 2012.
The hotel is just wonderful, very modern and very civilized personnel. Extremely clean and comfortable. The outside pool, the spa, the gym were amazing.The beach is a few minutes away, walking.
The weather in March is the best, no humidity and lots of sunny days, good for the perfect tan.
The breafast at the hotel was very good, there are plenty of choices on the menu. For lunch and dinner we went to other places, my kids enjoyed the court food at Galeria Mall, which is more gourmet food than fast food.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lavinia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilLuganoHotel, Executive Administrative Assistant at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
We appreciate the wonderful comment and are honored to have provided a great stay for you and your family. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Maisa Palacios
Executive Administrative Assistant
il Lugano Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

We stayed at this hotel before and thought we knew what to expect. However, we did not realize that even with a room type and price range, there are great variations. We are I Preferred customers which allows you to get an upgrade if there is an upgrade available. We wanted a lugano intercoastal and decided to just book it from the start so as to be guaranteed the room we wanted. Last year we stayed in this type of room and it was great. After checking in, we went up to our room only to find it was very different from the layout of the year before. They gave us a corner room that had one inch of intercoastal view and a relatively small balcony compared to the year before (last year we had a table and four chairs and a lounge chair on the balcony.... this year there was just a lounge chair). I went down immediately to complain and they insisted this was a Lugano intercoastal...blah, blah, but then gave us a new room. Albeit not as nice as last year....but better than the one first assigned this year. It was a nice room and the balcony had two chairs and a little table, and a lounge chair and table. It had a beautiful view of the intercoastal. The layout was different. Last year we had a dining table and chairs and a tall bar type island. This year no island type. The bathroom had a separate toilet and a tub/shower sink area. The rooms are clean and well decorated etc. There are washer/dryers with free detergent and dryer sheets provided. Kitchen area is good - full size fridge etc. We do cook in the room - not sure many people do though. You have to ask for pots etc -- we just travel with a couple of cooking things. We went to Whole Foods and bought some nice foods and made big breakfasts etc. The biggest negative to this hotel is the pool is unuseable. We walked to the beach.... but would have liked to have had a pool. A few people did use it each day but it is never in the sun. When we checked in we asked at the desk if there is a time of day there is sun at the pool and the girl told us not at this time of year!!! So you have to know your priorities. If you want a luxury room and you want to walk to the beach, this is a good place. We were offered a reduced charge for valet parking but we still did not take it. Across the street there is metered parking which needs to be fed daily from 8 am until 6 pm. It has a lot of spaces. If you go out most of the hours of the day, it does not take much to feed it. We paid anywhere from 1.80$ to $5 depending on how much time we spent in the room or at the beach during the day. There are several little shops and restaurants within walking distance. Forget Shooters and Charlie's Crab they are not what they used to be. We tried Lucca... food was very good but not cheap. Places you can drive to that we liked.... Chuck's Steak house (nice salad bar), Tedescu's (good pizza and salad), La Bomba III (excellent Mexican and Spanish food, very fresh). If you want to eat breakfast and leave out lunch and then have an early bird dinner, most restaurants have cheap rates for meals from 430 to 600 or so pm. Some have specials for lunch that can range until 430 pm (Tedescu's for example)....so it is possible to save money by eating at off times of the day. Portions are large in these restaurants and having the fridge at the Il Lugano is a big plus.

Room Tip: Keep in mind there are different layouts to rooms so discuss to be sure to get what you want. Inter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cohenprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jundiai, SP
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2012

After getting a good price through Hotwire I didn't expect too much from this hotel but I was completely wrong, the rooms are huge and very well maintened and decorated, quite nice towels and linens, a full in room laundry and kitchen makes you feel at home. The staff wouldn't be more friendly and helpful without been invasive, the restaurant in the ground floor is a nice option for lunch or dinner (I didn't try their breakfast because there are a Italian bakery 2 blocks away that one must not miss at all). It is located in the Intracoastal 2 to 3 blocks from the beach that was not a problem for a business traveler like me but could bother someone in vacations. The downsides for me here are the shower that is just average (not too much water over a tub) that unfortunately is usual in most American hotels and the valet parking price (US$ 25/day) that is a little high but besides these I would stay here again and strongly recommend to everyone this nice 4 to 5 stars hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lontramil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilLuganoHotel, Executive Administrative Assistant at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about our spacious suites here at the il Lugano Hotel. We always want to ensure our guests receive the best available room type. We are glad to hear we were able to exceed your expectations in the rooms and hope to have you visit us again.

Maisa Palacios
Executive Administrative Assistant
il Lugano Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Awesome stay after booking through Hotel Tonight app, great deal and made even better when we arrived when we were told they upgraded us to the largest room with largest balcony in hotel. Couldn't believe it when we got in room for the price we paid. Awesome hotel with awesome price. Valet slightly expensive at 25 bucks and called front desk several times during checkout to get a bellman but apparently they never told them. I went down myself and asked bellman to help us and he went right up. Other than that it was great.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoggNation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

We have never stayed in such a warm, friendly and efficient hotel. The rooms are wonderful and spacious. The staff is extremely attentive from the reservationist to the front desk and everyone else who works at the hotel. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greencastle, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

I stayed at the Il Lugano for five nights while in Ft Lauderdale on a business trip. Everything was absolutely perfect. My room faced the Intecoastal waterway and every day I looked forward to going back to the hotel, sitting on my balcony, watching the boats float by on the canal and reading. It was a wonderful and relaxing retreat. I even spotted a manatee swimming in the canal one afternoon, which was a real delight and (I'm told) something of a rarity.
The bed was very comfortable and the room was very clean and spacious. It was very tastefully but simply decorated.
This was the best overall hotel experience I've had in a long time. It was the perfect combination of functionality that met my business and comfort needs(large desk for working, couch, ottoman, kitchenette with dishwasher and full size refrigerator, washer and dryer) but also allowed me to relax in a way I rarely can on a business trip (private beach along canal, balcony, quiet sidestreet, soft clean linens). I came back from my trip (almost) as relaxed as if it had been a trip intended solely for pleasure!
The hotel is located on a quiet sidestreet not far from Ft. Lauderdale beach-close enough to be very convenient for a night out, but not so close that I had to deal with the traffic or street noise. The water taxi has a pick-up/dropoff location right behind the hotel which is very convenient for going into town or to the beach without driving (a plus since Ft Lauderdale traffic can be a nightmare!)
The staff was wonderful and helpful. They always took time to give me directions, advice and assistance with anything I needed. As soon as you pull up, the valets are there to open your car door and the door of the hotel. The lobby is beautiful and comfortable, a nice place to meet friends or co-workers.
The neighborhood is very safe, and there are lots of grocery stores and restaurants within walking distance.
I will definitely stay here again next time I am in Ft Lauderdale!

Room Tip: The rooms that face the intercoastal waterway are the best, but those that face the street have a vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheFreys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilLuganoHotel, Executive Administrative Assistant at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
It was our pleasure to provide you with such a relaxing stay especially while being on a business trip. We are glad hear you were able to enjoy everything il Lugano has to offer from our helpful staff to our relaxing balcony views. We hope to see you soon!

Maisa Palacios
Executive Administrative Assistant
il Lugano Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#14 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,682 reviews
Victoria Park
The Victoria Park Hotel
The Victoria Park Hotel
#3 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
806 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#22 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdal...
#6 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,518 reviews
The Aqua Hotel
#11 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,016 reviews
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#25 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano

Property: Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano
Address: 3333 NE 32nd Ave, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308-7120 (Formerly Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#7 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#16 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A masterpiece of contemporary design rising 15 floors above the Intracoastal Waterway, il Lugano Hotel is Ft. Lauderdale’s most fashionable address. Experience the height of exclusivity at this spectacular Fort Lauderdale Beach hotel -- offering ultra-luxurious suite-hotel accommodations and lavishly appointed private residences. Stay only minutes from the city’s financial district, shops, beaches, restaurants, and nightlife. Enjoy stunning Atlantic Ocean and waterway views, world-class amenities, and availability to arrange private dockage for yachts up to 50 feet. Travel to nearby shopping and fine dining establishments in our luxury Cadillac Escalades* (based on availability, fee may apply). Blending the style of the world’s finest boutique hotels and a dedication to flawless personal service, we are redefining expectations for Fort Lauderdale hotel suite accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Marriott, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Lugano Fort Lauderdale
Hotel Il Lugano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing