We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very comfortable, great getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano
Ranked #8 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Not really family hotel but fabulous for a couple. Generous size rooms and REALLY great beds. The area around the hotel is kinda creepey and not much to do. Didn't stay long so we just had breakfast....it was fine but a little on the pricey side.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allabouteating
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,368)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,018 - 1,024 of 1,368 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2011

The valet was awesome, Kevin Brown and David Konnig were so helpful. The room service was great but we didn't like the dinner menu at the Hotel's restaurant. The rooms are great, very spacious and having two balcony's was great.

The downsides are the pool is quite small and doesn't receive much sun at all.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

We had a great stay of 3 nights in Il Lugano. Rooms are extremely spacious, very comfortable and an excellent equiped kitchen. The Italian restaurant downstairs serves amazing food and the fresh mozzarella is something not to be missed! Downsides if I have to mention something is unable to move the showerhead, mediocre service in the restaurant and the small and shaded pool area. But isn't Fort Lauderdale all about the beach, so who needs a pool? Overall service from the reception staff to the valet parking guys excellent and polite. Would return!

Room Tip: Make sure your view is on the back side of the hotel overlooking the waterways
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DutchPete1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilLuganoHotel, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2011

On behalf of the il Lugano staff we appreciate your feedback and are honored to say we have thrived in meeting and exceeding your expectations. Although in fact our pool may be a shaded area we are walking distance to the beach which does offer a great deal sunlight. We look forward to having you stay at the il Lugano on your next Fort Lauderdale vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

OK, i'll start with the bad things, and there's only 1 - the pool. very small and shaded, so if you're into the sun you'll be disappointed.
The good things - big rooms, clean, full kitchen (inc kettle, coffee maker, tea, sugar, dryer, washer, knifes - everything). the bathroom is big, clean and advanced.
Hotel service is super friendly, always was nice and pro when i called - even for a later check out which is 12 but after req a later it was 1 pm.
The walls between each room are thick so it's a quiet stay.
The restaurant is ok, small menu but around the hotel you have many places to eat.
The beach is like 10 min away walking and it's awesome.
Location is ok, it's 7 min away from central beach and the hotel offers a free ride there.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

Beautiful suites, calm and confortable. Excellent people taking care of everything, even the little things. Gym is really good and the neighborhood is wonderful. I reaaly enjoyed my stay at the hotel. Recommended.

Room Tip: View of Canal Huge Balcony Big apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mirandela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Stay at Ft Lauderdale hotels regularly and know them all quite well but for some reason not had the opportunity to stay at Il Lugano. Needless to say I will be including it amongst my favorites and in terms of bang for the buck, it might actually be the best of all.

The property sits in sort of a "lonely" location about 4 blocks back from the beach on one side yet straddles the Intercoastal directly on the other. Parking is pretty much a required use of the valet @$20.00 per day. There are ample and most often empty metered spaces all around the hotel however you have to insert coins all day long every 3 hours between 8am and 6pm. Entering the hotels port cachere is unusually tricky and a bit "tight" but manageable.

Upon entering the lobby you are immediately struck by its very "designer" look which is imparted throughout the entire hotel including the room accomodations which are world class. Having a washer/dryer as well as kitchen (minus oven) was a great convenience even though we had no plans to cook.

The hotels wi-fi is complimentary throughout and works very well. What more could one ask for! The exercise room while relatively small has high end cardio and universal station as well as dumbellls up to 50lbs each. Earphones are available for those who might have forgotten them and this was a nice touch I surely appreciated. Cold towels were also kept in a refrigerator for use post exercise.

The hotels restaurant seemed a bit pricey for breakfast (e.g. $15.00 for an omellette alone) but there are lots of local area options to get around this.

Given the rates this property charges for its outstanding accomodations, which surely are most reasonable, I no doubt will return soon!

Worldspan

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steelmuscle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Upon checking out Hotels with Dockage as I am a boater, I came across this strange named hotel, which I or any of my friends never heard of. I called them to inquire about the cost of their dockage if I stayed at their hotel and they told me that as long as my boat was 35' or under there would be no charge. I inquired about how I would get around to the beach and/or local restaurants and they told me they have 3 Cadillac Escalades that they loan guests (yes I said LOAN) as in no charge. I figured the rates must be crazy, but upon going to their site I found a one bedroom suite for Florida residents for a little as $89.00 and a stel uup for a larger suite was $119.00. I went for the larger one and joined their little club online. When I arrived, not only were they waiting for my boat, they upgraded my room to a full apartment with views of the ocean and intercoastal, a full kitchen, Washer and Dryer and coupons for free wine in the lobby.
If you can't tell from my writing so far, I have a few more raves about this place. 1st - in the lobby is a fantastic Italian restaurant that serves first class food for breakfast, Lunch and dinner as if you were in Europe somewhere. Out the front door and about 100 steps on the right is a great Jazz and Blues Bar with Live music 7 days a week. Across the street is a seafood restaurant with live music, and a few more steps east was a fantastic Greek restaurant. All of these within less than a five minute walk. One night we went to the Chart House with their fabulous food and it too was only five minutes away on the other side of the bridge.
Yes the pool is small, and their little make believe beach on the intercoastal where you can watch the boats cruise by every minute is cute, but with one call they had a vehicle ready to take us about a half mile to the beach, and with one call they were there to get us even before I could towel off.
This place is my new home away from home, and a great place to have a party as well...our room held comfortably 15 of us for drinks before we headed off for a birthday celebration.

Room Tip: Join their Club online and you get Free Upgrades!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LarryB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#17 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,906 reviews
Victoria Park
The Victoria Park Hotel
The Victoria Park Hotel
#3 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
846 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#20 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Aqua Hotel
#11 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,052 reviews
The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdal...
#2 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,051 reviews
Central Beach
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Res...
#13 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
5,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano

Address: 3333 NE 32nd Ave, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308-7120 (Formerly Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#7 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#13 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: $197 - $454 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A masterpiece of contemporary design rising 15 floors above the Intracoastal Waterway, il Lugano Hotel is Ft. Lauderdale’s most fashionable address. Experience the height of exclusivity at this spectacular Fort Lauderdale Beach hotel -- offering ultra-luxurious suite-hotel accommodations and lavishly appointed private residences. Stay only minutes from the city’s financial district, shops, beaches, restaurants, and nightlife. Enjoy stunning Atlantic Ocean and waterway views, world-class amenities, and availability to arrange private dockage for yachts up to 50 feet. Travel to nearby shopping and fine dining establishments in our luxury Cadillac Escalades* (based on availability, fee may apply). Blending the style of the world’s finest boutique hotels and a dedication to flawless personal service, we are redefining expectations for Fort Lauderdale hotel suite accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Lugano Fort Lauderdale
Hotel Il Lugano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing