We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Typical Bubba Gump” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bubba Gump Shrimp Co.

Bubba Gump Shrimp Co.
Ranked #66 of 1,320 Restaurants in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Central Beach
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Typical Bubba Gump”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

I have eaten at these restaurants a number of times throughout the US. This one was the same. Nice ocean view and a server that was easy going. I did quite enjoy my 'Accidental Fish' dish.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    743
    746
    407
    140
    69
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, PA
Level Contributor
81 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Four Times in One Week!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

I enjoyed four different meals at Bubba Gump Shrimp Restaurant in Fort Lauderdale. The stuffed shrimp was more like crab balls with a shrimp pressed into the top, but it was delicious just the same. Fishwich was good but a bit thin (grilled mahi). Mushroom veggie burger is really unique, but sub the fries for more veggies if you want a healthier fare. Shrimp shack mac and cheese is a meal in itself, although it's listed as an appetizer (920 calories!). I felt better with a side salad attached to the m & c. Wonderful, friendly people!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank BS9988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

We hadn't been to a Bubba Gump restaurant before, though we have seen them around the country. This was located directly in front of our hotel. As we walked the beach, other places were packed, but Bubba's had only a couple of tables occupied. My husband still wanted to eat there, so we got a table. We ordered the Shrimper's Heaven for $20.49. He tried the chilled shrimp first and spit it out, it was total mush. We each tried a tempura shrimp which was just ok and we split a coconut shrimp which again was marginal. We turned the plate to red as instructed if we needed help and waited about 10 minutes for our waitress to come over. She asked if there was a problem since we hadn't eaten our meal, we told her it wasn't very good and the chilled shrimp was terrible, she had a kind of "oh well" attitude, so we asked to speak to the manager. We waited yet another 10 minutes and the cook came out, we told him about the poor quality and he said to let him cook us something else. At this point we were all set, but he insisted. We asked why the manager sent him out instead of coming out to speak to us, he said he is both the cook and the manager. We told him to make what he thought was his best meal, he said that would be the fish & chips which was priced at $13.50. He took the shrimp meal away and had the waitress bring out the fish & chips when it was done. It was better than the original meal, but not great. We asked for our bill, we were very surprised to see we were still charged for the Shrimper's Heaven. When we said that the bill should be for the fish & chips, she said the fish was on the house but we had to pay for the shrimp meal because "we had eaten it all"!!! We reminder her we hadn't eaten that meal, in fact the cook/manager had removed it from our table. She said well that's your bill. We paid the bill and left. I never thought I would have to take a picture of an uneaten meal to prove to the waitress who went to get the manager to take the meal back that it was not eaten! We have another trip planned to Ft. Lauderdale, we will not be returning here to eat. This restaurant is located directly in front of the Marriott, go to Coconuts directly behind the Marriott, great service and wonderful food!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank abctravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Different but nice”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

It was a pleasant atmosphere. The food was priced to high and not really that good. I kept to beverage glass that lights up from the bottom. Shimp menu could improve with a name like that. Should have more Shrimp choices. Service was just okay. Our order had to go back. Maybe we ordered the wrong things. Just okay.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Firstlady W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring City, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

We went to Fort Lauderdale on vacation and dined out every night. The service here was one of the best we had during the week. It's reasonably priced and you know what you're going to get as far as quality. Our waiter made it a great experience. I would definitely say its family friendly and the location right across from the beach is great.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wolfpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bubba Gump Shrimp Co. also viewed

Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 

Been to Bubba Gump Shrimp Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing