We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doesn't get much better”
Review of Coconuts

Coconuts
Ranked #17 of 1,330 Restaurants in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $100
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Bahamian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Central Beach
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
96 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Doesn't get much better”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I can't believe we have never been to this place before, but we will be back (hubby wants to make it an every Sunday tradition). I figured with the great location & the amazing view, it would be touristy & terrible, but I was wrong. Doesn't get much better than having a nice glass of wine, nice music, very good food, great service, my doggies @ my feet, an amazing view watching a beautiful sunset & being with my hubby! Oh yeah & free parking on the beach.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank debbow7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,605 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,048
    1,114
    301
    84
    58
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Went to Fort Lauderdale to see our daughters, decided to go to coconuts. The food was excellent, we tried a coulple of different specials that they had featured for the evening. We tried the garlic shrimp appetizer, as well as the fried grouper stuffed with crabmeat meat, there was also a scallop dish on special that had large and tender scallops. Off of the menu we had the crabcake entree as well as the fish tacos, and coconut shrimp. For dessert we also tried their keylime pie and cheese cake both of the desserts were fabulous. We enjoyed dinning by the water and seeing tarpon fish being fed! Service was really good, beer was ice cold just the way I like it!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dekalbharleyrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
178 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Boring Bland Brunch ~ Crap Service”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Friends and I met for brunch on a Sunday. Walked up put names down on never ending list and stood around for 45 minutes (waiting for first table available) while people who were on and not on the list got in and sat down. After questioning "what's going on" oh sorry your table is next. We should have just walked away and saved ourselves a very weak breakfast offering with service that said " we don't really care" just please overpay for undercooked poorly seasoned food. Just skip it !

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pandora_is_Eve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
159 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Not to disappoint, excellent”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Another positive review.
Excellent service, friendly staff. Great atmosphere.
We had their crab claws for starters, fantastic!
Followed by clam chowder, extremely good as well.
The main courses were not to disappoint, coconut shrimp, and crab cakes, both generous portions and very little filling with crab cakes, mainly crab = wonderful!
A great dinner, friendly casual atmosphere all with a beautiful view.
A great place!

Helpful?
Thank olbear1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Maybe it was a bad night?”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

The service was good, but the food not so much. They were having a ribeye special and a pasta special which I asked the waitress which would be best and she recommended the ribeye (which was more expensive by the way). So I went with the ribeye based on her recommendation. What a huge disappointment. It was over cooked and very fatty. A little fat is understandable but half of the steak was pure fat. Very cheap cut of meat. It came with one side (which the choices were slim). No salad options or potato options so I chose mac and cheese. The mac and cheese was good, but nothing else about the meal was. No bread offered. Just a bad steak and a small side of mac and cheese and the meal was $30 before drink, tip or tax. Maybe it was a bad night, but I doubt I will go here again. The menu options were very small also. Not much to choose from. The employees were friendly so this was good. Maybe they just need some new cooks?

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank bhamgirl100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coconuts also viewed

Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 

Been to Coconuts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing