We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid option”
Review of W Fort Lauderdale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
W Fort Lauderdale
Ranked #28 of 127 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

A solid choice. If you're a hotel snob who is used to Ritz or Four Seasons or better, this (like all Ws) will appear to have a fair share of minor flaws, but everyone else will gladly give it 4*. Nice views of ocean or waterway, decent in house dining option, good service. Manager gave us one of the condo type units which was very spacious and nicely appointed. Only thing I would caution you on is that this is a bit of an adults hotel. Pool area was packed and not a child in sight. The night time scene is also very adult-ish. We had left kids w grandma so it didn't bother us, but w the kids this might not have been the ideal choice.

Stayed: October 2013
1  Thank FairCritic Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBosco, Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

NonSnob Foodie Y,

I’m glad you enjoyed your recent stay and had some time to experience WET, Steak 954 and the nightlife on property. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

All the best,
LBosco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,037 - 2,043 of 4,174 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

My fiancé and I made reservations to stay at the W hotel ft lauderdale over 4th of July weekend. We come to this hotel often to partake in their Restaurant steak 954 and lounge whiskey blue and we love the property. However, after staying here as a guest I have a very different perception and impression of this hotel. Upon check in we we're greeted by a wonderful gentleman who took our bags from us and wished us a great stay. The front desk help who checked us in was also very helpful and friendly. Our room was not ready so we went to the pool. The bar staff was great. We got drinks quickly and despite being very busy the pool was properly staffed. I cannot say the same for the rest of the hotel. When we were called that our room was ready we got our keys and went to the room. Maintenance was in our room fixing something and told us he was not sure why we we're let in as the room
Is not ready and house keeping still had to clean the bathroom! We also noticed the shower in the middle of the room was totally see through. If you are traveling with kids or a friend (anyone but your significant other) when making your reservation, beware. The shower is totally exposed and there is no way to close it off. Anyways, At this point we already told the desk to send our bags so we just waited on the balcony for them to be done "keeping" our room. Awkward. Speaking of bags , we waited 1 hour 20 minutes for our bags to be brought to us. This is NOT AN EXAGGERATION. I text a friend when I got into the room and made a mental note of when we actually got our bags. I called multiple times and they kept telling me they were on the way. There was no way, unless the elevator broke down. Then we notice there is no ice on the floor. I call the front desk and they tell me that they have to bring us the ice. We waited even longer for that. The staff that brought our luggage literally dropped the bags and ran. I understand it's a holiday but this is a property that I would expect knows how to handle this and would staff appropriately. They did not. When we got back to the pool it was packed and there were no chairs. We were searched at the door by a bouncer that went through our bags. Later I found out the pool was open to the public and that's why it was so over crowded and the bouncers were checking bags. Really!? Paying guests can't get chairs because it's a public pool party? Not ok. Then later in the evening we went on the deck for lunch. No existent wait service. We had to hunt down a server and order. We never saw her again until we literally went and searched for her to obtain our check. Several other tables walked out on their bills around us as they were experiencing the same thing. If you do decide to stay here do not stay over a holiday. I can only assume my experience was this bad because it was 4th of July. I've stayed at hotels over holidays before and never experienced anything like this.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrittanyB1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBosco, Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

BrittanyB1017,

Thank you for taking the time to share the details of your stay, though I’m very sorry to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. We’d welcome the opportunity to discuss your concerns further if you’d like to contact us at GM.WFortLauderdale@Whotels.com and reference your Trip Advisor comment. We hope to hear from you soon.

All the best,
LBosco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

The W Fort Lauderdale is by far my favorite hotel on the strip! I wanted to personally thank Jack from the front desk for the wonderful service provided! Thank you to all the staff! I love W and look forward to visiting many many more times!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AWHITMARSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBosco, Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Anabel_0210,

Thanks for your great review! I’m glad you enjoyed your stay and we certainly look forward to seeing you many, many more times!

All the best,
LBosco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

We spent a week in Ft Lauderdale at the W and it was brilliant. Everything was great and I think it was the helpful and friendly staff that made this stay so good !! For example the pool area and its staff, the brilliant Steakhouse 954, the check in/out and helpdesk people , valet parking staff etc everything was very high quality !!
Dick Carlsson Sweden

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBosco, Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Dick C,

I’m so glad you enjoyed your recent stay and that our Talent were able to make your experience all the more memorable! We hope to welcome you back again soon.

All the best,
LBosco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

I stayed here over the 4th of July holiday. We stayed for four nights. We had a corner suite which was beautiful. It had a great view of the beach, the waterway, and the city. There are sliding glass doors in the bedroom area and the bathroom area which open all the way up which was fantastic. The front desk staff were great and the "whatever whenever" people were always nice on the phone. The valets were also nice. They upgraded our room which was very much appreciated.
The valet service was a little pricey at $30 per night. While we loved our room we did encounter quite a few problems which made the hotel disappointing. We were told that we would have a refrigerator and that we could go and purchase some groceries since we were traveling with a group of 10 total. We got back after shopping to find out that they were out of refrigerators but that they would continue to look for them. They never found one the four nights that we stayed for any of the rooms in our party. This meant we had to use ice to try to keep our food and drinks cold. This normally would not be a problem but there was no ice machine accessible to guests and no ice buckets. We had to call for ice several times per day, and they were only allowed to bring us one bucket at a time. This became inconvenient and pricey since we had to tip them each time. We went out and bought a cooler and bags of ice intermittently as well. The other issue we ran into was poor housekeeping. They only came to clean the first and last day. We called at least three times per day to get our room cleaned, the staff would call back to see if it was cleaned, and when we told them that it was not, they would call housekeeping again, and no one would show. So, when they did finally show they were happy to take the tip money but never cleaned our shower, bath tub, or sinks. At least someone was kind enough to deliver us towels and toilet paper when we called for them.

The property was beautiful, the pool was beautiful, and overall people were great. It was just a shame that the service end of things was not the best. I am a loyalty member there but would not choose to stay there again based on the service alone.

Room Tip: The beach is across the street. We loved tower one which looked at a partial ocean view and waterway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBosco, Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Michelle C,

Thank you for sharing the details of your recent stay. While I’m thrilled that you enjoyed your room and the hotel décor, I’m sorry to hear of the challenges you experienced with your refrigerator request and Style. We do have refrigerators for loan, but at times they are all in use. Our Residential Suites come equipped with full kitchens, including a full size fridge, which is always a nice option large travel parties and for extended stays. We do appreciate your feedback and have shared your concerns with our team in hopes of improving future guests’ experiences. We welcome the opportunity to discuss your concerns in greater detail if you’d like to contact us at GM.WFortLauderdale@Whotels.com and reference this Trip Advisor comment. We hope to hear from you soon.

All the best,
LBosco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

My husband and I chose the W for a short stay for our 40th Anniversary. Brian M. is a top notch gentleman who was the person at check
In. Upon mentioning our reason for our stay, unbeknown to us,sent up a bottle of Proseccio and fresh strawberries! Our room was upgraded due to a small problem immediately. The restaurant Steak 954 where we chose to celebrate was quite delish too! There, they made us a surprise beautiful dessert! We got to have friends and family join us each day by the hotels Wet Pool without any charge. The entire experience was absolutely wonderful! Thank
You again Brian M.!
Steve and Joyce Cooper

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JC2WU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBosco, Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

JC2WU,

Thank you celebrating with us and Happy Anniversary! I’m thrilled to hear you enjoyed you stay and had some time to experience WET and Steak 954. We hope your travels bring you back our way again soon.

All the best,
LBosco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

Forget the rooms - this place hits the bar scene on all facets. Great drinks, great views - no wonder they have won so many TripAdvisor awards

Note- you have to pay to play so
Save up a couple of bucks before you walk in the door. It is not a value oriented place- but you want to be seen there!

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank HoldenBea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBosco, Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

HoldenBea,

Thanks for the review! I’m glad to hear you enjoyed your time at some of the on-property nightlife spots. From Whiskey Blue and Living Room to the WET Lounge and Steak 954 bar – there’s something for everyone! We hope welcome you back again soon.

All the best,
LBosco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdal...
#6 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,617 reviews
Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#16 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
2,033 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#14 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
2,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#45 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
4,019 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#20 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,739 reviews
Central Beach
The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale
The Westin Beach Resort, Fort La...
#31 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
3,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Fort Lauderdale

Address: 401 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#8 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#11 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#15 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#16 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: $262 - $632 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — W Fort Lauderdale 4*
Number of rooms: 430
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking South Florida beach with unobstructed ocean views, W Fort Lauderdale has sand and surf on one side, and intercoastal elegance on the other. A daily resort fee of $26.50 will be collected at the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Splitty, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your W Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale
w Hotels Fort Lauderdale
w Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing