We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay”
Review of W Fort Lauderdale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
W Fort Lauderdale
Ranked #25 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Very nice stay”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for a work seminar in early July and was very pleased. Hotel was very nice and clean, pleasant staff, and located directly across the street from the beach. I had an upgraded room with a very large balcony. The conference rooms were great as well - facing the ocean and providing great natural light throughout the day's meetings. I treated myself to the spa one evening, which was also lovely. I would recommend this hotel for both a vacation and/or group meeting.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren0421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBosco, Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Lauren0421,

I’m glad you were able to mix a little business with pleasure during your last visit! Thank you for your kind review. We hope to see you again soon… for business or leisure!

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,060 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,299
    869
    454
    258
    180
See reviews for
819
1,502
219
596
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,167)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

It is not the fault of the hotel but I always find W to be trying too hard to be cool, hip and trendy. If you are any of those you don't need to try so hard.
CHECK IN was efficient although a bit robotic. You might find a torch useful to navigate through the common areas as you could be forgiven for thinking there had been a massive power cut or you were in a cellar. 'mood' lighting.
ROOM was very nice. Full ccoean view with balcony. The balcony was rather narrow though meaning that it could only accomodate the sun lounger sideways and behind a pillar.
Even though the road is right outside the sound proofing is excellent.
It is all a bit clever though and made me feel like I was visiting a wealthy relative and had to be careful where I sat and what I did in the room. Not very cozy - chic and stylish yes. As I said - trying just a little bit too hard.
GYM was excellent. Very good equipment and well laid out as were the pool areas.
DINING options are limited. There is a very good steak house which served delicious food, wonderful service and a price to match.
SERVICE - this is what makes it outstanding. Faultless throughout the hotel.

There are so many good points about this hotel I don't understand why I didn't enjoy it more.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the ocean view. That is stunning. You can have a view of a parking lot any day of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCBR141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBosco, Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
JCBR141,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We truly appreciate your feedback. I’m glad to see you enjoyed Steak 954 and our other amenities, and that our service met your expectations.

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayman Islands
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Great hotel and up to the high standard of the W, chic, modern with staffing willing to go the extra mile. Even thought I arrived at 11AM my room was ready. I was only there for one day to meet some friends but we were having such a good time we never left the hotel. The lemon drop martini is a must!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBosco, Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Sara J,

I’m glad you enjoyed your visit and the martinis! Hopefully you can visit for a bit longer next time.

Cheers,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I had a very good experience at the hotel. Very clean and modern features. Also located directly on the beach which was a plus. The staff was extremely helpful and professional. Would recommend this hotel to many people looking to stay in Ft. Lauderdale

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kennyi69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBosco, Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Kennyi69,

Thanks for your review and the kind words. We hope to see you again soon!

All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Stayed at this hotel using points prior to a cruise on Allure, got in really early from NYC and the staff where super friendly and buzzing with energy. They took our bags and told us they'd call once the room was ready we headed out to shop and walk around for while, they offered to drive us in the Acura but we had time to kill so decided to walk. After a few hours got a call room was ready maybe it was 11 am which is nice for such a large hotel, room had a partial ocean view and a great set up, just like the rest of the hotel super sleek and modern.

Loved everything about the place from the pools to the dinning options and location. Went for late night drinks in the living room and breakfast at steak 954 and both where really great.

This is not for someone looking to stay on a budget but a nice place to fell young and hip with a great central location in Ft. Lauderdale.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rlpolobear9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBosco, Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Rlpolobear9,

Thanks for sharing your experience with us. You took some amazing photos! I’m glad our team was able to assist you and that you found Fort Lauderdale and our hotel to be entertaining. Until next time… safe travels!

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I recently stayed here for a work trip and got amazing service. Every staff member was attentive and helpful.. And cant beat the view even when it was raining it didn't matter because the view made it feel like the ocean was right outside my room. As if you are planning on doing an event or conference here its a must they banquet staff was so helpful and friendly I wanted for nothing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhinestoned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBosco, Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Rhinestoned,

I’m happy to hear your business stay went well, and thank you for recognizing our banquet team; we’ll be sure to pass along the kudos! Hopefully you can visit again soon, for business or leisure!

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We have been to many W's. First, my husband and I were married at the W South Beach so we LOVE the W Hotel Brand. We have also stayed many times at W in Chicago and Washington DC. This was our first time at W- Ft. Lauderdale. We took our two sons (2 years & 4 months) on a vacation to Ft. Lauderdale over the holiday. We had a great time at W Ft. Lauderdale! Staff were so friendly and seemed genuinely interested in us and assisting us in having a nice stay at the hotel. We are Starwood Gold Members which allows us to have some additional amenities while we stay at the hotel - we chose free WIFI while during our stay. The pools were beautiful and the location on the beach is awesome. We hung out in the "living room" while we ate breakfast which was beautiful and nice for people watching. The hotel is close enough to Las Olas Blvd to walk to the festivities but also far enough away to enjoy some peace and quiet while the kids slept. We ended up watching the fireworks from the balcony in our room - amazing!! Thank you W!! This was a memorable family vacation. :-)

Room Tip: We stayed in Tower II and had views of the ocean & the intra-coastal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaucenBull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBosco, Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
SaucenBull,

We can’t thank you enough for your continued support of the W Hotels brand. I’m glad your family enjoyed their stay and that you found the Living Room conformable. We hope to welcome you all back again soon!

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#18 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,970 reviews
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdal...
#6 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,518 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#14 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#45 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,886 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#22 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,682 reviews
Central Beach
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Res...
#10 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
5,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Fort Lauderdale

Property: W Fort Lauderdale
Address: 401 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#7 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#9 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#15 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#16 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Fort Lauderdale 4*
Number of rooms: 430
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking South Florida beach with unobstructed ocean views, W Fort Lauderdale has sand and surf on one side, and intercoastal elegance on the other. A daily resort fee of $26.50 will be collected at the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your W Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale
w Hotels Fort Lauderdale
w Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing