We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great pool & view”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of W Fort Lauderdale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
W Fort Lauderdale
Ranked #26 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
uk
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great pool & view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed here 4 nights in a Spectacular room. No upgrade given during check in but the room was very nice on the 11th floor. The hotel is cleverly designed to maxi,ise the room view and we could see the both the bay and the sea from our balcony.
It's definitely a couples place & we loved the glass partition to the bath area. The room was spacious all we needed.
We had a few drinks by the pool and at the main bar on the 4th which weren't too dear. I may be a pain but $31.80 per night for parking is a pain but necessary as we found the area quite spaced out away from the beach area.
The pool is lovely and there were plenty of beds and towels but I'm guessing we were there off season.
Loved our white cuddly croc, but he couldn't come home as he wouldn't fit. We tipped the maid after coming back one evening to find the bed turned back and our croc flat out in the middle on his back. Nice touch!

Room Tip: Don't rely on an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flo5777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDoucette, Guest Relations Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Flo5777 – We appreciate you taking the time to share the details of your recent visit to W Fort Lauderdale. I am happy to know you enjoyed the dynamic design and amazing views in your guest room. Please keep in mind our parking rates are competitively priced with the other properties along Fort Lauderdale Beach. If you still are looking for your very own cuddly croc, please reach out to GManthony.livoti@whotels.com. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

All the best,
J Doucette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,950 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,252
    844
    440
    243
    171
See reviews for
793
1,462
208
580
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,152)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ellicott City, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the "Cool Corner Room". The room was beautiful and had a large wrap-around balcony. The views were amazing. We had a fancy dinner at Steak 954 - great food and service, very pricey though so be prepared. The pool deck was nice and the staff was accommodating. They serve food and drinks while you lounge in your poolchair. The music selection by the pool was a little off for me; I would expect something "beachy" such as reggae, jimmy buffett type music, or even pop, but instead they were playing classic rock and 90's alternative most of the day. Not that big of a deal, but unfortunately since our room was a few floors above the pool we were subjected to this music if we were on our deck. The hotel has good security measures, but the elevators were a bit of a pain. You need a room key to key your floor number, but only one side of the elevator allows you to put the key in. So if it's a crowded elevator this can be a difficult process. I would recommend hiring someone to check keys prior to entering the elevator instead (like they do in Vegas). This hotel is walking distance from the main beach bar/restaurant area, and a quick cab to Riverfront & Las Olas. Overall I thought the hotel was great and would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirstyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDoucette, Guest Relations Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Kyrsten E – We can’t wait to welcome you back again! I am thrilled to read you enjoyed your beachside getaway from your Cool Corner room. Thank you for the amazing review, we hope to see you soon.

Happy travels,
J Doucette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Colorado
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Hotel was close to meeting our picky expectations. We were upgraded to an ocean front with balcony on the 10th floor, room was a bit small but the view made up for it. Excellent staff especially the Concierge, Jay who gave us great tips on the water taxi and lunch spots. We had a hiccup with renting a car on site that was taken care of very quickly and professionally.

Steak 954 was excellent, the pool bar/cafe was terrible.

Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichIrons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDoucette, Guest Relations Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Michlrons – We appreciate you taking the time to share your review. Thank you for your kudos to Jay, I can’t wait to commend him for a job well done! You are welcome back, anytime.

Happy travels,
J Doucette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Staff was exellent they strive to make your stay perfect.. If you want it they get it. If you need it theyt have it. The W in Fort Lauderdale deliveries both. Exceptional service that is friendly and efficient. Across the street from the beach. One large and one small and quiet pool in two different areas of the hotel. Close to a lot of activities.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank russ k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDoucette, Guest Relations Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Russ k – Thanks for the shining review. It is fabulous to hear your W Fort Lauderdale getaway was a success and we can’t wait to welcome you back!

Until next time,
J Doucette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

I can tell you I am very picky and when you are paying good $$ for a stay I expect to treated well I have always had a great stay at the w and i have been to a few new york , hollywood california especially the one in ft Lauderdale friendly staff all the way to the valet attendants to my bell hopper just love it great hotel clean amd very styley would stay again and again !!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travismcford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDoucette, Guest Relations Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Travismcford – Thanks for the lovely review. It is wonderful to read you enjoyed your time with us. We can’t wait to welcome you back again.

Happy travels,
J Doucette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

If you visit the website for this hotel you will see a major wow factor. We had very high expectations when we booked our stay. Unfortunately the hotel failed to meet our expectations in a number of ways.

When you arrive you will find that the hotel only offers valet parking and it is very expensive and given the location it is your only option. When you walk into the hotel it is very dark, this is by design. The environment and furnishings in the common areas are pretty cool and unlike any other hotel i have stayed in.

When we got to our"Fabulous" room it did not appear nearly as luxurious as it did in the web pictures. Everything is ultra modern looking but upon close examination looks fairly cheap. The flat screen tv was quite small and looked tiny on the stark wall behind it. The curtain, yes curtain, that attempts to provide privacy to the bathroom looks cheap and the hardware was rusting. The large spa shower that was so lauded in the description was dirty. The floor of the shower was covered in something that we had to clean off before using the shower. We had a full ocean view room that had a balcony looking out over the beach. It also looked over the pool. The clouds had rolled in and the pool area was empty. I was very surprised by the amount of trash that littered the area and from our 8th floor room we could clearly see stains on many of the lounge cushions.

The hotel seems to have a serious problem with humidity. I recognize that Southern Florida is a humid region but modern HVAC systems are very effective in removing moisture from inside buildings. Despite keeping the balcony door closed the HVAC system was unable to maintain a dry environment in the room. It was so bad that our bedding and clothing did not feel dry and made sleeping very uncomfortable. I noticed that the humidity issue carried into common areas of the hotel as well so it was not an issue with just our room.

There are many premium brand hotels in Fort Lauderdale. In the same area I saw a Westin, a Ritz, a Sheraton, and a Marriott. I would go for one of those and maybe stop by the W for a drink to see the "trendy" environs.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank DJA1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDoucette, Guest Relations Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
DJA1972 – We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback from your recent family getaway to W Fort Lauderdale. While I am happy to read you enjoyed the W vibe and décor I am disappointed to see your room condition and the hotel humidity failed to meet your expectations. I have shared this valuable information with our operations team and they are researching this feedback. We would welcome the opportunity to chat with you in further detail. Please reach out to GManthony.livoti@whotels.com so we can discuss in further detail. Please know that our parking prices are competitive with the other properties along Fort Lauderdale beach. WE hope to hear from you soon.

All the best,
J Doucette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

When I think of W hotels I think of service and quality. The W in Fort Lauderdale deliveries both. Exceptional service that is friendly and efficient. Steakhouse in the hotel was delicious; coming from TX where steakhouse abound I was pleasantly surprised! Pool lounges extremely comfortable as was the W bed that you will hate to leave. Spectacular views of ocean and Intercoastal. Spa manicure and pedicure perfect! We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momljs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDoucette, Guest Relations Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Momljs – We appreciate the exceptional review. I am delighted to read you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to welcome you back again soon; another comfortable W Signature bed awaits you!

All the best,
J Doucette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#14 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,912 reviews
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdal...
#7 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#17 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#22 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,631 reviews
Central Beach
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Res...
#8 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,958 reviews
Central Beach
The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale
The Westin Beach Resort, Fort La...
#30 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Fort Lauderdale

Property: W Fort Lauderdale
Address: 401 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#7 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#9 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#15 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#16 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Fort Lauderdale 4*
Number of rooms: 430
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking South Florida beach with unobstructed ocean views, W Fort Lauderdale has sand and surf on one side, and intercoastal elegance on the other. A daily resort fee of $26.50 will be collected at the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Starwood, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your W Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale
w Hotels Fort Lauderdale
w Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing