We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice - but please get some proper curtains!”
Review of W Fort Lauderdale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
W Fort Lauderdale
Ranked #27 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed here on two occasions in December and January 2013. Both times we were upgraded to a nice suite. Loved the room, the location and the common areas.
Some room for improvement:

- Most important: It is impossible to block out all the daylight with the current curtains. They may be trendy, but I have never slept in a hotel room with curtains like this. Please fix this!

- Had to wait forever to get the upgraded room. Yes, I know one should be thankful for the upgrade, but other people were also complaining about the slow housekeeping and that rooms never very ready at check in time. Hey, we are paying to get into a room from a certain time at the day!

- Had to ask slash beg for the spg platinum upgrade. How hard can it be to do this automatically as per the spg rules?

- starwood platinum continental breakfast was served at the bar area (by sale) and it was not possible to get all the items one are entitled to per the spg rules using the amount of breakfast credit you get. A violation of the spg rules that a lof of pepole has mentioned on various social media sites, but the hotel does not seem to care. Strange how this can be so difficult, as it says spesifically on the printed standard spg platinum breakfast card which items that AT LEAST should be included.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank jens h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDoucette, Guest Relations Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Jecho – Thank you for sharing your review. While I am delighted to see you enjoyed your upgraded guest room and beach location, it is disappointing to read our Platinum amenities did not meet your expectations. Our Operations team is reviewing this information to make sure we are in line with all Starwood programs. They are also addressing each of the items you mentioned in your review to make sure we are offering consistent service to our guests. We appreciate your loyalty to Starwood and your valuable feedback. We hope to welcome you back again.

Safe travels,
J Doucette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,126)
There are newer reviews for W Fort Lauderdale
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,856 - 2,862 of 4,127 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013

I thought the W Ft. Lauderdale delivered on all key fronts. The rooms were quite nice with views of the beach from the balcony. The location is next to the beach for those that want "beach" and the pool overlooks the beautiful beach for those that want to see Ft. Lauderdale's beaches from the comfort of poolside service; it is also a short drive away from the heart of the Las Olas restaurants and stores.

Our room was not ready when we arrived but the staff made our wait at the bar more pleasant with some drinks while we waited. The pancakes we ordered poolside at breakfast were great, as well.

This hotel also delivered on the "hip" element one would expect from the W and a hotel near Miami with a see-through pool, interesting showers, and nice bar vibe with a pool table.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charleshatsis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDoucette, Guest Relations Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

C H – We appreciate you taking the time to share the details of your recent visit to W Fort Lauderdale. Thank you for your thoughtful review, you are welcome back anytime!

Happy travels,
J Doucette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Beautiful rooms clean. The rooms were very clean and the staff very professional . I will be back in the future. Thank you The W for a great time.I would rate it a 10. Love the Bliss store and the store across the way . I bought a pair of sandals from that store.

Room Tip: All rooms are awesome
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDoucette, Guest Relations Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Lynda R – Thanks for the shining review! It was our pleasure to host you and your friends for your W Fort Lauderdale getaway. We can’t wait to welcome you back again....happy shopping!

All the best,
J Doucette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Booked Three Months in advance 2 connecting rooms. Only had one room available. Took three hours to get it corrected. Rooms looked like a holiday inn. Stains on rugs and furniture. We were told on many occasions that they were over capacity. It showed in the cleanliness of the hallways with old room service food rotting on the floor. The pools were over crowded and playing music that was inappropriate music and way too loud. Could not get a drink at the pool until 12:30 on a Saturday afternoon. No ice tea and no bloody Mary's. No service at pool area for drinks, food or towels. Staff at the bar inside complaining about the customers to us. We did not want to hear it. We were turned away at lunch at the pool because we were told again they were over capacity. Steakhouse was amateur service and dirty glasses and silverware. At breakfast after waiting a long time to be served brought another tables food to us. Big disconnect at this property. I went to school for hospitality and food service and continue to work in it to this day. I hate to feel critical as we were expecting a grand time. This hotel has no company culture and lacks hospitality, thoughtful service and basic fundamentals of general service. We were shocked and disappointed with what we experienced. Do yourself a favor and find somewhere else to stay. A place that cares and makes you feel welcome and gives you some space and service to enjoy. The door men are kind and gracious and had more sincerity than anyone else there. Had to leave the property for lunch because there was no room for us.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank miaboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDoucette, Guest Relations Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Miaboston – We appreciate you taking the time to share your review of your recent visit to W Fort Lauderdale. I am disappointed to read that you did not feel welcome while here and your experience was impacted by a lack of hospitality. I am aware that you have been in contact with our General Manager and he was able to assist you in addressing the opportunities you experienced. Thank you again for sharing this important feedback and helping us to improve for future guests.

All the best,
J Doucette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Great location across from the beach, good facilities, nice rooms great design and decor. But why so much attitude?
Arrived early, was told the room would be ready shortly; two hours later finally got in. What a waste of time!
Bellboy could not figure out stereo in room (neither could I) was told he would have someone come up right away.....never saw anyone.

Room Tip: Ocean view is always great.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 10izboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDoucette, Guest Relations Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

10izboy - Thank you for sharing your review. While I am happy to read you enjoyed our beach location, hotel amenities and dynamic design it is disappointing to see we were unable to accommodate your early arrival. As a busy resort property we do try and accommodate all guest requests, although during high season it can occasionally be difficult to have guest rooms available prior to our check in time. It is also disappointing to see we failed to meet our promise to fix your stereo. This is certainly not our standard and we are using this feedback as a training tool for our team in an effort to provide more consistent service. Thanks again, we hope for the opportunity to welcome you back.

All the best,
J Doucette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We arrived to a hideous room overlooking the hotel ventilation system (which smelled of fried chicken) only to be told nothing else was available in this monstrous hotel. One very nice guy at the front desk finally found us a better room. Overall, I'd like to introduce many of the staff to a smile and eye contact! We travel a lot and stay at very fine hotels all over the world. Our stay improved from there for the most part, although our room wasn't cleaned until very late in the afternoon. The pool is totally packed with too few lounges -many of which were reserved by 9am. It feels like it's trying to be cool but it's not. It's really just a dimly lit high rise with staff dressed in black.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jodanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDoucette, Guest Relations Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Jodanic – We appreciate you taking the time to share your review. I am happy to read you enjoyed your guest room, even after a little rearranging. It is very disappointing to hear our team neglected to smile and offer eye contact. This important feedback will be used as a training tool for our talent. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We hope for the opportunity to welcome you back and give you the true W Fort Lauderdale experience you deserve.

Safe travels,
J Doucette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

we stayed at this hotel for five nights from 3/25 to 3/30 and we came out very disappointed. We were expecting a real beach resort hotel and found none of this. On the positive side, the rooms were quite comfortable and clean. On the negative side, the amenities for a resort are well below par. the main swimming pool is very tiny and cannot cater for the 500+ rooms. With only a dozen people swimming, it will already feel crowded. the deck is also quite small and guests have to scramble to get chairs, with many having simply to give up for lack of any available. The beach is also only reachable by crossing the main beach boulevard.
The hotel, while good for conferences and meetings, is very family unfriendly with nothing for children to do beside a couple of pool tables. eating options are extremely limited and getting a croissant in the morning is quite a challenge with the single overwhelmed server at the bar. Prices for room service are simply outrageous with the most laughable is $5.00 for two slices of bread (plus service and $3.00 deivery charge).
The stylistic choices for the hotel resulted in a very dark main lobby and very sparse lighting.
In summary, this is a pretentious hotel, definitely not adequate as a resort destination for families, and unable to rise to the level of its pretentions. We got a very poor return on the high price we paid for our stay. Please go somewhere else...

Room Tip: get a room at the Ritz-Carlton two blocks down...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mourad k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDoucette, Guest Relations Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Mourad K – Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent visit to W Fort Lauderdale. I am disappointed to see our Wet Deck and dining options did not meet your expectations. Please keep in mind we do have a 2nd pool called Wet West that is available to our guests as well. We also have a restaurant called STEAK954 on the ground level of the hotel that serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. We do understand that the W hotel vibe may not meet every traveler’s taste. We have several sister properties along Fort Lauderdale Beach that are still in the Starwood Family, something for everyone. We hope to welcome you back to Fort Lauderdale. Thank you again.

All the best,
J Doucette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdal...
#6 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,572 reviews
Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#16 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,001 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#15 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#43 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,966 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#18 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,720 reviews
Central Beach
The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale
The Westin Beach Resort, Fort La...
#30 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Fort Lauderdale

Address: 401 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#7 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#10 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#15 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#16 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: $206 - $526 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — W Fort Lauderdale 4*
Number of rooms: 430
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking South Florida beach with unobstructed ocean views, W Fort Lauderdale has sand and surf on one side, and intercoastal elegance on the other. A daily resort fee of $26.50 will be collected at the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your W Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale
w Hotels Fort Lauderdale
w Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing