We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed!!”
Review of W Fort Lauderdale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
W Fort Lauderdale
Ranked #25 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Forest, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Disappointed!!”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I have stayed at a few W Hotels - San Diego, San Francisco, Los Angeles and have always been very pleased! So, I was excited to stay at the W Fort Lauderdale prior to our Eastern Caribbean cruise. I cannot express how disappointed we were. First, let me say that the service was still outstanding, and the location is good, but the hotel itself - BIG disappointment! First thing - a number of the hooks on the curtains in our room were off the rod (enough that housekeeping should have noticed) so when closing the curtains for the night we had to call housekeeping to have them fixed before we could go to sleep. Next, the shower is a clear glass wall looking into the bedroom - no privacy even if you wanted it. The room is very small. And we are Starwood gold members, but were not upgraded. The counter in the bathroom is non-existent - no room to put anything - just a sink and a little tiny bit of room on each side. The worst part was the bed, so uncomfortable (hard) that I had to ask for extra pillows to cushion the mattress so I could sleep without waking up uncomfortable. All in all, we wished we would have stayed at the Westin which is right next door.

Room Tip: Go to the Westin next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bobbi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDoucette, Guest Relations Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Bobbi P – Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I am happy to hear enjoyed our Whatever / Whenever service. We appreciate your loyalty as a Starwood Preferred Gold Member. As a busy resort property we try to accommodate all of our Starwood Member upgrade requests although can sometimes be difficult when the hotel is at full occupancy. It is disappointing to read the hotel and your guest room did not meet your expectations. Your feedback is important to us and we would welcome the opportunity to give you the true W Fort Lauderdale experience you deserve. Please reach out to GManthony.livoti@whotels.com so we can discuss your experience in further detail. We hope to hear from you soon.

All the best,
J Doucette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,060 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,299
    869
    454
    258
    180
See reviews for
819
1,502
219
596
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,167)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

The word that fits so many aspects of this property is WOW ! ! >>location, elegance, contemporary design, attention to detail, SUPER clean in public areas & guest rooms; pool design; bar and restaurant... impressive. WOW ! !
However, days and weeks after the visit and the glitz and glamour of the structure have faded, what I always remember is the feeling one always experiences at the W Fort Lauderdale. The staff in all areas of the hotel exude hospitality and the desire to not "make" you feel welcome but SHOW you that they are glad you are here and that they're eager to be of service. Such outstanding service is not limited to the lobby area where one almost expects to be treated like royalty. Everywhere you go in this hotel you experience hospitality .... valets, housekeepers, maintenance & pool personnel, restaurant & bar staff. They're the ones whose commitment to outstanding service and showing [not "making"] us we are "welcome" that create the lasting memories and keep us coming back.
Enough cannot be said about the terrific location>> any closer to the beach the waves would be splashing the front desk; 2 - 5 minute walk to restaurants with patios beachside; less than 5-minute drive to Galleria Mall with wide selection of great restaurants and clubs or the Las Olas shopping district; and my favorite when I have first-timers traveling with me>>3 blocks to Seville dock for Water Taxi Tour.
Most of the time I'm here on work assignments [live in Orlando]. Staying at the W is great way to shut off the stress from the workday and justify having to be away from home so much.

Room Tip: Now this is a tough one. I have never had a bad or disappointing location at this hotel. East side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OrlandoKai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDoucette, Guest Relations Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
OrlandoKai – Wow, thank you for the rave review! You have hit on many of our best features, if we do say so ourselves. We can’t wait to welcome you back again.

Happy travels,
J Doucette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

My family - husband, 3 yr old and 7 month old arrived at the W tonight at 8.30pm. I chose this Hotel as a result of a nice experience we had 2 yrs ago. I made a reservation for the exact same suite we stayed in 2 yrs ago and for my parents to have a room on the same floor. By the time we arrived, our reservation was completely messed up - we were placed in two different towers and our room was much smaller than reserved. FURTHERMORE, they had no roll-away beds because they were all used, despite the fact that I had reserved one and a crib in my reservation. My 3 yr old had to sleep in the same bed as us and it took an hour and a half to get a crib for my infant -- 10pm. Not one person made an effort to help us-- I am shocked these employees work in the hospitality business. The room had no extra pillows or blankets and only 2 towels. Any request for service items typically took 45 minutes to an hour. I am paying $600 a night and the service i'm getting is worth $100. It's terrible. And certainly an embarrassment to Starwood.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ltw550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDoucette, Guest Relations Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Ltw550 – We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback about your recent visit to W Fort Lauderdale. I am disappointed to read about the areas of your experience that did not meet you expectations, or mine. Your review helps us to see the hotel through our guests’ eyes and we will use this information to alleviate the opportunities mentioned for future guests. We would welcome the opportunity to speak with you personally to discuss your experience in further detail. Please reach out to GManthony.livoti@whotels.com. We hope to hear from you soon.

All the best,
J Doucette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I travel for a living, staying over a 100 nights a year in a hotel. This is what you come to think of in SPG properties. The staff is amazing. The rooms have everything you could ask for. I will not stay anywhere else when I come to Fort Lauderdale. On this trip I have been driving back and forth over an hour just to stay here.

Room Tip: You want a corner room or a mega room your... Well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDoucette, Guest Relations Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Jeff P – Wow! Thank you for the shining review. I am thrilled to hear our team of talent helped to make life on the road more comfortable for you. Great room tip, the Mega is my favorite! We will see you soon!

Happy travels,
J Doucette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Little Rock, Arkansas, United States
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Love the Design and the decor , But was not CLEAN at all . Room 932 was not clean, maid did the bed but that was it. The shower glass was just gross. Pool was fun but very dirty around the glass banister , cocktail stains in three different areas for the four days we where there. Pool Service staff did a good job. The bar and restaurant was just ok not great .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDoucette, Guest Relations Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Brad H – Thank you for sharing the details of your visit to W Fort Lauderdale. We appreciate your kudos to our Wet Deck talent. It is very disappointing to read that the hotel cleanliness did not meet your expectations. I have shared your review with our Operations Management team and they are researching this valuable feedback. We would welcome the opportunity to speak with your personally. Please reach out to GManthony.livoti@whotels.com so we can discuss further. We are addressing the issues mentioned, thank you again for sharing you review.

Safe travels,
J Doucette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St louis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed for five days and four nights and truly this is a swanky hotel but no sense of service rudeness personified staff, no value for money and no services. When you pay more than 530$ per night you expect a top of world service. Our ordeal started with checking in and made to wait for two hours plus considering the fact we were with a 5 year old kid and started the day at 4 am. No concern, no sympathy. That was just the beginning. No free Internet services in the room, whereas the motels and small hotels were offering free Internet services. No welcome letter, no water, just a room with a great view welcomes you. The house keeping is horrible not to talk about rudeness, sometimes they don't even knock your room and change towels or bed sheets. Most of the hotels offer a decent free breakfast and one gets coffee or tea only here. You are at the mercy of e guy in e cafe who thinks he s quite funny, and cracks some stupid jokes and for some he won't even say a hello. You may be tempted with a free Acura ride and the guy who manages that desk comes with quite a rude response. Overall there s no such thing as warmth or service in the hotel. And if you are going with a kid/ baby be prepared to face an ordeal. There s no single thing for the kids. And yeah the movies are charged 20$ in the room and if u accidentally move the snack from one place to another you are billed for that too. Rooms are noisy, and we could hear music till 3am in the morning not to mention the sounds made by the romantic couple next door. Despite being a Starwood preferred guest we gone through this. Views r good, the guys at the concierge are helpful. Don't get carried away by the look and feel of the hotel. Never again in this property.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ashok N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDoucette, Guest Relations Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Ashok N – We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback from you recent visit to W Fort Lauderdale. I am happy to hear you enjoyed the ocean views and found the concierge to be helpful. It is disappointing to read the housekeeping, amenities and service did not meet your expectations. These are certainly not the kinds of memories we want our guests to leave with. We are using you review as training tool with our talent to ensure they are consistently offering friendly and professional service. We also appreciate your loyalty as a Starwood Preferred Guest although understand our hotel may not suit every travelers taste. Please keep in mind we have several sister properties here along Fort Lauderdale beach within the Starwood family. We hope for the opportunity to welcome you back to Fort Lauderdale. Thank you again.

All the best,
J Doucette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2013

FABULOUS PRE CRUISE STAY
Wonderful experience during our one-nigh pre cruise stay at the W Ft Lauderdale, great choice.
Beds were extremly comfortable. Amazing view of the ocean and the intercoastal water way. Loved the pool also enjoyed walking right accross the street to the beach.
The staff was amazing, exceptionally friendly & efficient. Dealing with Jilll Doucette, Guest Relations Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, was a pleasure, she was very professional and made my stay here at the W for my birthday a special and memorable one thank you Jill! Loved every minute of it! Will definitely be returning!
Thank you for all.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDoucette, Guest Relations Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
D A - Wow! Thanks for the shining review. It was our pleasure to host you for your W Fort Lauderdale getaway. We can't wait to welcoem you back again!

Happy travels,
J Doucette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#18 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,970 reviews
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdal...
#6 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,518 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#14 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#45 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,886 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#22 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,682 reviews
Central Beach
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Res...
#10 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
5,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Fort Lauderdale

Property: W Fort Lauderdale
Address: 401 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#7 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#9 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#15 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#16 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Fort Lauderdale 4*
Number of rooms: 430
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking South Florida beach with unobstructed ocean views, W Fort Lauderdale has sand and surf on one side, and intercoastal elegance on the other. A daily resort fee of $26.50 will be collected at the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your W Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale
w Hotels Fort Lauderdale
w Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing