We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Flat out Gorgeous!”
Review of W Fort Lauderdale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
W Fort Lauderdale
Ranked #25 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Nassau, New Providence Island
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Flat out Gorgeous!”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

First of all let me start by saying I love the W hotels. I love how ultra chic and up-scale they all are. This one was no exception. What I really loved about this property was how friendly everyone was. We were always greeted with a warm smile and a hello from everyone.

We had a lovely room with a gorgeous oceanfront view and it was spectacular. The bathroom was sexy...that's the only way I can describe it. It was one of those showers where you can opt to be seen from the bedroom and it was amazing. The décor as always was lovely and everything was really clean. Fluffy white towels, that heavenly lemongrass soap. I'm a big bathroom buff so I appreciated how nice it was. Don't get me started on the bed!

I slept like a baby the entire trip. I was ridiculously cozy. The rooms gave off a very settling ambiance and I appreciated every moment of that room.

We didn't eat at any of the restaurants this trip because you know it can get pretty pricey and it was more of a getaway then anything else so we ate off property a lot. It's a pretty expensive resort but you definitely get what you pay for.

I highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sania J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDoucette, Guest Relations Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Just_Say_NO242 – Wow, thank you for the rave review! I will definitely be sharing your kind words with the rest of the Whatever/Whenever team. We can’t wait to welcome you back, another ridiculously cozy room awaits you.

Happy travels,
J Doucette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,983 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,267
    854
    443
    245
    174
See reviews for
799
1,474
212
588
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,159)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

The hotel faces the beach which is gorgeous and the pool, which we didn't get to use because of the weather, has an ideal location on the 5th floor terrace!
The interior is a little on the dark side but in fitting with the W group I'd say...
The service at the hotel was mixed - staff are generally quite helpful yet check-in was painful(slow) after our long flight and restaurant waiters were not welcoming to make a eggs florentine as opposed to a benedict when they did have the ingredients for the vegetarian option available on other dishes.
Interesting room design. Rather fun. But not sure everyone would enjoy a transparent shower!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leena_lakhani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDoucette, Guest Relations Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
leena_lakhani - Thanks for taking the time to write your review on W Fort Lauderdale. While I am delighted to read you enjoyed the unique design and amazing views, I am disappointed to hear about your mixed feelings with hotel service. Both our Welcome team and restaurant team are addressing their teams in an effort to offer more consistent service to our guests. We hope for the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Safe travels,
J Doucette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC, NY
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

First I am a gold starwood member and am a fan usually of their hotel chains. My experience was incredibly bad.

On arrival no bellman to take bags

On check-in at 5 PM, rooms not available

Went to bar, where one poor waitress was covering the whole lounge area - obviousily drinks took quite a while

'Spectatcular' rooms were incredibly unspectacular - small, clocks not set properly, unimpressive bathhrooms

Room service that took about an hour when said it would be there in 30 minutes

All this for more than 500.00 per room per night

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mdski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDoucette, Guest Relations Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Mdski – We appreciate you sharing your feedback from your recent visit to W Fort Lauderdale. I am disappointed to read there were several areas your experience did not meet your expectations, or mine. These are certainly not the kinds of memories we want our guests to leave with and are addressing each area mentioned in an effort to improve for future guests. We would welcome the chance to discuss your stay in further detail please reach out to GMscott.brooks@whotels.com. We hope to hear from you soon.

All the best,
J Doucette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yellowknife, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Check in was quick and easy. The staff were helpful and friendly. We asked for a wake up call but did not realize that the ringer was turned off on our phone. They went out of their way by sending someone to our room to wake us up. The room was large with a very nice bathroom and furnished balcony with beautiful view. My husband and I would highly recommend this W which is right across from the beach and walking distance to bars, restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YKJewel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDoucette, Guest Relations Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
YKJewel – Thanks for taking the time to share your lovely review and for spending your getaway with us. We are so glad that we could help this be a true escape for you - that's awesome! Can't wait for your return!

All the best,
J Doucette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 5, 2013

This is the second time we've stayed at the W Fort Lauderdale and we keep having great experiences. The hotel is visually stunning inside and out. The service was fantastic. You could definitely tell that the employees all have a customer centered approach and that good service is stressed here. Noboby says--"that's not my job" or walks by you without trying to make your experience more enjoyable, and even if there was someone at the W like that, I'm sure they wouldn't last long.

The pool is totally original, the pool deck is fantastic. Our favorite part is the shower in the room--very romantic. If you are staying in Fort Laurderdale, definitely recommend staying there.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Palmerstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDoucette, Guest Relations Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Palmerstyle – Thank you for the shining review. We are thrilled to read you enjoyed the dynamic design, signature Whatever / Whenever service and unique Wet Deck design. We can’t wait to welcome you back for stay number 3. Please reach out to us at GMscott.brooks@whotels.com prior to your next visit so we can welcome you personally.

Happy travels,
J Doucette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

This is a huge place - feels more like a carnival mega-ship than a hotel. At high season the place fails in service: lines for everything, over-crowded elevators (we had to wait 10 minutes for an elevator that had room for the two of us and our carry on bags). Enormous swimming pool area was mobbed. Weird, coldly designed bar areas. But here's the topper: bathrooms have no doors and are fully visible from the room through a huge window. This means that you can see everything that your room partner might be doing in the bathroom from just about any point in the room. What idiot architect designed this place? Our "wonderful" room wasn't.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raherold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDoucette, Guest Relations Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Raherold – Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your experience at W Fort Lauderdale. I am disappointed to read your visit with us did not meet your expectations. I can appreciate that the style and vibe of W Hotels does not always meet every travelers taste. Thank you again, we hope for the opportunity to welcome you back here or to one of our many sister properties in the Starwood Family.

All the best,
J Doucette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Checked in around 2:30 pm on a Sunday afternoon and was told that room was not ready yet, but would be available at or before 4:00 pm. We returned at 4:30 and were told that room was still not ready but would be ready soon, although they couldn't quantify how long "soon" was exactly. Approximately 20 minutes later we were informed that our room was ready. We then proceeded to our room, which was quite nice except for the glass pane in the shower that looked into the room and afforded no privacy, and waited over an hour for our luggage to be delivered. While we waited for our luggage we called twice and each time we were told that the luggage was on its way. As a result of the inconvenience the hotel caused us by their delays, they offered us a $100 "resort credit" which we did accept. As a Starwood Preferred Guest, according to the hotel's literature, a newspaper was supposed to be delivered to our door. Our stay was 2 nights and no newspaper was delivered on either day. When I went down to grab some of the "complimentary" coffee that was also advertized in the hotel's literature, I discovered that while the coffee was free, if you are a tea drinker like I am they charge you for that. So I guess the hotel thinks it's okay to discriminate against tea drinkers. Several of the channels on the television in the room either did not come in at all (ESPN, ESPN2) or a picture was visible but the sound was gargled to the point of being inaudible (ABC, FOX). Upon check out the bill was not correct. The $100 credit was not reflected in the statement and one of the charges at the pool bar called Wet was not correct. I pointed this out to the staff member at the front desk and was informed that she was unable to verify this because the hotel's computer system did not interface with Wet's computer system. We then had to wait (again) while she discussed the situation with a manager. I then spoke to a person who works with the people who manage Wet and she said they would review our bill and update our statement. In the interim I emailed the General Manager of the hotel, Scott Brooks, and explained our situation. That was five days ago and I have yet to receive a reply. I also contacted the accounting department at the hotel and left a voice message and have also had no reply. The updated statement is still incorrect and my credit card has been charged for more than what I actually spent. The complete disregard for customer service at the W Fort Lauderdale is appalling and unacceptable. Charging customers for more than what they spent is theft. We would have been better off staying at Motel 6. While the facility and the location are above average, the service -- or the total lack thereof -- render this hotel as a place that should be avoided at all costs.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the Ritz Carlton.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Coopturn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDoucette, Guest Relations Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Coopturn – We appreciate you taking the time to share the details of your recent visit to W Fort Lauderdale. I am aware that a member of our management team has been in touch with you in regards to your experience. Thank you again for this valuable feedback. Our team is using this information to improve service and standards for future guests. We hope for the opportunity to welcome you back and give you the true W Fort Lauderdale experience you deserve.

All the best,
J Doucette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#14 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,929 reviews
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdal...
#6 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,445 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#15 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#23 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
Central Beach
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Res...
#8 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,017 reviews
Central Beach
The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale
The Westin Beach Resort, Fort La...
#31 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Fort Lauderdale

Property: W Fort Lauderdale
Address: 401 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#7 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#9 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#15 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#16 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Fort Lauderdale 4*
Number of rooms: 430
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking South Florida beach with unobstructed ocean views, W Fort Lauderdale has sand and surf on one side, and intercoastal elegance on the other. A daily resort fee of $26.50 will be collected at the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Starwood, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your W Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale
w Hotels Fort Lauderdale
w Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing