We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needed a quick break”
Review of W Fort Lauderdale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
W Fort Lauderdale
Ranked #27 of 127 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Wanted to get out of NY for a few days and starwood had a promotions (I stayed in the NY W a bunch of time, one of the best hotels) I booked 4 nights. We had a corner suite with a monster balcony (make sure if you get this room you go with you significant other because the shower is all glass and goes right through the entire room. Rooms are all white, nice staff. 2 draw back are. 1)the beach is across the street and not a part of the hotels so forget chairs and towel service, 2) the pool is nice and a chill place to hang, but they let people from the outside come to the pool and you just don't get a comfortable feeling leaving your personals around. If they make the pool for guests only and get a piece of the beach this place is a 5 for fort lauderdale. Also a really good restaurant in the hotel. And one more thing there is a gay beach right near the hotel so if you don't mind giant bearded males in banana hammocks rubbing each other in oil then book it.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade is you have starwood or amex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Artem501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDoucette, Guest Relations Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Artem501 – Thank you for taking the time to share the details of your stay. It is lovely to read you enjoyed your getaway with us. I am sorry to hear your experience at WET did not meet your expectations. Yes, WET East does tend to get busy at times. Please know we have a 2nd quieter pool called WET West available to our guests as well. Although the beach is public, they do offer towels, chairs, and umbrellas for rent; you can even charge them back to your guest room. Thank you again for your feedback, we hope to see you again soon.

All the best,
J Doucette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,145)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,075 - 3,081 of 4,145 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2012

Special thanks to the W talents!!! The service was outstanding. execptional customer service from Marcellius!
Checking in was smooth and organized, valet was very busy but maintained structure, the room was clean and airy
(bedrooms, balcony, bathroom, and living space)
The radio was locked with a code and the engineer came up immediately and offered additional help!
We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: rooms are clean, try ocean veiw
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LionHeart_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDoucette, Guest Relations Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Lionheart_12 – We can’t wait to welcome you back again! Thanks for the wonderful review; it is delightful to read you enjoyed your time with us. We will be sure to commend Marcellus for a job well done. Thanks again, hope to see you again soon.

All the best,
J Doucette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Good, clean, quiet, and convenient beachfront hotel with a lot of amenities. The staff was very helpful but the gentleman (Mr. Jorge Ramos) who serves continental breakfast at the bar every morning was a real asset and great ambassador for this beautiful and contemporary place to stay while in Fort Lauderdale.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank DKabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDoucette, Guest Relations Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

DKabroad – Thank you for the exceptional review! I can’t wait to share your kudos with Jorge. We agree; he is a total rock star! You are welcome back, anytime!

Happy travels,
J Doucette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

My husband and I escaped the craziness of Hurricane Sandy followed by a snow storm to the W hotel. What a great trip. The staff was so friendly and extremely helpful. We enjoyed a room upgrade and time by the pool. WET pool was hip and fun and WET west was quieter, we enjoyed both! Great drinks and good food both by the pool and the Steak 954 downstairs. I need to find an excuse to come back with some friends for a girls weekend with a private Cabana! Thank you so much to ALL the staff that made our stay at the W hotel an amazing 3 days after having our home submerged during the Hurricane. Jill, Jonathan, Rebecca, Kenneth... Thanks for finding my phone : ) beautiful hotel, super friendly and clean! Hope to see you soon! I wouldn't stay anywhere else. Perfect location too.

Room Tip: Higher floors may have a better view. I don't think you can go wrong with any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDoucette, Guest Relations Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Sandi H – Thank you for the smiling review. It was our pleasure to help you escape to W Fort Lauderdale. It is wonderful to see you made yourself at home and we would love to be your Florida-Bungalow-By-The-Beach anytime. Please make sure to reach out to us before your girls’ weekend getaway so we can welcome you and your friends personally. Thanks again, we can’t wait to welcome you back.

Until next time,
J Doucette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

The hotel was awesome! The people who took care of us while we were there were great! I would always stay at the W Fort Lauderdale when in town!!! We were on a girls trip, probably a little bit of a handful, and everyone was so nice and helpful!

Room Tip: Tower 1 is on the Ocean side so if that's is what you are looking for make sure to request a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank molly y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDoucette, Guest Relations Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Molly y – Wow! Thank you for the shining review! I am thrilled to read your girls’ getaway was a success. We were delighted to take care of and your friends and can’t wait to do it again.

Safe travels,
J Doucette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Stayed here overnight before heading to Miami because the prices were much better. I was nicely surprised at the quality of the hotel and the room. The layout was very good, the room was clean and orderly with plenty of towels and soaps, etc. the all glass shower was interesting, very spacious and clean. I liked the fact they had a stuffed alligator waiting for us on the bed! Very cute touch. The view of the ocean was great, a nice surprise considering we had booked through Hotwire and often the rooms are the less desirable ones. Did not have a chance to check out much of the hotel, but the staff were very helpful and friendly guiding us around and recommending a place to eat. Not a big fan of valet-only parking, but they were nice and we did not have to wait long to get our car back in the morning. I would definitely stay here again when in town.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDoucette, Guest Relations Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Mike D – Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent visit to W Fort Lauderdale. It is wonderful to know your visit was short yet sweet and you enjoyed the unique design of your guest room. While I am sorry to hear you are not a fan of valet only, I am happy to know our wheels team won you over with their genuine service and speedy work. Thanks again, we hope to see you again soon.

Happy travels,
J Doucette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Great experience wherever you go. Got upgraded (SPG) to an ocean view room in the 10th floor.
Enjoyed the huge heated outdoor pool and great ambiance in the afternoon with hip background music. This hotel offers a small cafe style breakfast at the bar upstairs or full breakfast or dining at the restaurant downstairs.In the evening you can enjoy a drink on the terrace (perfect even in November with 75 at night) or at the bar which is very lively. Will return soon.

Room Tip: Ocean view in 10th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDoucette, Guest Relations Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Alex044 – Thank you for the lovely review. From making a splash at WET, to indulging at STEAK954, to lounging at Living Room; you really did it all! We can’t wait to welcome you back again.

All the best,
J Doucette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#17 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
2,015 reviews
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdal...
#5 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,591 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#14 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
2,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#44 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
3,989 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#21 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,730 reviews
Central Beach
The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale
The Westin Beach Resort, Fort La...
#31 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
3,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Fort Lauderdale

Address: 401 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#7 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#10 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#15 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#16 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: $235 - $578 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — W Fort Lauderdale 4*
Number of rooms: 430
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking South Florida beach with unobstructed ocean views, W Fort Lauderdale has sand and surf on one side, and intercoastal elegance on the other. A daily resort fee of $26.50 will be collected at the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your W Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale
w Hotels Fort Lauderdale
w Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing