We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”
Review of W Fort Lauderdale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
W Fort Lauderdale
Ranked #26 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Petaluma, California
1 review
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

The hotel was awesome! The people who took care of us while we were there were great! I would always stay at the W Fort Lauderdale when in town!!! We were on a girls trip, probably a little bit of a handful, and everyone was so nice and helpful!

Room Tip: Tower 1 is on the Ocean side so if that's is what you are looking for make sure to request a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank molly y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDoucette, Guest Relations Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Molly y – Wow! Thank you for the shining review! I am thrilled to read your girls’ getaway was a success. We were delighted to take care of and your friends and can’t wait to do it again.

Safe travels,
J Doucette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,021 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,282
    863
    449
    250
    177
See reviews for
808
1,490
216
591
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,165)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here overnight before heading to Miami because the prices were much better. I was nicely surprised at the quality of the hotel and the room. The layout was very good, the room was clean and orderly with plenty of towels and soaps, etc. the all glass shower was interesting, very spacious and clean. I liked the fact they had a stuffed alligator waiting for us on the bed! Very cute touch. The view of the ocean was great, a nice surprise considering we had booked through Hotwire and often the rooms are the less desirable ones. Did not have a chance to check out much of the hotel, but the staff were very helpful and friendly guiding us around and recommending a place to eat. Not a big fan of valet-only parking, but they were nice and we did not have to wait long to get our car back in the morning. I would definitely stay here again when in town.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDoucette, Guest Relations Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Mike D – Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent visit to W Fort Lauderdale. It is wonderful to know your visit was short yet sweet and you enjoyed the unique design of your guest room. While I am sorry to hear you are not a fan of valet only, I am happy to know our wheels team won you over with their genuine service and speedy work. Thanks again, we hope to see you again soon.

Happy travels,
J Doucette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Great experience wherever you go. Got upgraded (SPG) to an ocean view room in the 10th floor.
Enjoyed the huge heated outdoor pool and great ambiance in the afternoon with hip background music. This hotel offers a small cafe style breakfast at the bar upstairs or full breakfast or dining at the restaurant downstairs.In the evening you can enjoy a drink on the terrace (perfect even in November with 75 at night) or at the bar which is very lively. Will return soon.

Room Tip: Ocean view in 10th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDoucette, Guest Relations Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Alex044 – Thank you for the lovely review. From making a splash at WET, to indulging at STEAK954, to lounging at Living Room; you really did it all! We can’t wait to welcome you back again.

All the best,
J Doucette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I checked in last night to the w. It was late and we were tired. Eddy at the front desk was cheerful but not overly so. He engaged us in conversation and found out it was a vacation for our 15 year anniversary. The next thing I knew Eddy had upgraded us to a suite and we were on our way. Today we spent the day at the hotel. It is amazing. Thank you eddy. You rock!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDoucette, Guest Relations Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Hello David and Sue.
Cheers to you on your 15th Anniversary! Thank you so much for the amazing review. I am thrilled to hear Eddy has helped to heighten your experience. I have shared your fabulous feedback with the rest of our team. Thanks again! If you need anything at all, just ask!
All the best,
J Doucette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Used to live in FTL -- while visiting, one of my old friends suggested meeting at the W bar for drinks -- upstairs. What a breathtaking view. The bar was beautiful, and amazing. Perfect with the right mix of hip music and clean lines all around. We went outside to enjoy the fire pit which, on this unusually cold FTL night, was most welcomed. I really didn't want to leave, and can understand why the W hotel has the reputation it does. The jellyfish tank in the restaurant down below was the most unusual and captivaing aquarium I've ever seen, and I've traveled the carribbean for the last 22 years, going to obsecure places. Really enjoyed it and wished I was in town longer to go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank x-raynancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDoucette, Guest Relations Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
X-raynancy – Thank you for taking the time to share your review. It is wonderful to read were able to check out the property. You are welcome to join us, anytime! Hope you can stay a little longer next time.
All the best,
J Doucette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I recently stayed at the W Fort Lauderdale during Hurricane Sandy We checked in and were immediately recognized as SPG guests and were upgraded to a wonderful room overlooking an angry ocean but amazing views We didn't get enough time to use the property as we should have but we can't wait to get back

Room Tip: Pool view WOW
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Exowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDoucette, Guest Relations Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Exowner – Thank you for the rave review. I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed your time with us, in spite of the inclement weather. I can imagine the views of the tumultuous ocean must have been quite a sight. We hope to welcome you back again soon, hopefully for some fun in the sun!

All the best,
J Doucette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed November 13, 2012

My recent stay at the W Fort Lauderdale was one of the most enjoyable stays I have ever had. I visited with my wife and son recently for pleasure and we had an amazing stay. We were not only impressed with the Fort Lauderdale area but also with the comfort the hotel provided from the time you arrived on the property. Everyone was extremely inviting and made you feel welcome at all times. We were fortunate to receive an upgrade to an awesome room with a view of downtown Fort Lauderdale and a partial view of the ocean. Although the beach was a short walk across the street and many shops a few blocks away, we spent most of our time at the hotel enjoying the pools, lounge, restaurants, and gym.

I would certainly recommend this property to others for I am sure the staff here can and will provide you with a wonderful stay. We are witness to their ability to provide outstanding customer service. -vao

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vao1199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDoucette, Guest Relations Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
vao199 - Why, thank you! I am delighted to read your family getaway was a success. What a nice review and it was our pleasure to take care of you and your family! We hope to see you again soon.
All the best,
J Doucette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#14 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,951 reviews
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdal...
#6 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,486 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#16 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#48 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,837 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#21 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,658 reviews
Central Beach
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Res...
#9 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
5,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Fort Lauderdale

Property: W Fort Lauderdale
Address: 401 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#7 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#9 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#15 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#16 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Fort Lauderdale 4*
Number of rooms: 430
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking South Florida beach with unobstructed ocean views, W Fort Lauderdale has sand and surf on one side, and intercoastal elegance on the other. A daily resort fee of $26.50 will be collected at the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your W Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale
w Hotels Fort Lauderdale
w Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing