We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a view” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of snooze

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
snooze
Ranked #4 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
staffordshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“What a view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

Stayed at snooze for two nights in an ocean view room and it was well worth paying the extra few dollars for the fantastic view.The room was large and well equipped with fridge and seating.We were driving from Naples and the hotel called to tell us the name had been changed and to make sure we o.k. with directions which we thought was nice (large chain hotels would never do this).As stated in other reviews,a great place to stay,very friendly, clean and no silly charges for "extra's" like parking,beach chairs or beach towels.Visit Snooze grab a drink and sit on the terrace and watch the ocean.Thanks for a great stay

Room Tip: Worth paying a little extra for ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teljill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    153
    28
    8
    2
See reviews for
117
328
31
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night before a cruise to the Eastern Caribbean. The room we stayed in, 303, had been recently remodeled and had a very retro vibe to it which we enjoyed. The room was clean and the king size bed was very comfortable. The location of this hotel is great as there are several restaurants and bars near by. It was myself, my wife, my brother, his fiance, my dad and his wife with each couple having a room. The staff was very friendly. I would rather stay at a little hole in the wall place like this than one of the mega resorts surrounding it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
132 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

Stayed here the night before a cruise to the western carribean. The view was as beautiful and put us in the cruise mood. There were scores of restaurants and entertainment spots within walking distance of the hotel. The price was very reasonable and included parking. The studio had a couch, a table to eat at and a small kitchen. The decore was trendy and the location was great. Loved this place and will definitely return.

Room Tip: Pick an ocean front room. The view is incredible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grasonville, Maryland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Snooze in Ft. Lauderdale on our way to Key West (formerly the Ocean Holiday Resort).
They just remodeled this place and did a great job. What a delight to wake up in a hotel room that's not like every other hotel room in the US. The place is very European, clean and newly painted. The showers are nice and they've provided all that you can possibly need. Management is so innovative that they offer a "back-pack" room for student travelers - complete with a flat screen TV for each bunk.
This oceanfront hotel is located next to one of the best restaurants on the beach (Casablanca Cafe). What's not to like?!
Management will do all they can to make your stay a pleasant one. It is a nice boutique hotel. Thanks Robert and Joe! Keep up the great work!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jim r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

My family and I spent a few nights at Snooze (it was still called Ocean Holiday Motel at the time) before going on a cruise. The first night I stayed in Room 402 which was renovated and clean with a king bed, fridge and flat screen TV. The only drawback was the lack of a view (you either see the corridor or the elevator).

The second night we rented Suites 301 and 401. These rooms are the best option as they are huge (roughly 400 sq ft) with large windows and a direct ocean views. They also have a sofa, and a kitchenette with a microwave, fridge and coffee maker. This is useful as there are not that many breakfast options around. There is a CVS within walking distance where you can buy some grocery staples.

All the units have been renovated with predominantly IKEA furniture, giving the rooms a sleek and simple look.

The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. They will provide you with free towels and beach chairs and help you call a taxi or print your boarding passes.

The biggest selling feature is really the price and location. It is directly across from the ocean and right on the strip where all the restaurants and shops are located. Consider that the Ritz Carlton is only 2 blocks away and is probably triple the price.

There's not much more to say that hasn't already been said in other reviews. If your expectations are for a hotel with lots of amenities, you will likely be disappointed. But if you want a clean place in a great location with responsive staff at a reasonable price, then it's a good choice. But try and get the 01 oceanfront suites.

Only two things that were not great during our stay were that the elevator is very small, and there was a rowdy bunch of guests that kept us awake until the early hours. It would have been nice to have been able to ask reception to call the room and tell them to keep noise down.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Therichpeasant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, B.C.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed 3 nights mid December just after a cruise. TV was a nice flat screen and the room had a fridge bigger then most hotels, room bigger then average also. We arrived early but we were accommodated by getting a room cleaned up as soon as possible, so we waited on the patio and took in the view of the beach across the road. They were doing some painting on the railings outside and some renovating in the floor above us (we were on the second floor) so there was a bit of noise but no problem. Hotel gave us towels for the beach that was right across the street, and ordered a taxi for us for the next day before the hotel office opens. Hotel was immaculately clean and everyone friendly and helpful. We'll stay again if we cruise in or out of Ft. Lauderdale again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

This is a great small hotel. The rooms are recently renovated - very spacious, comfortable, and clean. The location is fantastic, the beach is just steps away, and many of the Fort Lauderdale attractions and restaurants are within easy walking distance from this hotel. There is also a Trolley bus and water taxi service on this block.

The staff and owner(s) are very helpful. This hotel is a great value for the money - and we will stay here again. Note, this property just changed its name from 'Ocean Holiday Motel' to 'Snooze'.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
4 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,621 reviews
The Aqua Hotel
#10 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#16 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victoria Park
The Victoria Park Hotel
The Victoria Park Hotel
#3 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdal...
#6 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#13 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to snooze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about snooze

Property: snooze
Address: 205 N Fort Lauderdale Beach Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4311 (Formerly Ocean Holiday Motel Resort)
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#3 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#8 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#9 Best Value Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#21 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — snooze 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Snooze is a modern take on the essentials needed for your home away from home. We believe traveling in style should be affordable without any hidden costs - just pay your room rate plus tax and that's it! We offer a clean, comfortable and modern room, plus add free parking, wifi, beach towels, beach chairs and umbrellas. Keep in mind we offer the essentials so...No pool, no 24 hr service, no phones, no spa, no bell boy, no valet and no chocolates on your pillows. Why spend the extra money on extras you don't need? We are the last oceanfront Ft. Lauderdale hotel left with less than 20 rooms. There are plenty of "big box" branded hotels out there and we are proud we are not one of them. Snooze is located directly accross the street from Fort Lauderdale Beach next to the Westin and Ritz Carlton hotels. Direct Ocean View, Kitchenette and Hotel Rooms are available at the property. The airport (7 miles), cruise terminal (5 miles) and convention center (5 miles) are just minutes away. Free Wi-Fi and beach chairs and towels. Free parking as long as it is not an over-sized vehicle. Our check-in age is 25 and older. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your snooze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Holiday Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing