We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nestled amongst bigger names and taller buildings...”
Review of snooze

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
snooze
Ranked #4 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, BC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nestled amongst bigger names and taller buildings...”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

...the Ocean Holiday Motel sits unassumingly on the beachfront. It's a nice little spot -- it's modest, clean, and in a great location. It's worth the roughly seventy dollars they charge a night. We spent a night here while on a brief layover in Fort Lauderdale, and found it to be an excellent home base. Location-wise, it was about a ten minute cab ride from the airport, there were lots of restaurants to choose from within walking distance, and, to belabour the point, the beach is right across the street. What's not to like? As for the hotel itself, the Ocean Holiday is a strictly no frills operation, but the rooms are very well-kept, wifi is free, and there is a terrace overlooking the ocean that is available for all guests. Furthermore, Ben, who, I think, owns the joint, is very helpful and courteous. Check-in isn't until 3, technically, but if you arrive early, they will allow you to drop off your bags, and will try to make your room available as soon as possible. As a result, we were able to check in by 1:30pm! Overall, if we ever were to find ourselves in Fort Lauderdale again, we would definitely come back to the Ocean Holiday Motel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CSKCMountPleasant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    160
    30
    9
    4
See reviews for
121
350
32
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
345 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

This is a small, older hotel which literally sits in the shadow of newer hotels which are at least three times it’s height. Pluses are it’s location, easy access to the beach across the street, free parking for guests, and the price, which was considerably lower than most of Fort Lauderdale’s other beachfront lodging options. My wife did not like this place at all because it seemed very dated and beat up and in need of massive updates, which I understand the owner is in the process of making, although we got an unimproved room. In fact, the desk clerk told us the hotel would be closed for two weeks later this year for remodeling, so hopefully that will make a big difference. The elevator wasn’t working when we first arrived (although it was working again within an hour), but when we did use it, we noticed the elevator inspection certificate in the elevator expired in August 2012 (we visited in mid-April 2013). If you need any groceries or beach-related items while you’re staying here, there’s a 24 hour CVS (sans pharmacy) about two blocks to the south, just past the Ritz Carlton.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dmarkwind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob205, Owner at snooze, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our motel. We appreciate your honesty about our motel and value your comments. We endeavor to provide great value for money in comparison to every other motel/hotel you find on the beach. In fact, we are the most affordable beachfront motel closest to Las Olas Blvd (the center of all the action on Ft. Lauderdale Beach). The Westin right next door is charging $189 for tonight (4/27), plus $28 for overnight parking plus another $10 for internet in the room. We are not the Westin or the Ritz, but we have the same location and are charging $78 tonight for a king size hotel room.

The elevator is in the process of receiving a full renovation starting May 6 as is the entire motel. All the furniture in the hotel is also being replaced in the next week. In the meantime, guests can enjoy a very affordable, clean and safe stay with us with parking, wifi, beach towels and chairs all included in the price.

Kind regards,
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

This small hotel is across from the beach and close to some shops and restaurants. The rooms are large and the views of the water are good. There is space for a small kitchen and eating. There is a nice deck area. The front deak is helpful. You could store luggage if needed. It is an excellent value for the cost.

Room Tip: you have to ask if you want ocean view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank connie z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, OR
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

If you want a friendly, clean, comfortable place to sleep that's right across the street from the beach, within easy walking distance of all the nifty touristy things in North Ft. Lauderdale, and don't expect chocolates on your pillow every night, Ocean Holiday Motel is the place for you!

The building is quite old (might have been built in the 50's?) and it appears that previous owners did little to upgrade or even care for it. HOWEVER, it's very obvious that Bob (the present owner) is putting a lot of effort into improvements. Evidence of "work in progress" was everywhere...painting, new doors, up-graded AC units, recent tile work...the list goes on. Our room was quite small but clean and comfy, with fridge, wi-fi, flat-screen TV ( a second chair would have been nice...even a compact,, folding chair). As work continues, I've no reason to believe that our "4's" will soon deserve "5's".
Even though this was our first visit, Bob and his 2 staff members (Yep, it's a small, family-run establishment) treated us as if we were old family friends who'd accepted a personal invitation to spend a couple of nights in their home.

If you want resort type accommodations, there are dozens within a couple of blocks...all of them boasting "resort-type prices". And,if ya want "fine dining", right next door is a restaurant where a nice meal for two (with appetizers, wine and dessert) will cost more than a night at Ocean Holiday Motel.
Thank You to Bob & Staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kennuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed here for one night Pre and Post cruise; both days we checked in very early and they already had a room ready for us! This place is located right across from the beach, on the main strip and is in a great spot. There are plenty of great places too grab a bite to eat, drink, or shop. We were down for spring break and the area was very active and had a fun vibe flowing! The rooms are newly remolded and I thought they looked great for the price we paid. The staff was great and very friendly. I would highly recommend this place if your not to picky and just need a nice clean room to stay in! We will be back next year for another pre and post cruise stay!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
153 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Although we were well satisfied with this Room, and the view is spectacular from the front Ocean View rooms (we had 301) we could only get it for the first few nights of our stay and it was more than the reviews led us to expect. Having said that we paid for the view and rather than stay (without the view at almost the same price) moved to a less expensive place after the novelty wore off, which worked out fine!

The staff were helpful and understanding when we checked out a day early, as well. I would definately go back here. The Casablanca restaurant next door is excellent but expensive!

Room Tip: Not there is no pool so that is a definate negative, here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryReg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick
Level Contributor
113 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Booked this motel through an on-line search engine after reading reviews on Trip Advisor. Believe the reviews - it is a great little motel in a perfect location with nice owners/staff. While it is certainly not 5* in terms of amenities, it is well worth the price you pay and we would happily stay here again in the future. Free parking was great. Directly across the street from the beach. Lots of shops, bars and restos nearby. Clean and tidy. Felt very safe. We saved well over $100 per night by comparison to the best available prices at nearby 3* and 4* hotel chains.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FBP60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,752 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#16 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,652 reviews
The Aqua Hotel
#11 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victoria Park
The Victoria Park Hotel
The Victoria Park Hotel
#3 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
801 reviews
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#15 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,952 reviews
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdal...
#6 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to snooze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about snooze

Property: snooze
Address: 205 N Fort Lauderdale Beach Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4311 (Formerly Ocean Holiday Motel Resort)
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#3 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#8 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#21 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — snooze 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Snooze is a modern take on the essentials needed for your home away from home. We believe traveling in style should be affordable without any hidden costs - just pay your room rate plus tax and that's it! We offer a clean, comfortable and modern room, plus add free parking, wifi, beach towels, beach chairs and umbrellas. Keep in mind we offer the essentials so...No pool, no 24 hr service, no phones, no spa, no bell boy, no valet and no chocolates on your pillows. Why spend the extra money on extras you don't need? We are the last oceanfront Ft. Lauderdale hotel left with less than 20 rooms. There are plenty of "big box" branded hotels out there and we are proud we are not one of them. Snooze is located directly accross the street from Fort Lauderdale Beach next to the Westin and Ritz Carlton hotels. Direct Ocean View, Kitchenette and Hotel Rooms are available at the property. The airport (7 miles), cruise terminal (5 miles) and convention center (5 miles) are just minutes away. Free Wi-Fi and beach chairs and towels. Free parking as long as it is not an over-sized vehicle. Our check-in age is 25 and older. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your snooze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Holiday Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing