We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent find in Lauderdale”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of El Tamarindo Cafe

El Tamarindo Cafe
Ranked #187 of 1,324 Restaurants in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Latin, Spanish, Central American, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Brick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
104 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent find in Lauderdale”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

This Salvadoran restaurant remains one of my faves in the FLL area. It's near the airport, and not in a touristy area. The food is consistently good. We had chicken, pork, and tilapia. All 3 raved about the food. The prices are amazing and they great drink specials ( e.g. mojitos and margaritas for $5). The servers are very friendly and the restaurant does a great business between locals and visitors.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drtravel47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    60
    20
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Never disappoints”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Another a great meal. This place never disappoints from the service to the food. I had the steak with shrimp, cooked perfectly and very tasty. Also way more then I could eat. Don't listen to the negative reviews I am a business traveler and eat out over 400 times a year. This is not gourmet but is a great meal every time!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sztrdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
76 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“OK restaurant, but no way it's #20 in Ft. Lauderdale”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

I have had a good deal of success using Trip Advisor's numerical rankings for restaurants and hotels. This one is way off. Don't get me wrong - restaurant was OK. Pleasant service, non-descript decor, reasonably priced, meal was adequate (my steak was extremely tough, but flavorful). However, there is no chance that even on its best day, this is the 20th best restaurant in Ft. Lauderdale. We ate at several other restaurants ranked much lower on Tripadvisor that were clearly better (both in terms of ambiance and quality of food/service). I realize that Tripadvisor rankings may be skewed based upon popularity of restaurant and number of patrons willing to review. However, I would expect something in top 20 to have some "wow" factor, and this restaurant offered nothing (including the coconut flan, which other reviewers have described almost as "to-die-for"). Again, not giving the restaurant a poor review, but can't honestly say I'd give it a great one either.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jcav08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
75 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great fajitas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

I have been to this place a few times it has a mixture of Mexican, Cuban, and other Latin cuisine.
When you sit down they bring you some toasted bread and a bowl of Chimichurri sauce which is fantastic last time I had it this good is when I was in Buenos Aires Argentina.

We had the chicken and steak combo fajitas we totally enjoyed it. Although the meat and chicken is marinated and seasoned a little differently here it totally works and will order it again next time.

Service is fast, friendly, and good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hstergo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“excellent food for a fair price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

I have been eating at El tamarindos for the past 5 years and have never had a bad meal. their skirt steak is to die for the meat is tender and perfectly cooked the pork tenderlion is delicious and you can't go wrong with their burrito the salad dressing is sweet and deliciousI would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for a nice Argentina meal and a nice atmosphere with good staff.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alice8231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Tamarindo Cafe also viewed

Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 

Been to El Tamarindo Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing