We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“No frills, but clean and a good price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Summerland Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Summerland Suites
Ranked #56 of 127 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reno
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“No frills, but clean and a good price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Hi guys -- We stayed at Birch Patio, one of their sister properties, earlier in our trip. So on the way back through we called to make rezzies there, but they didn't have anything available. That's how we ended up at Summerland Suites.

I much prefer Summerland.

Our room was spacious. Sparsely furnished but adequate for our needs. As with the Birch Patio, the pillows are flat and the air con is sort of noisy.

The entire experience makes you feel like you are visiting a relative with mismatched furniture -- everything is super clean and you feel at home.

I love that when you stay at Summerland, Birch Patio, or their other sister hotel (can't remember the name right now) you have access to all 3 pools. But it's so close to the ocean (a mere 2 blocks) that you might just want to hop over to the beach.

Special shout out to Angela. She is AMAZING and really and truly made our stay special. Thanks, Angela! :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GroovingOnTheBliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    56
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
39
82
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Best, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Apartment 305 (left of the parasol): spacious living room with (separate) nice bedroom, little bathroom and complete equipped kitchen. There was (luckily) a tiled floor (unlike Americans we do not like carpet) that like the rest of the apartment and the outside were cleaned in tip-top condition. There was Wi-Fi, we had 2 TV's, a nice sitting area (couch and armchair), an a/c in the living room and one in the bedroom and the pool was clean and warm. And the hostess and her staff were very friendly – quite important too! There are always of course a few minus points, like in this case the kitchen unit that was repainted and the rust was coming through the new layer of paint. That was not so hygienic. And we did not like the ugly synthetic couch and chair covers in an indefinable color who could not be fastened properly, but they could be cleaned easily of course (...). The capacity of the hot water boiler was only just enough. But that are only insignificant details. Most important for us was the fact that the apartment was spacious and clean and that the beach was very close. And we could park the (rental) car without charge in front of the door – when you want to see more of (the south of) Florida you need that car, because distances are huge here. In short, this stay is for us repeatable!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edith-Zaicsek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Summerland Suites was the only hotel I could find in Ft. Lauderdale that met all of my requirements. Those being: A suite with at least one bedroom and a separate sitting/TV room, a kitchen with fridge and stove, able to rent for a short 3 night stay, an easy walk to the beach (2 blocks) and access to nightlife (about a mile walk to Las Olas Blvd). Lastly, reasonable price.

There are lots of hotel options in Ft. Lauderdale that met some of my requirements, but few that meet all. For example there are lots of condos for rent that had private bedrooms and a kitchen, but they need you to rent for a full week. Also, there are lots of standard hotels with good beach and nightlife access, but few suites. And there are are other hotels offering suites that met my requirements, but not for $120/night + tax.

The Summerland Suites was well landscaped, but the building has an older "motel" feel to it. While the walk to the nightlife is only a mile, it does get a little exhausting after a while and although taxis are plentiful, the fares do start to add up. It would be better if it was located closer to Las Olas. That said, the outdated finishes and the farther distance are probably why it rents for such a reasonable price.

The front desk attendant was very helpful and friendly. One morning the maintenance crew was running a saw at 10 A.M. which woke us up. I would have preferred they waited until later in the day to do that, but it was only one morning out of three. Another kind of odd thing was there were a lot of elderly people at our hotel. For such a lively area, it surprised me to see so many "old folks." We are 20-30's so I felt like we kind of stuck out, but it wasn't really a huge deal as we were mostly at the beach or out partying on Las Olas.

Overall this was a good stay and i am glad I selected Summerland Suites.

Room Tip: No problems with suite 302.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank evilmosquito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trieste, Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed there for two nights during the Boat Show - this is maybe why the room was overpriced for what it offered. The studio was wide enough, but ugly enough - it looked like an hospital, few old furniture scattered around the place with no taste at all, a place without any atmosphere.
The beds were comfortable, but the bedroom windows could not be closed properly and seemed to collapse on the bed with the wind (and we experienced hurricane Sally there...quite scary).
Two window air con units, both sooo noisy - earplugs needed!
Basic bathroom, fresh towels but just basic toiletries provided.
Though, everything was very clean, and the management was nice and friendly; another good side was the free parking available at all time, around the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BiBi493
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stayed here for one night before flying out of Miami at the end of our trip.
Quite basic but that is not a complaint as it was only $65 for a night I think we paid,
Everything was clean and tidy from the cups in the cupboard to the pool. Towels and bathroom immaculate.
Nice little BBQ area too which we didn't use but would of if we were there for longer.
Short 5 minute walk to the beach front where all the cafes and restaurants are and a short 5 minute drive to Las Orlas Street.
The lady when we booked in was so lovely and helpful and allowed us to check out at our pleasure. She also recommended a beautiful restaurant called Casablanca where we had a wonderful meal to round off our fab holiday.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gen25_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 14 days at the Summerland Suites. It was very tight and clean. Angela the hostess is very nice and helpful. If you need advise where to go for dinner or what to do she helps you and gives you coupons so you will get a discount. The rooms are big,clean also a little kitchen and every day you will get new towels. The day we left we could stay
longer in our rooms for free(because of our flight late at the evening). We had a great experience and we will definitely recommend this hotel to our friend and family. Great prize for what you get!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NLCarmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

When looking at budget hotels cleanliness is always top of mind and in this regard Summerland Suites cannot be faulted. We stayed in a 1 bedroom studio which gave us loads of space. It's super close to the beach and there's free parking for your car. It's nothing flash but neither is the price, it's a great budget option close to the action and very clean.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank declasse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Soleado Hotel
Soleado Hotel
#42 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Central Beach
Nobleton Hotel
Nobleton Hotel
#30 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Central Beach
Cocobelle Resort
Cocobelle Resort
#72 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,554 reviews
Central Beach
Seville Hotel & Apartments
Seville Hotel & Apartments
#49 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Royal Palms Resort & Spa
#52 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summerland Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summerland Suites

Property: Summerland Suites
Address: 700 Orton Ave, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4079
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#40 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#42 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Summerland Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Summerland Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summerland Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing