We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Very nice hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Summerland Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Summerland Suites
Ranked #58 of 134 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 14 days at the Summerland Suites. It was very tight and clean. Angela the hostess is very nice and helpful. If you need advise where to go for dinner or what to do she helps you and gives you coupons so you will get a discount. The rooms are big,clean also a little kitchen and every day you will get new towels. The day we left we could stay
longer in our rooms for free(because of our flight late at the evening). We had a great experience and we will definitely recommend this hotel to our friend and family. Great prize for what you get!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NLCarmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    54
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
37
80
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

When looking at budget hotels cleanliness is always top of mind and in this regard Summerland Suites cannot be faulted. We stayed in a 1 bedroom studio which gave us loads of space. It's super close to the beach and there's free parking for your car. It's nothing flash but neither is the price, it's a great budget option close to the action and very clean.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank declasse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

Very friendly and helpfull people at the frontdesk/office. The will advise you what to visit in FL. The rooms are quite big and clean. Housekeeping will clean the floor, change towels and change your bed every day (exept for sunday) The beach boulevard is very close to the complex. In my opion one of the best (budget) location in Ft. Lauderdale. Located in a quite neighbourhood, no passing/honking cars. The only downside is the very old interior. You can clearly see that everything is painted over with white paint to make it look "fresh". Almost all windows can be opened and are cleared from insects with insectscreening for the windows. 2 airco units for bedroom and living.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ernst W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn,NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

Pros:

1. Close to the beach - 1.5 blocks away
2. 1 bedroom suits are fairly spacious
3. Fully equipped kitchen with pots / pans / plates / etc...
4. Clean - rooms are cleaned well and towels always fresh
5. BBQ Grills on the property so you can do some grilling.
6. Beach chairs available to borrow
7. Price - hotel was fairly priced
8. 10 minute walk to the nightlife "action" - but far enough so you can relax
9. Publix grocery store is about 1 mile a way -


Cons:
1. Poorly decorated
2. A little outdated
3. Pool a little small

We did all of our grocery shopping the first day at Publix - and did all of our cooking at the suite
Saved a lot of money on eating out.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bkvlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

The first thing that struck us was the size of the suites which are bigger than you'd expect at that price bracket with a separate bedroom, bathroom, lounge and kitchenette. The front desk lady was excellent to deal with, very efficient yet welcoming and knowledgeable.

The air con worked well despite the oppressive heat and humidity.

The Summerland Suites are a short walk of 2-3 blocks down to the beach and is a short drive North of where all the actual Fort Lauderdale action is. However, the beach up this end is really beautiful and didn't feel overly busy at any time.

The pool is a decent size although we didn't use it.

Overall I'd stay here again for the value and size of the rooms although detracting factors are the lack of homeliness due to the white tiled floors throughout the suite.

Room Tip: Don't go to the nearby outdoor restaurant we were recommended by front desk. Its not very good a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 7TroopCutCopyPaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehovot, Israel
Level Contributor
169 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

We stayed here for two nights. The suites were very basic, seemingly decorated in the 1980's by someone with no taste. However, they are in an excellent location near the beach, The rooms were very ckean, with good lighting. There was a king-sized bed and a single. There were three closets. The bathroom had good towels and a good shower, but no toiletries were provided. I was annoyed that local and toll-free calls made from the room were 50 cents each. The receptionist in the tiny office was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms offer a bit more privacy, though you need to carry your luggage up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank coffeemavenswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyneside England
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2011

we stayed here for 5 nights, whilst visiting Florida. The hotel was really clean and comfortable, not luxurious, but really good value for money. Our room was facing the pool on the ground floor and was basic, but had everything you could need on a self catering holiday. There was a large cooker, microwave, fridge, in a compact kitchen area. The living area was airy, bright and comfortable. The bedroom was seperate, with ensuite bathroom, again basic but a lovely comfy bed nice and clean and bright.

Ok this is not 4 star luxury, but if you are on a tight budget and want really clean place to stay in a great location for all the attractions, this is the place to stay.

Angela on front desk was really helpful and friendly as were the ground staff. There is a laudry on site to take care of your dirty clothes and reasonable too so you can pop in a washload and sunbathe at the same time.

The Galleria shopping mall is in walking distance as is the beach and all the bars and restaurants along the prom.

Fort Lauderdale is a great place to visit and the Summerland Suites a great choice.

Room Tip: hotel is in quiet cul de sac so no noise, except for some inconsiderate guests early by the pool. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wholelottaworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Soleado Hotel
Soleado Hotel
#40 of 134 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Central Beach
Nobleton Hotel
Nobleton Hotel
#33 of 134 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 134 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Cocobelle Resort
Cocobelle Resort
#70 of 134 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Central Beach
Seville Hotel & Apartments
Seville Hotel & Apartments
#49 of 134 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Winterset Hotel
#71 of 134 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summerland Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summerland Suites

Property: Summerland Suites
Address: 700 Orton Ave, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4079
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#40 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#42 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Summerland Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Summerland Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summerland Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing