We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful oceanfront, peaceful and friendly place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sun Tower Hotel & Suites on the beach
Certificate of Excellence
miles1996
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful oceanfront, peaceful and friendly place to stay!”
Reviewed December 16, 2009

Wow! is all I can say about the ocean views, steps from the waters edge. The staff were all helpful and wonderful and we enjoyed the laid back setting. It was an excellent value for our extended weekend getaway for my birthday. Quiet and relaxing and we received 1st class treatment. We met one of the partners of the hotel who was a great person also. We will be back!!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miles1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    171
    36
    19
    8
See reviews for
206
281
20
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2009

We were very pleased with the Sun Tower. My husband and I spent a weekend there with my 95 year old father in law. We got a suite and adjoining room, so that we could have breakfast in the room each morning.

The rooms were very clean. The hotel was renovated one year ago, and the appointments are not fancy but well selected. We had a king bed with a dressing room and bathroom attached was a living room with sofa, and loveseat and the small adjoining kitchen had a microwave, and coffee maker.

The balcony had room for two chairs. The beach is so narrow that you felt like you were on the water when on the balcony.

The real downside was the lack of wifi or Internet access in the rooms. We had to take the laptop down to the pool to access the Internet. That was a pain. They are working to fix this problem, but I don't know when that will happen. There are few amenities at this hotel, but that was not an issue for us. One thing I did like was the availability of beach towels in the rooms and chaise lounges on the beach and at the pool. All the employees were very nice and polite.

I would recommend this hotel, and I would stay there again if they had wifi.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank friendofmitzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
Reviewed September 21, 2009

100% renewed!! The suite is confortable, ocean view, beach services, clean and friendly attentition!
Just the parking is samller than the number of suites, because this you need use the public parking in front (U$1/h - 8AM~11PM).

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zalcman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2009

This hotel has new owners and they are working very hard to make this one of the finest boutique hotel on Ft Lauderdale Beach. The hotel itself is located directly on the sand of Ft. Lauderdale Beach, just south of the Galt Ocean Mile. Our room had the finest ocean view of any hotel room I have ever stayed in (and I travel a lot). The hotel has a nice pool with tables and chairs and chaise lounges, a nice beach front deck with a small restaurant, rocking chairs, hammocks, and free beach umbrellas and chaise lounges in the sand. they also have guest laundry, and FREE parking. We had an ocean view 1 bedroom suite with kitchenette for $128 per night (a bargain). There is a shortage of parking at this hotel, however staff told us to call them if we ever couldn't find a parking space and they would take care of us. If you arrive after midnight, park on the meter and leave your keys in the office drop box and they will feed the meter in the morning until they can find a space and move your car. As I said the owners are going out of there way to make this a great hotel. Room has been completely renovated, and is absolutely beautiful, and spotless clean. They have great beds, but told us at check out they were getting all new ones! Wow!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sun-in-the-city
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, MD
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2009

We booked the Sun Tower Motel on Expedia after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor. All the current reviews were complimentary stating the motel had been renovated and it sits right on the beach. Many of the hotels including the very upscale resorts are located one street over from the beach.
When we arrived late afternoon Sunday a very courteous man met us at the counter and quickly checked us in. When booking the hotel I had requested a room on the beach on one of the higher floors. I inquired before accepting the keys if we were in fact on a higher floor. Not only had they booked us on higher floor they had put us in a suite on the highest floor. The room was lovely with a small but adequate balcony overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. The room was very well decorated with a small kitchenette and a nice size bathroom. It had a sitting area on the ocean side with flat screen tv and comfortable furniture. A wall with a large window decorated with large wooden shutters divided the stting area from the nicely decorated bedroom.
We met the staff the next morning when we went down for breakfast after watching the sunrise with coffee from our deck. The staff is very excited and willing to discuss their plans for the motel. The new restaurant is still in the works, the current food service set-up is primitive but adequate. We were pleased to see the discussions followed up with the work crews showing up early to continue the renovations. It proved the plans for the motel were the reality.
The hotel has a lot of potential and you can see they are working to improve service and the accomodations. There are still some minor details that need completion but with the staff determined to achieve their goals I believe the hotel will become a 4 star motel. The location on the beach is very quiet. It does have a public access walk way right next to the motel and several people used the access to come to the beach and set up for the day.
The location is some what remote you will not be able to walk to a restaurant or bar for dinner. We tried and after several blocks turned around and jumped in our car to find a nice restaurant for dinner.
My husband and I highly recommend the Sun Tower Motel. It is a small friendly organization with a young staff wanting to make it a big success. We believe they will achieve their goals.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G_L_from_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2009

The rooms here are spacious and well equipped. The views are just awesome.
Most of the staff are very pleasant and eager to please although we did find one particular front desk person to be kinda rude at times. He kept making such a big deal about the pool towels, almost like he expected us to steal them or something........not something we're likely to do. Anyway, one person let the team down but overall the service was good.
They offer breakfast and lunch from a little cafe style place right on the beachfront side of the hotel which was very reasonably priced and they cook it right there in front of you, fresh. The guy working here went out of his way to take care of us.
The hotel is obviuosly older but they have done a pretty good job at renovating and creating a more modern feel. However, they appear to have some plumbing problems that need to be addressed. The toilet kept running all night and the bath took forever to drain which can be quite gross when you don't have time to wait and must wade throught the last persons' dirty water to shower. YUK
Anyway, overall and great experience. We had no problems with parking and it really was free. Internet only works on the first floor, so if that's important to you be sure to ask ahead for a 1st floor room.
The price is right and the star rating is right......oh, one more thing, if you like being in a spot where there are lots of restaurants, shops or bars within walking distance this is not it. It is just a short drive from those kinda places though. I'd recommend going down south a little ways along the A1A for beach front restaurants etc........I wish someone had told us that the first 2 nights.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicaliw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisville, Ky
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2009

We got a good deal on orbitz [ $70} a night so we ended up here. Its tucked away from the crowds, which was perfect for us.
The roon was clean, nicely decrorated, the bed was comfy, and it was like 20 steps from our balcony to the waters edge. Free chairs and unbrellas. There was a guy selling lunch on the back porch area that was good and was very reasonable priced , like $7 bucks for a buger and fries, $2 for a coke. He closed at 3pm.
We seen a lot a familys here. Not a party place, but for a family or a couple seeking a little relaxation in the sun, its perfect.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brandys0524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#14 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,682 reviews
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#18 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,970 reviews
Ocean Manor Resort Hotel
#21 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,777 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#22 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,682 reviews
Pelican Grand Beach Resort, A No...
#9 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Tower Hotel & Suites on the beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Tower Hotel & Suites on the beach

Property: Sun Tower Hotel & Suites on the beach
Address: 2030 N Ocean Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33305-3727
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sun Tower Hotel & Suites on the beach 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fort Lauderdale's Premiere boutique style hotel, located DIRECTLY on 350 ft of private beach, offers 23 NEWLY RENOVATED oceanfront suites and standard accommodations with private balconies. Enjoy our Sandbar Grille located on our expanded oceanfront terrace or relax by our heated pool. Lounge chairs & umbrella's are provided along with complimentary use of kayaks and paddleboards. Self parking on property is available for no additional cost. There is nothing between you and beach when you stay at Sun Tower Hotel & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sun Tower Hotel & Suites on the beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Tower Hotel And Suites On The Beach
Sun Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Sun Motel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing