We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sun Tower Hotel & Suites
Certificate of Excellence
Hollywood, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful location and staff”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Simply wonderful small hotel and fabulous staff. My husband and I with 3 young kids ages 9, 6 and 2 years old spent the weekend in a suite with a magnificent view of the ocean! At the front desk Chris was most helpful throughout our stay and made a difference in our staying and being happy customers. Thank you Chris! Much cozier than big hotel chains. Right on the beach! Free parking. Quaint restaurant with great service from Mike! Kids had fun between the ocean and pool. Drawback for us was no Disney channel, but we got it on the iPod! Just what we needed for our stay-cation!! I would go back again!

Room Tip: First floor suites looked bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    175
    37
    19
    8
See reviews for
213
286
21
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed here and we absolutely loved it. Chris, the night front desk is amazing. He helped us out big time and was so friendly. We met so many of the staff and knew them on a first name basis, which you will never find at a ritzy/flashy hotel. The rooms are spacious and bc there are only 26, every room is ocean view. Perks: the beach is SUPER close to the property, the employees are super laid back, the food is delicious and the beach chairs, towels and umbrellas are all free. We had some friends staying at the Sheraton just 3 miles away and they had to pay $20 for loungers and $40 for umbrellas!
The remodel is great, the place is super clean inside and out and we just loved our experience there. Great job Sun Tower, keep it up.

Room Tip: Request a suite for a little "extra" space, but all of the rooms are spacious and have bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brandy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We just returned from our second stay at Sun Towers and recommend it highly. It's right on the beach, has a super friendly staff, and good price (that includes free parking and beach umbrella, lounge chairs and towels; $5/day internet).

We were in an ocean-front suite with great views - 3rd floor (with small balcony over the restaurant - no noise issues) and enjoyed the extra space and kitchenette - plenty of dishes, microwave, mid-size refrigerator, and coffee-maker (basket filter style and we brought our own to supplement the couple of packets provided.) It seemed as if the carpet had been upgraded/replaced (compared to a previous visit a years ago in a similar room).

The king bed was comfortable and towels were fine.

Didn't try the café on site, tho it seemed pretty busy.

We are beach lovers (and didn't mind setting up our own umbrella) as early arrivers; staff usually had some set-up by 9 or 9:15. Although we didn't use it, the small pool looked inviting and was used by all ages. (Picked up a national newspaper each morning at the hotel next door.)

The building is a bit dated, but the room we had was in very good shape. We've stayed at high end beach resorts and bargain motels. Sun Towers beach location, friendliness, ocean view from its rooms, & bed can't be beat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ABS40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed July 13, 2013

My wife and I just had a great stay at the Suntower. The staff was great and always helpful. A special shout out to Carlos and Chris at the front desk and Mike and Diane at the restaurant. They were very accommodating when we advised of a change in plans. Long story short we had to interrupt our planned consecutive night stay for a road trip early in the week and they took care of us.

The room was very comfortable and right on the beach. Free parking, happy hour and food, right on the beach, what more do you need? Ice cream and automatic opening doors are available at the hotel next door along with front desk staff in suits if that floats your boat (a bit of an inside joke). Mind you we found that the doors usually opened automatically at the Suntower as well, but by the staff and not a sensor:) A laid back style is what you get at the Suntower with a very accommodating staff and local flair. We learned that much of the staff has worked together in a prior life and seem like family. That experience shines through in daily staff and customer interaction, nothing pretentious, just a beachy, family atmosphere.

Highly recommend the Suntower if you're staying in Ft Lauderdale.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jshuttle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, TX
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

This hotel is a gem. My family and I loved it and can't wait to get back. The rooms are not fancy, so if what you want is bells and whistles then this may not be for you, but they have all you need and they are well kept. The location is SUPERB. On the sand. You walk out of the facility and you have your feet in the sand. All or most of the rooms overlook the ocean, so the views when you wake up are breathtaking. Being a small hotel, there will always be less people than at the Pelican next door so there's more beach room for you.

Pros: Check in was good, no complaints. The pool is small but is always empty, so it is not a problem. Front desk personnel John and Chris are very, very friendly and helpful. AC in the room works great, silent and as cold as you want it. The building construction is solid, there's no noise from outside. Free beach towels, free chaise lounges, free umbrellas, free parking. FT Lauderdale's water is clear and warm, but has seaweeds. The restaurant is on the beach, a bit pricey, but great food and very convenient. Rooms are clean, everything looks impeccable: carpet, walls, baseboards, everything gives you the feeling of clean.

Not so good: The suites are not as big as other users comment, but they are OK. Balconies are small and barely fit chairs. There is no toaster in the room and you have to pay 5 bucks for internet at your room. Bathroom is small and could use some remodeling (public bathrooms on 1st floor have been remodeled); no cup for toothbrushes, no hand towel holder. Parking is limited and they had to be moving cars around first day, but then I always found a spot. Kitchen has little equipment, no burners, mix and match silverware, no desert spoons. One small flat panel TV, one old CRT, with a different brand remote, so it only turns on and off and goes up and down channels, but nothing else. Flat panel's remote didn't work.

Room Tip: Rooms are numbered with a 9 and then the floor number, so if you are on 91 or 92 you get little to n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheMetallian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is a smaller, well-run hotel with everything most would need. The staff is very helpful; all or most rooms are oceanfront; the hotel has ample free parking, and they operate their own grille. Though I didn't eat at the hotel during my stay, a local I met while swimming in the ocean simply raved about their grille. Just go and enjoy it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Warren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

A great piece of Paradise here in Fort Lauderdale.As we walk up to the front desk we are always greeted with warm smiles.the staff at the hotel is truly interested making sure you have a great resort experience.
You walk on to the Beach with with open eyes gazing at the water and the sand and then the lounges and umbrellas awaiting your using them.After you get settled you enjoy a scrumptious Breakfast at the cozy restaraunt overlooking the beach.The fun begins . The rooms are clean And spacious with great ocean views.We find a great place to stay and enjoy total relaxation.And we would Recommend to all our friends.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Markteich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#14 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,731 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#22 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,701 reviews
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#44 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Manor Beach Resort Hotel
#21 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,088 reviews
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#17 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,992 reviews
Pelican Grand Beach Resort, A No...
#9 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Tower Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Tower Hotel & Suites

Property: Sun Tower Hotel & Suites
Address: 2030 N Ocean Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33305-3727
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sun Tower Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fort Lauderdale's Premiere boutique style hotel, located DIRECTLY on 350 ft of private beach, offers 23 NEWLY RENOVATED oceanfront suites and standard accommodations with private balconies. Enjoy our Sandbar Grille located on our expanded oceanfront terrace or relax by our heated pool. Lounge chairs & umbrella's are provided along with complimentary use of kayaks and paddle boards. Self parking on property is available for no additional cost. There is nothing between you and beach when you stay at Sun Tower Hotel & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Sun Tower Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Tower Hotel And Suites On The Beach
Sun Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Sun Motel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing