We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice Location But Unfortunately.......” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sun Tower Hotel & Suites on the beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sun Tower Hotel & Suites on the beach
Certificate of Excellence
Belcamp, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice Location But Unfortunately.......”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Found this property here on tripadvisor and have to say the place was excellent and was directly on the beach. All rooms face the ocean and the views are spectacular. Unfortunately when I stayed, We got stuck on the elevator (6th floor) twice and it was pretty hot. They reset the elevator and again it got stuck so it would not take me up to the 6th floor. Was told that it was because of the storm Sandy that had hit the area before we got there. The elevator was then shut down and patrons weren't happy at all. The problem? I have a special needs daughter and she can't walk up 6 flights of stairs (double flights at that). In spite of this I'd like to "thank" John and Carlos. They were very friendly and went out of their way to make things better and moved us to the 2nd floor into a suite which was nice. There was one employee there that was not friendly and I decided it was best for her and me if I stayed away from her. The parking was unclear. Park here, park there, leave your keys and we will park your car.....The housekeeping staff was very friendly and went above and beyond. The restaurant had good food but was very slow. Overall, it was a great place to stay

Room Tip: Both rooms I was in were great (double queen room/king suite), but if I return, I'd pay the extr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marcia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    153
    35
    18
    7
See reviews for
189
248
19
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Had to stay here at the last minute due to Hurricane Sandy and not being able to get home. I wouldnt have picked any other spot. The location was great, right on the beach, about 20 minutes from the airport, and a 5 minutes drive to sunset blvd where there were tons of restaurants, bars, etc.

We had a room on the 5th floor, and it was great. It was clean, the bed was comfortable, and we had a minifridge. The bathroom was just ok, however learned that we had booked the room right before the bathroom was about to be redone. It was fine though.
The view from our balcony was beautiful, both during the day and at night.
The beach was right there, and they offered towels and lounge chairs which was great.
They also have a little restaurant attached to it, and the food was AMAZING. Everything we ate there was great :) And of course the views were great as well.
There was a pool, but we didnt go in it. I did feel the water though, and it was so warm!

The staff was excellent. Our cable box was messing up a bit, and they guy at the front desk changed it out for us! They were helpful in suggesting things to do around the area, and overall very nice.
We rented a car and drove around the area and checked out a bunch of different bars and sports on the beach. Like I said, the location was great. There is a water taxi that stop right by the hotel as well, in case you don't/cant rent a car. I would suggest renting a car if you are staying there for more than 2 days.

I would definitely stay here again as the price was right, and the location and staff were excellent.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Olivia129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
136 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Location is great, with just a beach separating the hotel and its small dining terrace form the ocean and multiple good bars and restaurants in the close proximity. All the people in the hotel are very friendly and willing to go extra mile to help you with any request. Rooms are large and clean, all facing the ocean. Restaurant is not fancy and has just beer and wine in the bar, but it is quite good for breakfast. Next door property has a good restaurant with full bar and also a great terrace. We’ll most definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yury_tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We loved it here. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. Not five star but staff are friendly and the small issue we had was immediately sorted. All rooms face the sea so you can see the sun rise. Yes the computer in the reception was slow,but I was thankful it was always available to use. Just one of the nicest small hotels I have stayed in. We hope to return next year.

Room Tip: All rooms should be good as they all face the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swainton, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We had a fantastic week in Ft. Lauderdale, FL at the Sun Tower. The staff is so very friendly and accomadating and the housekeeping staff were too. We loved the fact that when we got up in the morning we went on our balcony greeted by the sun and when we went down the elevator we walked directly onto the beach. No road to cross. They have beach lounges, towels and umbrellas for us and if we wanted more they were able to put them up for us. Then the pool area is just a short walk away and very relaxing with lounges and tables too. Just the right size all around as we never felt lost as you do in a mega hotel. They have a restaurant on the patio on the beach serving delicious meals, and the oh so ever needed... cocktails. Did I mention that the parking spot is free ! Everyone else charges. There is even a Broward Bicycle rental stop in front. Easy access to the local bus routes too and taxis. I would like to see free WiFi throughout the hotel, not only at the pool area. Otherwise an excellent choice, a friendly staff and dynamic location. Yes, I would go again.

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean front...can't really go wrong with any room, just depends on what you are l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esther Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakes of the Four Seasons, Indiana, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

What a great accomodating staff. From the desk to the kitchen all the people working hear couldn't be any better. They really seamed to care about your stay. We were there for a small wedding and I can't think a what a better place to have a beach wedding. The small intimate size of the hotel made it perfect to enjoy the company of the other guest of the wedding, No searching you would just run into them. The entire complex is updated and fresh. Pool and beach area are very well kept. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Would definately visit again.
All rooms have a great ocean view. The only reason I did not rate it excellent was of beer and wine only.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavernier, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

Great place for a romantic getaway! All rooms are ocean front. Leave your balcony door open to hear the waves breaking on the beach. Staff was always helpful, attentive & friendly. Great breakfast on the beach. We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#22 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 stars 2,249 reviews
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 stars 3,259 reviews
The Aqua Hotel
#6 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 stars 894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#12 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 stars 1,761 reviews
Ocean Manor Resort Hotel
#24 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 stars 1,657 reviews
Pelican Grand Beach Resort, A No...
#11 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 stars 3,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Tower Hotel & Suites on the beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Tower Hotel & Suites on the beach

Property: Sun Tower Hotel & Suites on the beach
Address: 2030 N Ocean Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33305-3727
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sun Tower Hotel & Suites on the beach 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This newly renovated property located directly on 350 ft of private beach offers 23 oceanfront suites and standard accommodations with private balconies, beachside grille, heated pool, lounge chairs & umbrella's and self complimentary on site parking along with many other fine amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Sun Tower Hotel & Suites on the beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Tower Hotel And Suites On The Beach
Sun Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Sun Motel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing