We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice perfect location for a beach holiday” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sun Tower Hotel & Suites on the beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sun Tower Hotel & Suites on the beach
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A nice perfect location for a beach holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

I have just returned from this hotel. I found it exactly as the description said. It is perfect in everyway for the beach. No roads to cross at all. I stayed in the junior suite which is about 6steps away from the beautiful beach. Everday I got a sun lounger of my choice with umbrella.
The only down side is and this isn't on the hotel, you DO need a car here in FL. If you havent got one you are pretty scupered!! The nearest groocery shop is a good 30mins walk and you have to cross severel wide busy road which I didnt like. The drivers in FL are pretty mad. To go to any restaurants again its a cab as too far to walk. Too far to walk anywhere really and its very hot to walk too far anyway. You have to get cabs everywhere which arent cheap so if you DO stay at this hotel and you dont have a car just be aware that is a little way from anywhere.
The hotel suite was big and roomy. Nice little kitchenette. I didnt see any creepy crawlies although I did notice lots of rentakill little things scattered around various parts of the room. These were obviously working for my room which was ground floor, as I didnt even see so much as an ant.
I can reccomend this hotel The staff are pretty friendly. The bar only sells beers or wines so if you are a gin guzzler like me then you have to go to the Pelican beach resort next door for a gin fix. They do nice bar food at the Sun tower but some of the titles of the dish are a bit strange and confusing. Not that cheap, but then the whole area isn't I found.
There is free internet pc in the reception area which I always had no trouble using.
Yes basically this is a very good hotel but all I can sress IS you DO need a car if you want to get around. Its a long way to come from the UK for a beach holiday but having said that it is an excellant beach with tropical warm waters so not so bad
ENJOY!!!

Room Tip: i think all rooms have ocean view but I would go for a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
Thank 567travelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    167
    36
    18
    7
See reviews for
201
268
20
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
46 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

Stayed there in 2010 as a family. The hotel is perfectly located right on the beach, you do not have to cross the road, as is the case with many nearby hotels. The rooms were dated, but bearable, and it was nice to have an ocean view. Cleanliness was not top notch, but OK overall. The staff was friendly and helpful. The number of parking spots is less than needed, so there is always this chance of not getting one - on the other hand, parking is free, which is not that easy to fild around there. Will probably return there.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kozm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort lauderdale
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

We planned a 4 day "staycation" on Ft. Laud beach.I am in the biz and needed a break. Suntower was perfect. right on the beach, oceanfront suites were roomy and clean. pool was great, hammocks a bonus. The staff were so friendly, amanda ,josh and mary. Christine the GM was so friendly and helpful and do not miss Michael in the restaurant, he goes above and beyond to make sure everyone has a good time.Restaurant is right on the beach and has a great menu..
Parking was never an issue,beach chairs and umbrellas were plentiful and comfortable
we will definately stay again and we live 20 minutes away!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tammy a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muncie, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2011

The staff at SunTower are great. They are very accomandating. The rooms are VERY nice and clean and right on the beach! we've been here two years in a row and they have done many updates. They also have free parking, provide towels for the pool/ beach and beach chairs and umbrellas.
There is also a nice Sandbar Grille to eat at with reasonable prices.
You will love it here!
We"ll be back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2011

Right next to the beach this hotel is the ideal option for a relaxing break. With a view of the ocean sitting on the balcony, there is nothing more to wish for. Rooms are large and clean and the beds are excellent. Only min was the quality of breakfast in the restaurant.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank fcbluppie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

We've stayed at the Sun Tower for our summer vacation for the last 5 years and have always had a good experience. Great staff, large ocean view suites, and fantastic prices. But this year we did not have a good experience. The suite was not as clean as it always has been in the past, and the room needed some maintenance. I can deal with all that, but couldn't deal with the baby cockroaches that we found crawling all over the kitchen when we woke for a midnight snack. I killed about 7 of them, and more got away. I also killed one crawling up the living room wall behind the sofa bed. We had to check out and find a new hotel. The management said they had not had a complaint of roaches in any of their rooms before so maybe this is a new problem that they can get a handle on right away?? There was also a family having some type of party in the room directly below us. They had about 30 people on their patio, which was directly below our balcony. They were not loud or bothersome, but it was not relaxing or peaceful sitting on our balcony with 30 people right under us. Last year the room was in better shape, but we did find a large spider int the room and our A/C was out for an entire day. It's a shame because we love this hotel, and always considered it our home away from home. We also love the management, there and are confident that they will take care of the issues. We'll try it again next year, and report back then.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sun-in-the-city
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Lakes, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

Great location. Friendly staff. Nice rooms. Quaint but roomy with lots to do. Love the bar/restaurant on the patio overlooking the beach. Perfect for groups !

Room Tip: Rooms are beachy, nice, clean, all with ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NancyRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#16 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,524 reviews
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,621 reviews
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#13 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Manor Resort Hotel
#22 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,892 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#24 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,601 reviews
Pelican Grand Beach Resort, A No...
#11 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Tower Hotel & Suites on the beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Tower Hotel & Suites on the beach

Property: Sun Tower Hotel & Suites on the beach
Address: 2030 N Ocean Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33305-3727
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sun Tower Hotel & Suites on the beach 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fort Lauderdale's Premiere boutique style hotel, located DIRECTLY on 350 ft of private beach, offers 23 NEWLY RENOVATED oceanfront suites and standard accommodations with private balconies. Enjoy our Sandbar Grille located on our expanded oceanfront terrace or relax by our heated pool. Lounge chairs & umbrella's are provided along with complimentary use of kayaks and paddleboards. Self parking on property is available for no additional cost. There is nothing between you and beach when you stay at Sun Tower Hotel & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Sun Tower Hotel & Suites on the beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Tower Hotel And Suites On The Beach
Sun Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Sun Motel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing