We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Feelings”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sun Tower Hotel & Suites
Certificate of Excellence
Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Mixed Feelings”
Reviewed July 28, 2011

On one hand this hotel is in a great location. Great pool, good food at the bar, some very nice staff, and comfortable beds. On the other hand, the hotel needs some updating. Balcony so small you can barely move, bad smell in room, you cannot get sun on beach in the afternoon due to location of the tall buildings blocking the sun, rooms not very clean, and parking limited. Price also varies too from night to night?

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OBXLover08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    175
    37
    19
    8
See reviews for
213
285
21
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Now I understand why Sun Tower has such a great trip advisor score! This place was absolutely wonderful! Right on the beach (a private beach, by the way) with beautiful views!

Spend a few extra bucks and get the suite. We had a rental car and stocked up at the grocery store. We only had to eat out once and we saved a ton of money that way. Plus, the extra sitting room/dining area was a great place to relax and put your feet up after a hard day on the beach. (wink, wink)

There are always chairs/umbrellas available and you don't have to get to the beach at 6 am to get them either. The beach was never crowded, and we even got to see the Sea Turtle Patrol digging up a nest right next to the hotel!

The only set-back was there wasn't always someone at the front desk, but we never had to wait that long. Not really much of a set-back I guess.

Parking was great, too. There wasn't much, but we never had problems finding a spot.

You definitely shouldn't miss this place! We'll be back for sure!

Room Tip: Free Wi-fi wasn't available in room, only in the lobby so if that's a concern for you, take...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linnie104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Our room had roaches to begin. We spent about 150.00 on grocery items for a 9 day stay for two. We put everything away and the next morning we saw roaches when we opened the cabinet (about 5). So, we had to put almost everything in the fridge (which was pretty small)
ONE OF THE BIGGER PROBLEMS, WE NEVER HAD A PLACE TO PARK! THEY HAVE A SMALL RESTAURANT AND THE CUSTOMERS OFTEN TOOK THE PARKING, LEAVING NO SPOTS FOR THE HOTEL FOLKS LIKE US. We could double park if available, leaving our keys with the front desk, or we had to pay a meter across the road. :(
Our toilet overflowed, and our sink was stopped up pretty bad. The room wasn't very clean when we arrived.
The room badly needed a paint job. While the staff at the front desk was helpful and kind, the room was very disappointing. It is a very family oriented place, and a smaller hotel, which was nice, but the room was just bad! We didn't complain much, but did let the staff know about our toilet overflowing, and sink stopped up. The toilet did overflow and when I asked the cleaning person to clean the floor she did a horrible job. I had to use very hot water with dish soap (as i had no cleaners during a hotel stay) to clean the floor. Anyway, if you're just looking for a place to stay that has a beautiful view, but don't care about the quality of the room, its good, but if you want a nice room, its not nice.
BTW...we also were told we had cable, and it was listed on our expedia print out, and we only got 12 basic channels, 6 of which were spanish :( Overall, I give it a 2.
I recomment the Pelican Grand or the large hotel behind this place. Its worth a little more for the difference in quality.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amctac2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard Beach, New York
1 review
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Christine; the manager is always around ensuring your stay is going well. The suite overlooking the beach was breathtaking and the suite was very roomy, kitchen was an added bonus, the bathroom was huge as well. Sitting between skyscraper condos and close to all restaurants and shops. Breakfast on the deck was welcoming and service is wonderful.. This place is affordable with charm and a must stay....I highly recommend it cant wait to return next year.

Margery Santoni, Howard Beach, NY

Room Tip: suites is the way to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margery312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

The Sun Tower is one of the best beach hotels we have ever stayed at in the Ft Lauderdale, Miami area. First the hotel is on the beach. After doing a lot of research for hotels in Ft Lauderdale, you will not find many hotels that you do not have to cross A1A to get to the beach. This includes some of the larger or "more luxurious hotels". For this reason alone, we went with the Sun Tower, plus seeing the great reviews was a big help as well.

We had a suite on the third floor and it was very nice. It had been renovated in the last year and the view of the beach was perfect and the room and decor was really nice and added to the whole feel of being in a comfortable beach setting. Getting a suite was definatly worth the extra few bucks. One of the nicest things about the Sun Tower is they do not nickel and dime you for stuff most beach hotels charge you for. It has free parking and free beach chairs with umbrellas. Most hotels in the area charge you $20 a day for parking and $20 for the chairs, which really is a rip off. If you are staying for seven days, like we did, that can get pretty expensive.

The only thing that I can be a little picky about with the Sun Tower is the soft beds. If you have back problems or are used to sleeping on a firm mattress, you may find the beds to be pretty soft. If this is an issue for you, be sure to let the hotel know when you make your reservation so they can make the accommodations to suit your needs before you arrive. They did handle this for us and and we were pleased.

Another great thing about the Sun Tower is the Sand Bar Grill. The food is very good, and not over priced. I have not stayed at many smaller private owned hotels that have a restaurant that the locals come to eat at. This one has a great deal of locals for dinner and I can see why. We ate lunch there most days, and had dinner there several nights as well. Never a bad meal and service was always good. If they had served liquor besides beer and wine, it would be the perfect beachside grill and bar.

If I was to sum up what the best part of this hotel is, I would have to say the staff. This was one of the most accommodating places I have ever stayed. Christine, the General Manager, as well as the rest of her staff make this place a wonderful home away from home. They all work together and you can tell they enjoy their job. I can't wait until our next visit to the Sun Tower. I can see why it rates so hi on trip advisor.

Room Tip: Spend the extra to get a suite, they are really worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatekAtlanta_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandenburg, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Sun Tower Suites two nights the week of June 21st. I book this hotel based on reviews from Trip Advisor and was not disappointed. The room was average but was clean and had refrigerator and microwave. Location was perfect. Right on beach. Pool was beautiful. Chairs, umbrellas and beach towels were provided free of charge. We left Ft Lauderdale and stayed in Key Largo for a few nights then returned back to Ft Lauderdale for 2 nights before catching our flight back home. We decided to stick with the tried and true and go back to Sun Tower. This time we were updated to a suite which was great. We got a free upgrade because of a special they were running but even without the special I would definitely recommend the suite. It was a very spacious and comfortable room. Amanda at front desk and everyone else on the staff were very helpful and friendly. I will defintely stay here again if back in Ft. Lauderdale.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PlumHorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2011

What can i say! Room was super nice, right on the beach, bed was HUGE!!!! pool was nice and warm, but then again, so was the sea! We only stayed 2 nights, but everything was perfect, real real nice hotel!! :)
Stuie

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuie_Nickolls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#14 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,726 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#22 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,696 reviews
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#45 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Manor Beach Resort Hotel
#20 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,084 reviews
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,800 reviews
Pelican Grand Beach Resort, A No...
#9 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Tower Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Tower Hotel & Suites

Property: Sun Tower Hotel & Suites
Address: 2030 N Ocean Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33305-3727
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sun Tower Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fort Lauderdale's Premiere boutique style hotel, located DIRECTLY on 350 ft of private beach, offers 23 NEWLY RENOVATED oceanfront suites and standard accommodations with private balconies. Enjoy our Sandbar Grille located on our expanded oceanfront terrace or relax by our heated pool. Lounge chairs & umbrella's are provided along with complimentary use of kayaks and paddle boards. Self parking on property is available for no additional cost. There is nothing between you and beach when you stay at Sun Tower Hotel & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Sun Tower Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Tower Hotel And Suites On The Beach
Sun Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Sun Motel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing