We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistently great!”
Review of Alcazar Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alcazar Resort
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Consistently great!”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Thanks again to the wonderful staff and owner of The Worthington/Alcazar resorts for another great stay! Your place is my home away from home.
I highly reccomend The Worthington/Alcazar resorts to anyone who desires a consistently clean, friendly, comfortable and welcoming resort. I have been a regular for a number of years and have watched the place do nothing but contantly improve and stay the best! I used to try different resorts in the area and after discovering this place I have no need to try anywhere else!
Shawn Dooley

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    62
    18
    3
    5
See reviews for
2
151
117
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed July 4, 2012

My partner and I spent a week here. This was our first experience at a guesthouse and it was great. The guys were all friendly, the grounds immaculately kept, and the service people were friendly and responsive. I would highly recommend this property as a place to stay in Ft Lauderdale.

Room Tip: All of the rooms were nice. We stayed on the Alcazar side and it was nice. We heard that the Worthin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbange01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Alcazar and Worthington are run by Jim, the wonderful owner, and friendly, supportive, and professional staff. The place is gorgeous, with walls blending pastel colors (orange, pink, white, sun yellow), and an amazing garden giving shade. Lush plants with flowers are just beyond belief. Alcazar has the sunny swimming pool whereas Worthington's has more shade. The two are interconnected and it is fun to go from one to other. Hot tube is a major socializing hub at night even when guys just sit around it and put their feet into it on a summer night. Clothing optional gives man confidence with their physical being. And in many cases, there is that transformation in a few days from "always in my swim suit" to "it is fun swimming naked at night." Alcazar is easy to get to from the Airport. Rooms are spacey, with refrigerators and some with kitchens. Jim has put in new cooling units in most rooms and added windows for circulation if you don't like cooling. The work is done with no disturbance to clients. This resort stands out from those recently bought by a Swedish company and transferred into all white, sterile, robotic places. Alcazar Worthington is fun and safe.

Room Tip: I like first and second floor rooms because they are more intimate with the swimming pols but will s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 28, 2012

My first visit to the Worthington was back in 2001. Over the years I have tried other guesthouses in Ft Lauderdale but I always keep coming back to the Alcazar/Worthington. The facilities are superbly maintained and continually improved such as the recent addition of a fitness room with top of the line work-out equipment. The staff is very friendly and helpful to make your stay enjoyable. The rooms are nicely appointed with quality bedding. The amenities such as a good Wifi signal and HDTVs enhanced the comfort of one's stay. Having the two properties side by side with access between the two allows for more choice of rooms. I do not stay anywhere else but the Worthington/Alcazar when I am in Ft Lauderdale. One area of improvement I would like to see is having more fresh fruit available for breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Just completed an excellent 7-day stay in the Alcazar/Worthington. I loved the well-maintained tropical setting and beautiful plants. The staff is the greatest and very friendly. This was my 6th stay; the other visits were for 2 or 3 days each time. I don't drive, so the location of the guest house was good to get around by walking or the sun trolly. I always meet fun people. I was able to find restaurants within walking distance during the 7 days. Hope to return both for short visits very soon and I plan to make the 7-day stay an annual ritual. Also enjoy the freedom of not having to wear clothes.

Room Tip: I usually stay on the Alcazar side; it seems quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Our first trip to Ft. Lauderdale was relaxing and memorable because of the staff of the Alcazar and Worthington Resorts. Retro south Florida guesthouses two short blocks walk from the amazing beach. The entire resort - pool area, guest room, breakfast area, and seating areas - were immaculately kept. Much cleaner than other resorts where we've stayed in the past. We've added Ft. Lauderdale to our list of places to return and we'll be booking a room at the Alcazar.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulnDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Jordan, Utah
Level Contributor
64 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

The resort is your average old looking hotel in south Florida but everything has been remolded to a very nice tropical look. It does look amazing Always something new going on but very respectful to all the guests. I had a problem with my reservation that was totally my fault and the the person on call drove down on his own time to help me find a place to stay near by.(The front desk closes and a late hour and opens up early)It is by far the best place we have stayed in on the east coast and will go back again . I hope this is helpful to anyone thinking of staying here.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaynbutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,701 reviews
The Aqua Hotel
#10 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#14 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Royal Palms Resort & Spa
#57 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
The Worthington Guest House
#3 of 34 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Central Beach
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Res...
#8 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alcazar Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alcazar Resort

Property: Alcazar Resort
Address: 555 N Birch Rd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4020
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alcazar Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alcazar resort is centrally located to all Gay Fort lauderdale Nightlife. Walk to the popular Sebastian St. Gay Beach. Two blocks from the W Hotel thats has fine dinning and breath taking views from the bars. All rooms at the Alcazar have undergone renovations that started in early 2009. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HotelsClick so you can book your Alcazar Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alcazar Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Alcazar Resort Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing