We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't Confuse the Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tee-Jay Thai Sushi

Tee-Jay Thai Sushi
Ranked #189 of 1,322 Restaurants in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Fort Lauderdale
Level Contributor
160 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Don't Confuse the Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

There are two Tee Jay Thai Sushi locations, and this is the Fort Lauderdale location we visited (http://www.tjthaisushi.com/2u/Tee-Jay_Ft_Lauderdale.html) - Don't confuse with Wilton Manors location. The exterior is in a non-descript shopping center, but the interior is attractive and spacious. Our group had rolls and chirashi - All was fresh and attractively presented. Service was attentive, refilling drinks regularly, and offering service through the meal. We passed up dessert on this visit, as there's a frozen yogurt place right next door. Prices were reasonable. We'll be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank IraBfromCSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    42
    16
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Love it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

The ambiance is priceless! Cool lighting and aquariums, spacious set-up, and their Pad Thai is Amazing! The shrimp tempura sushi (minus the salmon) is really delicious too and their iced green tea is a refreshing touch.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TMariMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A fun, lively Thai restaurant in the heart of Wilton Manors”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Last night I dined in this restaurant for the 3rd time in as many weeks. All three of the meals were delicious. The restaurant is well designed, modern with good lighting and comfortable seating. The service, beginning with the greeting upon entering and continuing with the servers was welcoming, and professional. On each of the three visits I had a different server each time. All three were very good at taking care of the table. This is quickly becoming one of my favorite restaurants!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rafe J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
673 reviews
414 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“stylish place with excellent Thai food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

This was our first visit - we were very pleasantly surprised. Located in a strip-mall type shopping center, I was expecting a non-descript Thai place. The decor is a WOW: slick, hip, stylish and imaginative. Loved it. The food was excellent: large portions of expertly prepared Thai food. Our waiter was great: polite, pleasant and efficient. The owner made the rounds to check to see if guests were being taken care of - that is nice to see. They also have a Sushi chef, though we did not go that route. Prices are on the upper lever but not out of step with a restaurant of this caliber. They also have a nice, fairly-priced wine list. We will definitely return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 493Ron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“A good meal let down by absent service.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

A great restaurant with a varied menu with some excellent sounding dishes but unfortunately the service was hard to come by.

The Tee-Jay Roll was exceptional, wow, really enjoyed that. In fact, if it hadn't been portioned evenly there would have been chopsticks at dawn fighting over the last one!

Main courses were a bit of a disappointment. The Special Fried Rice wasn't special at all and lacked any flavour, boring.

What really let this visit down was that we were constantly looking for service from our waiter who kept on vanishing. The restaurant wasn't busy so not sure what that was all about.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank david p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tee-Jay Thai Sushi also viewed

Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 

Been to Tee-Jay Thai Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing