We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale
Ranked #7 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“wonderful hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2009

Ritz Carlton - we had a wonderful junior suite, 2 balconies, flat panels, hotel staff are over the top, never missed a beat with this place. Pool is wonderful/ gym etc all up to Ritz standards.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rfedc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    918
    301
    105
    51
    27
See reviews for
324
615
50
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
104 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2009

So many flaws for a Hotel chain that boasts service excellence.
1. Waited ten minutes at check in for the valet parking to show up.
2. The phones did not work, including the main digital unit that controls temperature and lights. They fixed the main phone but not the cordless phone.
3. They messed up all the room service orders (three times), forgot items, replaced items without asking, etc.
4. Did not replenish the minibar in three days.
5. No sleepers in the room. Took one hour to deliver them to the room.
6. The first day forgot to make up the room.
7. The pool closed at 4PM instead of the published time of 6PM because "nobody shows up anyways" according to the front desk.
8. Charged me 100 dollars for a late check out (4PM) although the hotel was empty.
Overall looks like this hotel was affected seriously by the recession and is doing serious cost cutting affecting service.
9. The fitness center was unattended the three days I went.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sariano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derry nh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2009

We wanted to go to Ft lauderdale to see what it was like and wanted to taste a little luxury while we were there. We picked the Ritz Carlton based on reviews on Trip Advisor. Our whole trip was a WOW. It is the best hotel we have ever stayed in with the nicest people working to take care of your needs. It is located on the ocean in the heart of the beach area.
We started with hotel arranged airport pick-up to take us to the hotel. We did not want a car on this trip and the private sedan with driver was a treat. The reception at the hotel was friendly and efficient. Although a 5 star hotel the employees are not putting on airs and trying to make you uncomfortable. They all are efficient friendly people. We loved them all. Our room was georgeous with a huge bedroom and a large living room. Our ocean facing deck was as large as the bedroom. The bathroom was all marble and huge as well. We did not want to leave the suite to go anywhere. Everything we wanted was right there. The maid service kept it sparkling clean and neat.
Cero restaurant. Outstanding. Breakfast was excellent with a friendly staff that made it a treat to go there. Dining outside with the ocean across the street and all the activity on the boardwalk was just plain fun. Dinner at Cero is just as good only the evening crowd is out walking the boardwalk and the beachgoers are gone. Food was outstanding and the prices in line with other restaurants in the area. We did not have a negative to report as everything was perfect. The food, the people and the atmosphere.
Kevin was our waiter the first night and the next day was in a white suit working the reception area. He was the nicest most helpful person with a great personality. He is an asset to the hotel. Stephen in the bellman corps was always around to help us figure out the lighting system in the room (it works off the telephone) and any questions we had about the area or the hotel. He could not have been nicer. There were other just as nice that we saw only once and were gone.
We wanted a luxury vacation and we sure got it with the Ft Lauderdale Ritz Carlton.
Water taxi's. Yes. Fun and a great way to get around the city. The captains are very entertaining and friendly and helpful. Water taxi's are a must.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkyderrynh8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2009

We stayed at this hotel as part of a conference for two days and stayed an extra day for leisure afterwards.
Let me get the good points out of the way first: The hotel is a very nice hotel overall, the location is perfect and the lobby and general facilities including the swimming pool and beach front were impeccable.

However, we I have a few points against this hotel, one of them is a major point and the others are more minor observations.
1-We checked in and went up to our room. We noticed that there is a fan in the bathroom above the toilet, this was very loud. We called the front desk (guest services), we asked them if there was a way to turn the fan off but they said no. We later asked our fellow travelers if they had a loud fan in their room but they hadn't even noticed it. So we called guest services again and explained that our fan is much, much louder than others. They again said "We can't do anything about it" and "some rooms are louder than others".
We explained that this is unusually loud but they still did not even offer to come up to check up on it.

Needless to say we didn't sleep well at all that night. The next day we talked about it with the organizers of the meeting and they talked to guest services, they were promised that someone will look into it.
8 hours later no one had done anything about it. It take another phone call and taking to different people before we were offered a room change.

2-Overall, the staff over the phone and on the swimming pool were not that helpful. Not what you expect from such a facility. The front desk, concierge and valet people were nice and helpful all the time.
3-The rooms are not that clean. The carpet looked old. And even after housekeeping had been through the room you could still see that the bathroom floor was untouched.

I have stayed at many other 5 star hotels and this one does not even compare to them. I know other people (in other reviews) have had a better experience but mine was poor, from the issue with the room to the cleanliness of the rooms and some of the staff's attitude.

If I was in Fort Lauderdale again I would definitely not stay here again. I will take my money elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IowaCityHoneymooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
63 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2009

The Ritz Carlton in Fort Lauderdale is a very beautiful hotel in a great location right across from the beach.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomdenverDenverCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2009

The Ritz-Carlton in Fort Lauderdale is a great place for a pre-cruise stay for a couple of nights. The bathroom was enormous, with both a shower and bathtub. The bedroom was beautiful, with a comfortable bed, plenty of lighting, and a large flat-screen tv, with plenty of channels. My room had a balcony with a great view of both the ocean/beach and the waterway. It is on a street with a lot of little (touristy) shops and restauarnts. Right next door is a CVS--convenient for picking up little odds and ends before a trip or things you may have forgotten to pack. The beach is right across the street and is beautiful. I ate a couple of lunches in the hotel restaurant and found both the food and service excellent, so was the room service food (although, pricey). The hotel cost itself was reasonable for a 5-star hotel of this caliber. I plan to stay here again for my next visit.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flagfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2009

Good points; tentative staff on reception, house cleaning very good, pool staff mixed, some very good, some average, doormen, poor! Very spacious hotel, very clean, expensive restaurant, hardly used, on most I may of seen 8 people using it at one time The bar is nice and relaxed, not used much either, you can sit outside but it is situated right next the boulevard so be prepared for the traffic... prices in the bar a little expensive but not too bad. We had problems in our first room, roll-a-way bed not delivered, toile broken, balcony broken, and I had to ask 3 times for them to be fixed, but in the end they couldn't fix them so they moved us. The rooms are very nice and clean with the usual ritz touch. Very airy and bright. Be careful on the river way views as the balcony's are very very noisy from the A/C fan units. The gym is brilliant, very clean, always fresh towels, apples and cold water. The swimming pool is nice, not large an be prepared to battle for the umbrellas, not enough... there is a walk way down to the beach, which is ideal for children, but it is nothing glorious. The location isn't great, it is right next door to a loud bar and "hooters" but you might like that!!??!! It doesn't disturb you but there are only a handful of restaurants in walking distance and not much else to do, so grab a taxi or rent a car.. overall nice clean, great place to go if you just want to swim and have a light bite to eat and drink in the evening. Have been to better Ritz Carlton's.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keegan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#14 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,912 reviews
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#26 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,950 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#17 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdal...
#2 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,661 reviews
Central Beach
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Res...
#8 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale
Address: 1 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4392
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#3 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#8 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#9 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#11 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale 5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale infuses the Gold Coast with casual luxury as the city's first and only AAA Five Diamond hotel. The 24-story, dramatically tiered and glass walled structure has sweeping curves that are reminiscent of a luxury liner. Design elements recall the 1940's, with artwork that includes playful murals inspired by French artist Jean Cocteau and a 13-foot high mural of a seascape inspired by the 1880 painting, "King Neptune and His Horses." The property features 192 guest rooms and suites; a 2,200 square foot Club Lounge, 24,000 square feet of light-filled meeting space; a 29,000 square foot oceanfront sundeck with an infinity pool and private cabanas; destination Spa with an organic and active-botanical treatment menu and a water-view fitness center. Four dining and entertainment options include the new Via Luna Italian grill with seating indoors or al fresco on an oceanfront patio, the dramatic oceanfront Via Luna Bar, a private Wine Room with a 5,000 bottle wine cellar and a seventh floor Poolside Cafe with commanding ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz Carlton Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Ritz Carlton Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Ritz Carlton
St Regis Fort Lauderdale
St Regis Ft Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing