We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very nice hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale
Ranked #9 of 136 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Fishers, Indiana
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Ritz Carlton. We had a two room suite with an intercostal view which was very nice. The pool was on the seventh floor and had a great view of the ocean. That's where we spent most of our time because the beach was very crowded and had no food service. The only negatives were the lack of umbrellas to shade us from the sun and the heat, and the pool staff who I thought were not very friendly with the exception of Roberto and Austin. Overall the hotel was very nice, though the area it was in was very crowded, and if I were back in Fort Lauderdale I'd stay there again.

Room Tip: Ocean view would be the best room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Valdecap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    756
    267
    96
    47
    21
See reviews for
277
520
43
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denmark
Level Contributor
60 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

First of all, I will admit that I am not usually a Ritz Carlton customer, and as such, I'm not sure what exactly my expectations were.

The location and price point (less than 500 dollars, pr. night, pr room), did indicate that it would not be a Four Seasons / Aman style experience. I guess, it's more a very nice Marriott. We had booked thru Amex FHR and received the two rooms booked and the free breakfast amenity.

We arrived late (before midnight). All customized requests such as bedding, extra beds, etc. had largely been ignored, and it took well over an hour before everything was set up as requested. The rooms and views are fine, in my opinion. We had interconnecting sea-view rooms on a high floor. The rooms themselves were surprisingly worn. The floor tiles in the rooms had large gouges in them (in both rooms), and nothing seemed very crisp. However at the price point, it was acceptable.

Food was passable. The breakfast and room-service offerings were on par with a standard 5 star experience, but nothing amazing at all. The restaurant venue on the ground floor was a bit awkward, as outside dining was directly out towards a busy street and quite small - considering the size of the hotel. The restaurant staff were kind and accomodating, however did not seem particularly well trained, and a very easily confused.

The pool bar service was sufficient, but again nothing out of the ordinary. Most staff seemed a bit disengaged - but did complete their different tasks.

Service at points were a bit odd - like if you need to borrow a european power plug converter you need to sign a waiver and stand at the concierge desk for like 10 minutes before they get the paperwork done. Its value is literally 10 dollars - makes no sense. I did see at least one Clefs d'or - so concierge must be competent.

For a nights sleep going in or out of FLL it's perfectly fine. I would not travel to FLL just to go there.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MorganJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
405 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

It doesn’t get better than the Ritz in Ft. Lauderdale! We had a junior suite which was perfect for our family of three as our daughter had her “own room”. We enjoyed an excellent breakfast and the overall experience of the hotel is superior! Our flight departed at 8:40pm and, upon check in, we were offered a late check out at 5pm!!! Parents, you understand how important this is when the normal check out is 11am. We were able to enjoy the beach, the pool and extend our day at this beautiful hotel as a result! I know it’s not always possible, but it is certainly greatly appreciated when it is! We are already reviewing our calendars to see when we are free to return to Ft. Lauderdale and to this beautiful hotel!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank WorldTravelerCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drexel hill,pa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

I've stayed at many Ritz properties as well as Four Seasons , This property has as good as staff as any hotel I've ever stayed at. They went the extra mile no matter how small, Ordered birthday cake for girlfriend and it was tasty and delivered on time. Special Kudo's to Natalie at front desk who went out of her way to make our stay special, also Detlef the concierge and Scott pool bartender all were outstanding. even though we went in slow season outstanding property and highly recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Go ahead and upgrade for Ocean Front don't cheat yourself !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LewisMapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We had such a wonderful time at the Ritz-Carlton in Ft. Lauderdale. We needed a place to stay for one night after a week of cruising with Royal Caribbean. We talked with the concierge and got great advise for a nice dinner. We also did a little shopping before we headed home. Staff was very friendly and would love to stay again when we are in Ft. Lauderdale.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Sharel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We stay at the Fort Lauderdale Ritz Carlton every June and July. It is our favorite getaway. From the moment you arrive on the property, you are greeted warmed by the valet staff, and that service continues throughout every aspect of your stay from the front desk to the Club Lounge, etc. We cannot say enough good things about the Club Lounge staff including, Emily, Sammi, Megan, Steffani and others. They are outstanding and go out of their way every time they see you. They make your visit even more enjoyable. We love this Ritz Calrton!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crisnmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here about five or six times and are always pleased. We absolutely love this section of the beach and always get an oceanfront room so that we have a great view from our balcony. What makes this property stand out for us is the exceptional customer service. My children love being greeted with the welcome gift toy wagon, and we have never encountered an unfriendly staff member. It truly seems that staff enjoy their jobs and value the customer. Highly recommend this hotel and cannot wait for our next stay.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JJT49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#17 of 136 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 stars 3,694 reviews
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#11 of 136 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 stars 1,785 reviews
The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdal...
#2 of 136 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 stars 887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#22 of 136 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 stars 2,300 reviews
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 136 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 stars 3,328 reviews
Central Beach
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Res...
#8 of 136 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 stars 4,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale
Address: 1 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4392
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#4 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#9 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#9 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#12 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale 5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale infuses the Gold Coast with casual luxury as the city's first and only AAA Five Diamond hotel. The 24-story, dramatically tiered and glass walled structure has sweeping curves that are reminiscent of a luxury liner. Design elements recall the 1940's, with artwork that includes playful murals inspired by French artist Jean Cocteau and a 13-foot high mural of a seascape inspired by the 1880 painting, "King Neptune and His Horses." The property features 192 guest rooms and suites; a 2,200 square foot Club Lounge, 24,000 square feet of light-filled meeting space; a 29,000 square foot oceanfront sundeck with an infinity pool and private cabanas; destination Spa with an organic and active-botanical treatment menu and a water-view fitness center. Four dining and entertainment options include the new Via Luna Italian grill with seating indoors or al fresco on an oceanfront patio, the dramatic oceanfront Via Luna Bar, a private Wine Room with a 5,000 bottle wine cellar and a seventh floor Poolside Cafe with commanding ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Marriott, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz Carlton Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Ritz Carlton Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Ritz Carlton
St Regis Fort Lauderdale
St Regis Ft Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing