We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Best view possible” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Credit + Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 135 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best view possible”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I was there with a friend who had won the room on some competition for 3 days. I cannot testify about the price or something, however everything else was amazing. We had a room with an ocean view, and a view of the pool/jacuzzi area. It was amazing. Even though the pool is closed in the late night hours, we managed to get in, and enjoyed a midnight hot tub and pool swim since it is always hot in Florida. It was like a dream. Thank you

Room Tip: Ocean view above the pool level floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    725
    261
    92
    46
    21
See reviews for
268
501
41
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
104 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Here for a company meeting. All I an say is solid! Service from the beginning was fantastic. Ms Cisneros checked me in and went above and beyond to set me up, let me know where my meetings were, walked me to the elevator, pointed out where to get coffee, etc. the room, ocean view on the 8th floor was huge. Bed, very comfortable. The mini bar is impressive. All in all A+. I will be letting my company know that we need to make this hotel and location a regular event.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Don-in-Tampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
avalon1025
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

My 5th stay at this very nice hotel, pre-cruise for one night. Service, room and overall whole hotel was as lovely as always. Definately my preferred hotel in Ft Lauderdale. Great hotel bar as well as restaurant. See you again soon!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank avalon1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
55 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed 3 nights at the Ritz Carlton Fort Lauderdale from April 4th to 7th, hoping to enjoy a fine hotel a few days before joining our western caribe cruise. Arriving at the hotel just before 10PM we were astonished that there was no one manning the front entrance, no bell staff or doorman. Later during our stay we did see that they had doorman on duty, however when we arrived... no one there. Hauling our heavy luggage up the steps by ourselves, we entered the lobby... as there were only steps... we had to literally "haul" our luggage to get up the 4 stairs, there were staff in the lobby, staring at us... however no one offered to help or even approached us. Not a big deal... however, in a 5 star Ritz Carlton where I am paying $550/night... I have expectations that my wife and I won't be personally handling our baggage to our room. Upon arriving at the front desk we were well greeted and our reservation quickly processed... keys in hand the front desk lady came out from behind the desk (where she couldn't have helped but see our huge bags) and she pointed at the distant elevator... again... no helped offered. In fairness we did not ask either... at this point we knew the hotel we were staying at was called a "Ritz" but it certainly did not seem to be one. Example; we stayed a the Ritz Carlton in SanFrancisco... when we arrived our bags were handled with literal "white gloved service"... warm towels greeted us there and you truly felt like being at a Ritz... not here though. The hotel, lounge, pool and restaurants were all okay... good service... okay food etc... however again nothing that stands out. Decor was dated, tired looking. The room was okay, nothing fantastic, just an okay room, the carpet and some of the cloth furniture had visible stains... but again, not terrible... but not great either. We splurged for a beach front deluxe room... and when we opened the balcony door we were greeted by two things 1) a great view... probably one of the best 2) jet-engine level noise coming from the air-conditioner several floors below coming from the Ritz Lounge. At first... we thought we tripped some sort of fan or something... the noise was startling! I have an app on my phone that measures decibles and it was over 100DB.... 24 hours a day... when you closed the balcony you couldn't hear it... but the sound was such that... well... we didn't enjoy the view from the balcony at all. This isn't a bad hotel.... however it is just bland... like any other regular chain... it shouldn't be called a Ritz and considering what we paid... we probably should've stayed somewhere else. Best way to sum this one up is "meh"...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DHSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West River, MD
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We moved to the Ritz after two nights in another hotel. Long story, not satisfied at the other place, especially when they closed off beach access. Just let me say the room was beautiful. Nicely decorated, large balcony, very large bathroom with sunken tub and separate tiled shower. The service was impecable. They remembered our names and treated us very well.

The beach and pool service was wonderful. Staff would set up your chairs and towels and bring you water upon request. The beds were so comfortbale. My husband and I both have back issues and we never were in pain the morning which is uncommon when staying in a hotel. We never ate at the hotel, but the food I did view looked very good. We had an intercoastal view room and the view was gorgeous, especially at night. With an ocean front the view is gone as soon as the sun goes down.

The fitness facilty was also very nice, We used it daily. I would return to this hotel again and would be willing to pay the extra money to stay in other Ritz Carlton's if the rooms and service are just as nice as in Ft. Lauderdale.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lmsutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodbury,CT
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We had a short, relaxing stay at this beautiful hotel. The room is gorgeous and the view was beautiful from our balcony. Only problem was the height of the bathtub for shower was too high for a 5' person, needed a step, otherwise the room was perfect. The pool was lovely as was the service and food poolside. We really enjoyed the ease of getting to the beach via the street bridge. We were there during spring break and there was a lot of "chugchug" yelling from the bar next door but Ft. Lauderdale has gotten their act together and the noise stopped by 9:00PM. We also ate in the dining room in the hotel for breakfast and dinner and the experience and food was very good. My husband really enjoyed an excellent massage at the spa but felt the facilities were a little lacking,no steam room, hot tub outside and not working. Very nice and close to airport! We arrived at midnight an accomadating desk staff and valet, Robert, even at that hour!

Room Tip: Higher floor with balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luckygirl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

To say The Ritz Carlton was like any other hotel is an understatement. My recent trip to Fort Lauderdales Ritz was just plain bad! Glass on the balcony floor upon checking in. Confirmation information on my reservation was wrong. No hotel information in room. A ripped lounge chair on balcony..I can go on but won't. I would never recommend spending your money on a subpar wanna be luxury hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DaisyL171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#16 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 stars 3,595 reviews
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#11 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 stars 1,736 reviews
The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdal...
#2 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 stars 861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#23 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 stars 2,183 reviews
The Aqua Hotel
#6 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 stars 881 reviews
Central Beach
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Res...
#8 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 stars 4,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale
Address: 1 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#5 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#9 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#9 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#12 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale 5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale infuses the Gold Coast with casual luxury as the city's first and only AAA Five Diamond hotel. The 24-story, dramatically tiered and glass walled structure has sweeping curves that are reminiscent of a luxury liner. Design elements recall the 1940's, with artwork that includes playful murals inspired by French artist Jean Cocteau and a 13-foot high mural of a seascape inspired by the 1880 painting, "King Neptune and His Horses." The property features 192 guest rooms and suites; a 2,200 square foot Club Lounge, 24,000 square feet of light-filled meeting space; a 29,000 square foot oceanfront sundeck with an infinity pool and private cabanas; destination Spa with an organic and active-botanical treatment menu and a water-view fitness center. Four dining and entertainment options include the new Via Luna Italian grill with seating indoors or al fresco on an oceanfront patio, the dramatic oceanfront Via Luna Bar, a private Wine Room with a 5,000 bottle wine cellar and a seventh floor Poolside Cafe with commanding ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Marriott and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz Carlton Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Ritz Carlton Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Ritz Carlton
St Regis Fort Lauderdale
St Regis Ft Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing