We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale Air/Seaport
Ranked #28 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Rogersville, Missouri
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We arrived at the Candlewood Suites to catch a cruise the next morning. On arrival, the desk clerk took our credit card info even though our room was already paid for. I didn't think much of that since there could be incedintals, but he told us our credit card would be charged $20 and then in 3-5 days that would come off. We were placed in a handicapped room even though we had not requested one. We were so tired from our day of traveling, we just kept it as it would have been a huge hassle to try and change it. We had to cross a busy 4 lane highway to get something to eat, but went to a sports bar called Slackers and the food was good. The sink in the bathroom had no counter top and no lid on the stool. The light over the sink was burned out. It was difficult for me to get ready as there was no place to lay by makeup bag and at one point my hair brush fell in the toilet. There was no breakfast and it was pouring down rain. We were never told we could go next door for breakfast for $5, but would have gotten soaked even getting there. We bought a danish in the area by the front desk. Check out was a mess and the shuttle that had been arranged for us was poorly organized. The lobby area was very cramped. I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanuwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale Air/Seaport, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear jeanuwood,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We work diligently to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. We are sorry to hear that our hotel fell below your expectations and the service you received was less than satisfactory. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate your comments as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Your business is valued and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG properties.


Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    119
    48
    21
    22
See reviews for
119
130
59
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We booked this property because they offered kitchenettes, a few smoking rooms, and shuttle service from the airport and to the cruise terminal.

We arrived in FLL, collected our luggage and called the hotel for shuttle pick up. They told us it would be about 30 minutes. Lots of people were waiting for hotel shuttles, and hotel shuttles were arriving and picking up people. A few of us remained (all waiting for the one shuttle that services Candlewood/Holiday Inn(??)/Crowne, as it turned out) and were joined by others who were also going to those hotels. When (an HOUR or more after we arrived, not the quoted 30 minutes) the shuttle finally showed up, there was more than one shuttle-full to be shuttled. DH and I were guests #3 and 4 to arrive at the pickup point, so we climbed into the vehicle.

Everyone ELSE who was waiting ALSO climbed into the shuttle. There were not enough seats or seatbelts, and several passengers ended up sitting on other peoples' laps. Quite a hazardous and unacceptable way of working things out.

Once at the hotel, we were greeted VERY pleasantly by the desk clerk, who immediately produced a phone message a friend had left for us, wishing us a bon voyage. We were checked in within a minute, and made to feel like welcome guests. Good job, Front Desk!

The room was clean, and the bathroom was clean. The kitchenette had everything (and I do mean everything) one could need to cook and serve light meals -- kettle, pots, pans, dishes, cutlery, full-sized fridge, 2-burner stove, microwave, and full-sized dishwasher. We were VERY impressed with the kitchenette.

The hotel was quiet, we were able to get decent sleep, the beds were average, the single elevator was fine (never had long to wait for it), and the front desk staff was very helpful, friendly, and service-oriented.

When it came time to book the shuttle to the cruise port, we discovered they were only offering ONE trip. We had already met about 15 other people who were going on the cruise and using the shuttle, so we decided to take a cab instead of the shuttle.

Overall, this COULD have been a 4 or 5, but the terrible shuttle "service" (actually LACK of service) dropped the rating. If complimentary shuttle service is an important consideration for you, this is probably NOT the place to stay, based on our experience.

Room Tip: Don't count on the shuttle
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OhMy5316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale Air/Seaport, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear PrincessInParadise,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to write a review of our hotel. I am delighted you liked your room accommodations and pleased you found our front desk staff commendable. Please accept our sincere apology for the difficulties you experienced with our shuttle service. We have taken note of your valuable comments and have shared these with our management team for the purpose of bringing improvements needed.

While we understand that your stay was less than satisfactory, we hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Port, Florida
Level Contributor
116 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Despite the negative reviews we read, my wife and I had a wonderful nights stay at the Candlewood Suites, the night before an international flight. The Park & ride program was extremely well priced and the shuttle to & from the airport was a delightful experience. In our research, we saw that this hotels shuttle service was terrible, well my good friends it was just the opposite. It took us 10 minutes , not 1 hour as written by other Trip Advisor reviewers. The driver was exceptionally helpful and the front desk was delighted to arrange everything for us. The hotel was extremely clean and well furnished. If you are looking for a place to stay before you fly, check this hotel out!

Room Tip: Order dinner from the Italian The Doughboys( delivery) resturant, menus at the front desk........It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skdflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleburne, Texas
Level Contributor
106 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

We arrived in Ft.Lauderdale airport late in the evening we called the hotel desk and requested shuttle service to the hotel. The shuttle was a vehicle servicing several hotels with the Candelwood Suites was the last facility on the route.

Upon arrival at the hotel we proceeded to the check in desk which was situated in the passageway into the hotel allowing very little privacy while checking in. Check in Took quite a bit of time but was accomplished in a pleasant manner.

We proceeded to the room which was not extremely large but amenities were sufficient. Traffic in the hallway during the night was a little loud. No breakfast was provided by the hotel, but for $5.00
Breakfast could be obtained a neighboring facility.

It was possible to obtain transportation from the hotel to the cruise port for $16.00 per person which fitted into our plans since we're were in town for.

check out was ok,but again crowded due to the amount of space allotted for this procedure.

All in all the was not a restfully stay. On the plus side the hotel was located within walking distance to several restraints and a grocery store.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jere J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

I called from the FLL airport and asked for a room. I had just completed a 2 wk Caribbean cruise and was flying out the next day. I stayed at the Red Carpet Inn pre trip and thought I would rebook for the return--it was a hellhole! So I made a call without reservations to Candlewood. Thomas Bermudez was so welcoming and sent the van for me. Even though it was before check in time--he would hold a room. I was so relieved. He even gave me a voucher for a free lunch for a local restaurant. The studio room was clean and comfortable. I walked over about 500 yards and ordered lovely German lunch that was so large it was also dinner. The 0400 shuttle to the airport was on time and very helpful. The night desk person, Anjoel Carral, was so helpful in meeting my needs. I will definitely stay here again. Thank you.










1

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tcrnfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairview, Canada
Level Contributor
149 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed the night before the cruise and then again right after. The rooms are clean and comfortable, shuttle convenient, and the front office staff very helpful.

We arrived early after the cruise and no rooms were ready but they offered to take our phone number and call us as soon as one was ready. Our bags were placed in a secure area and my bag with valuables was placed in an extra secure area. We had our room in just over an hour and were placed on 3 because there was still a lot of activity on the lower levels. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danimary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

I came in on December 5th 2012 to look for some property in the Fort Lauderdale area and a buddy of mines recommended to me Candlewood suites and I have to say that the staff were very professional and attentive. They went above and beyond to accommodate me and it was a very welcoming vibe! It was a little hard to find though but the front desk agent guided me effectively.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scottc55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport/Cruise
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#12 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,110 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port
Best Western Plus Fort Lauderdal...
#37 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,143 reviews
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#24 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airport North Cruise Port
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airp...
#8 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,782 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port Inn
Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise...
#50 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,018 reviews
8.1 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Marriott North
Fort Lauderdale Marriott North
#14 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale Air/Seaport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale Air/Seaport

Property: Candlewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale Air/Seaport
Address: 1120 W State Road 84, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33315-2436
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#13 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#28 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#41 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale Air/Seaport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Our Fort Lauderdale Airport Hotel The Candlewood Suites of Fort Lauderdale, Florida brings you the comforts of home with a convenient location. We're two miles from both Ft. Lauderdale Hollywood International Airport and the Amtrak Tri Rail Station. While lodging in Ft. Lauderdale you'll find many exciting attractions nearby. Spend a day exploring Fort Lauderdale's waterways on a water bus or JungleQueen boat tour. You'll find popular districts like Las Olas and Riverwalk Arts and Entertainment District just three miles from our extended stay hotel. Ft. Lauderdale is also home to many of Florida's sports teams.With Port Everglades Cruise Port and Broward County Convention Center two miles from our suites, Ft. Lauderdales business travelers can benefit from our location. Other nearby businesses include Marathon Ashland Oil Maritime Professional Training Bombardier Embraer Air and Jetscape. Our Fort Lauderdale, FL hotel has a 24-hour business center to meet your business needs. Unlike cheap hotels in Fort Lauderdale, our Cruise Port hotel offers complimentary amenities like laundry services, a CD and movie rental from our lending library and high-speed Internet access. Purchase snacks and necessities from the Candlewood Cupboard store relax in your suites triple-sheeted bed and cook out on the Gazebo Grill. Candlewood Suites invites you to enjoy a memorable stay in our pet friendly Ft. Lauderdale hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, IHG, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Candlewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale Air/Seaport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale Air/Seaport Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Candlewood Suites Fort Lauderdale
Candlewood Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing