We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale Air/Seaport
Ranked #30 of 127 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 17, 2011

My group of 15 stayed at the Candlewood Suites before & after our cruise. They were very accomodating & friendly. I can't say enough about the beautiful rooms with kitchens & full size refrigerators. And the cost was unbelieveably inexpensive!! They also referred us to an outstanding shuttle service, All Star Shuttle, to pick us up & take us back & forth for our cruise. I have already referred Candlewood Suites to friends & family. We will definately be staying there when we are in the area!!!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank peprmintpatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (483)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

433 - 439 of 483 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2011

I loved this beautiful hotel, these suites were very clean, setup like a comfortable home away from home. The staff was exceptional, and met any and all of my needs, the General Manager Juan and front desk staff went above and beyond to make my stay a welcome and relaxing getaway. I highly recommend this hotel. The location could not be any better, airport, shopping, close to the beach, just perfect. Anyone coming to the Ft. Lauderdale, Florida area must take advantage of this beautiful hotel. Great job to all staff!!!

Melanie

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SqueakyKleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2011

I travelled to Ft. Lauderdale last weekend for vacation and spent my time at the Candlewood Suites, this was the best part of my trip. The front desk assistant for starters was extremely knowledgeable helpfull about the area and my stay. The hallways and room were clean the entire stay they had a "like new" feel. I wholeheartedly recommend this hotel to anyone.
BEST HOTEL EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Evolvedmindz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIManagement84, Manager at Candlewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale Air/Seaport, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2011

Thank you very much for your comments on your recent stay. It makes us feel real good to hear such great comments. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2011

I normally love candlewood suites, but this hotel really disappointed me. The staff was extremely rude and the rooms did not look like they had been cleaned in a very long time. I was even afraid to sleep on top of the sheets. To top it all off, we spent the whole night listening to mice in the walls and praying we wouldn't see one run across the floor. You are better off sleeping at the airport.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank sweetums_ksu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2011

We stayed at the Candlewood suites for a night prior to a cruise.
We wanted to use Priority Club points (that we aquired through Air Miles) and this hotel used fewer points than other hotels in the area.
The hotel worked out well for us.
The room was more of a tiny apartment. Half the floor space was taken up with the kitchen area including a full size fridge, dishwasher, stovetop....it is fully equipped with coffeemaker, dishes, pots and pans....none of which we really used. There is a large TV with DVD player. There was a desk area we used for our luggage and stuff.
The bed I found to be very comfortable and the bedding of good quality.
We had a good sleep.
There is hardly a lobby, just a desk area to check in. We found the girl working that night to be very friendly and helpful.
We asked about using a computer station, which we could next door at the Holiday Inn. They had 2 computers you could use for free.
The pool at the HI looked really nice, lots of comfy chairs, palm trees, I understand we could ask for permission to use it. We did not get in early enough or else we would.
We used the shuttle to get from the airport to the hotel. It was a zoo at the airport on the Friday afternoon that we arrived. We were confused about where the pick up was and ended up waiting in the wrong spot for a long time. It was our mistake and after calling the hotel back to clarify we got the shuttle van with no problem. Make sure you are in the "shuttle" area off to the side outside the airport!
The shuttle to the port the next morning was also picked up at the Holiday Inn next door. When we booked many months ago they offered free shuttle service to the port, now they charge $8 per person. They let us go for free because of when we booked. I would be inclined check into taxi rates....
The mall across the road was handy, we bought soft drinks and wine to bring onto the ship (Carnival lets you do this). There is a dollar store as well. We ate at Subway (there is McDonalds, Wendy's, and a pizza place). We bought some things at Winn-Dixie for breakfast the next day which worked out great (fruit, danish, orange juice). Coffee is available at the hotel for free.
If we weren't as tired from travelling we would have ate supper at the German place a block over. Others raved about the food there.
If there wasn't a big price difference, we would stay at the Holiday Inn next door (just a few steps away) as that is where the amenities were (computer, pool, port shuttle, breakfast) although we were happy with our choice.
Across the road was a Hampton Inn and a Best Western.
We would recommend the Candlewood suites, very clean and comfortable, for a night or two (if we stayed longer we would certainly want a location by the beach).

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hamiltontraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2011

We had been travelling a long, long way to get to Fort Lauderdale. I called the Candlewood Suites from the bank of free hotel telephones in the baggage collection hall at the airport and was given directions for collection by their free suttle bus. That all worked well and the next morning we arranged to take the free suttle bus back to the airport to pick up our hire car. This hotel is 2 miles from the airport and the Everglades cruise liner port so it is a good choice for the night before or after a cruise. A shuttle to the cruise port can also be arranged at a cost I think.
We had a good value room with quality furnishings, decor, bedding and a full kitchen. There was free wifi. The only slight discomfort was that there was no where in the room to conveniently put our suitcases if we did not want to unpack them. Candlewood Suites is one of a row of mid-range hotels along West State Road whose reason for being, I think, is primarily as transit hotels. I paid about $128 for Candlewood which was probably the cheapest of them that I could find and we were statisfied with the quality and convenience. It is not a scenic location for tourists, but having also stayed at Sans Souci Motel by the beach, which was convenient to nothing but the beach, I am not sure where a good location is.
This hotel is directly across the highway from a small lowrise shopping centre called Southland that had a number of small restaurants, shops and a liquor store. Candlewood does not serve breakfast but you can go next door to the Holiday Inn Express and have breakfast for $5. This is one of those awful disposable American motel breakfasts with plastic crockery, cutlery and food. Why do Americans put up with this? Anyway, we should have crossed the highway to see if there was a diner open at the shopping centre. It is also possible to use the pool at the Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DaisyClover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2011

Room was nearly perfect. The only detractions were that for a person accustomed to a memory foam bed, the mattress was a bit stiff. There's also no place to park while your checking in, nor a back door, so you may end up dragging luggage around the parking lot.

Very much like a small studio apartment with fridge, toaster and even a dish washer.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank elbojbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port
Best Western Plus Fort Lauderdal...
#41 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,201 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport/Cruise
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#12 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,142 reviews
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#24 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airport North Cruise Port
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airp...
#8 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,852 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port Inn
Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise...
#54 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,042 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Fort Lauderdale Airport Port Everglades Cruise Port
Rodeway Inn & Suites Fort Lauder...
#59 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale Air/Seaport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale Air/Seaport

Address: 1120 W State Road 84, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33315-2436
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#28 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#41 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: $107 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale Air/Seaport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Our Fort Lauderdale Airport Hotel The Candlewood Suites of Fort Lauderdale, Florida brings you the comforts of home with a convenient location. We're two miles from both Ft. Lauderdale Hollywood International Airport and the Amtrak Tri Rail Station. While lodging in Ft. Lauderdale you'll find many exciting attractions nearby. Spend a day exploring Fort Lauderdale's waterways on a water bus or JungleQueen boat tour. You'll find popular districts like Las Olas and Riverwalk Arts and Entertainment District just three miles from our extended stay hotel. Ft. Lauderdale is also home to many of Florida's sports teams.With Port Everglades Cruise Port and Broward County Convention Center two miles from our suites, Ft. Lauderdales business travelers can benefit from our location. Other nearby businesses include Marathon Ashland Oil Maritime Professional Training Bombardier Embraer Air and Jetscape. Our Fort Lauderdale, FL hotel has a 24-hour business center to meet your business needs. Unlike cheap hotels in Fort Lauderdale, our Cruise Port hotel offers complimentary amenities like laundry services, a CD and movie rental from our lending library and high-speed Internet access. Purchase snacks and necessities from the Candlewood Cupboard store relax in your suites triple-sheeted bed and cook out on the Gazebo Grill. Candlewood Suites invites you to enjoy a memorable stay in our pet friendly Ft. Lauderdale hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Candlewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale Air/Seaport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale Air/Seaport Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Candlewood Suites Fort Lauderdale
Candlewood Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing