We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic!!”
Review of Shuck N Dive

Shuck N Dive
Ranked #69 of 1,335 Restaurants in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night
Neighborhood: Victoria Park
1 review
“Authentic!!”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Food was awesome!! Service was excellent!! Very generous portions and flavorful!! Like New Orleans!! A must eat at restaurant!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gress7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    93
    21
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Surpising Find in Front of Me All This Time!”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I had seen this place a million times and never stopped. It is tucked away in the corner of a plaza next to Winn Dixie, so it isn't anything scenic but there is a good sized patio. Inside is a small restaurant with a wrap around bar in the center and all the walls are Mardi Gras/NOLA/Louisiana themed.

It took a while for them to notice us at the bar even though they weren't that busy (Wednesday night), and the bartender as a little slow on refills and forgot to punch one refill order in. It wasn't a huge deal, he did great otherwise and even gave us a round for free without us even complaining or anything so that was cool. THEY HAVE ABITA!! Woo hooo!

We tried the special alligator gumbo soup but it was really salty and not too much gator. It was still good - but after the crawfish mac and cheese came out we forgot all about the soup. That mac and cheese was INSANELY good!

We also ordered 1.5 pounds of crawfish for $10 bucks and I thought they were great! really well seasoned, and we split the sausage, ham, blackened chicken and rice platter. The chicken was the best part but the entire dish was really good! After that, we were pretty full and took the last bit home which is what reminded me to write this.

They have specials every night..Wednesday is $1 oysters and PS- you can get the baked ones too with all the fixings at this price not just the ones from the raw bar.

It's not New Orleans, but I would absolutely go back. It is a nice change from the usual Lauderdale food scene and i thought prices were reasonable. I wish I had tried it sooner!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank amberenergy84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Not NOLA, but not bad”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We went with a Cajun gentleman from New Orleans. He said the crawfish were half from the Gulf area, and half from China. I have no reason to doubt his expertise. We also had several oysters, both raw and baked concoctions, which were tasty. Nothing out of bounds, just good. Service was just o.k. I got to sample Purple Haze beer, which was yummy. I wouldn't say you must go, but it's a solid choice if you're in the area.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bunny7475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A taste of the Big Easy in Florida...”
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Found this place recommended by others on TripAdvisor and decided to investigate. My boyfriend is Louisiana-born and bred, seemed like a nice place to check out on a sunny afternoon.

Others have commented on the ominous "no cell phones" policy. (I counted three signs, but maybe there are more?) Not sure if the owner was trying to encourage more social interaction within the bar, or just hated cell phones in general. I decided not to test the policy.

Food was very good in general, though our enjoyment was semi-ruined by some obnoxious bar patron who was apparently a music producer/agent who sent back almost every bucket of crawfish presented to him. ( "Too spicy/not enough spice/too lemony"). Ugg! Please run off this jerk!

In general, we very much enjoyed our afternoon sipping some Abita (though I could've cried upon finding they had NO Andygator), enjoyed some very nice Cajun cuisine, and enjoyed checking out all the LSU/Saints/sports memorabilia they have scattered around. Very good eating and drinking to be had here, just hope you don't end up sitting across the bar from a pompous jerk intent on impressing his lady friend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rushchick73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardington, OH
1 review
“A MUST STOP!!!!!”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The food, friendliness, and quality of service are always impeccable. The waitstaff is a well oiled machine. We visit the area once or twice a year, and this is always our first stop.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ConstanceS435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shuck N Dive also viewed

Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 

Been to Shuck N Dive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing