We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay!”
Review of Birch Patio Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Birch Patio Motel
Ranked #61 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Four years and 12 trips.....this was my second stay at the Birch Patio. It's everything you need in Ft. Lauderdale! It's clean, one block from the beach, a short walk the beach area reastaurants and shops, a grocery store and the mall! Friendly owners and staff also make it a pleasant! A short bus ride, sun trolly, water taxi or taxi can get you downtown!

Thank you, Angela for YET another great stay in Ft. Lauderdale. See you in a few month.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ErikaLynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 199 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2014

It's a cute little affordable motel. Kind bed with a futon. Beds are firm but still got a great sleep. Super large room. Big fridge, microwave and even plates and utensils! There's also a dining table. TV is small but has so many channels. Shower is dark meaning they could really add a light to that area. No tub, just a shower but the water pressure was good. Could definitely use black out curtains.

If you check in late, see the security guard posted outside the office and he'll escort you to your room because the front desk closes at 9pm. Also, if you stay near the laundry area, it can get noisy.

Location to the beach is two short blocks away. So while others are paying $300 a night, you'll pay A LOT less. Parking is crowded as heck if you check in at midnight like I did.

For the price, it's not seedy or sketchy. It's quite lovely.

Room Tip: Avoid the laundry area. Quieter rooms are away from the laundry and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We just had 4 nights at Birch Patio , on our Southern Florida Holiday. We came by this hotel by chance, just driving around in the neighborhood. We stayed for 4 days, even though we only meant to do 2. Lovely swimming pools, clean rooms and good space for 3 persons, or even 4 .
Angela is a extremely friendly host , and she even found some of our clothes we forgot our first 2 days here. The only little thing to put a finger on in the refrigerator, its pretty loud in the night for some reason. And the wifi is a little unstable. But all in all, we are for sure coming back here.

Room Tip: Choose the Efficieny room. Full kitchen , and a bbq nearby, so you can cook for the family. and get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wilhelmsendk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Great place with excellent location! Nice little poolarea and just a few minutes to the beach. Basic rooms but very good value for your money. And Angela was really helpful and nice. We had breakfast at the Deckbar closeby.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marran75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed at the Motel for four days. Angela was great she let us stay without charging us for 3 extra hours to be able to catch our plane that took off later that night and she let us print off our boarding passes. The place is not the Ritz's or Waldorf Astoria but it is a home away from home if you like laid back and just relax. The rooms are basic no hair dryer but they are clean and friendly. Our room had a kitchen. This Motel is great for people on a budget. The rooms do not have a safe but there is plenty of security walking around all the time. I never seen one person just entering the motel just to hang out. I will in deed go back again. The ocean is only 2 blocks away the room we had you could see straight down the road to the ocean and didn't have to pay for parking.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tropicalgoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

For a relaxing day or two stay near the beach in Ft. Lauderdale we end up Birch Patio Motel after inquiring about rates at a few other hotels in the area.

Located just a few blocks walk from the beach, Birch Patio turns out to be a nice find in a quiet area of Ft. Lauderdale within easy reach of all the beach activities.

This property has an old fashioned deep end swimming pool, free Wi-Fi and our room although simple was very clean and had a microwave, toaster and full size refrigerator.

We will definitely be back to Birch Patio as the room rates and accommodations makes for a nice affordable beach escape in Ft. Lauderdale.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DMBTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Overall it was a fair experience. My cousin and I stayed here last week; we booked it based on price and its good reviews on TripAdvisor. However, our experience hasn't quite lived up to what other reviewers have been saying about Birch. It was cheap (which was why we chose it), but you definitely get what you pay for; it's a "no frills" type of establishment.

Good points:
- Free wifi in addition to use of the "office" (where you can print off your boarding pass).
- Fairly clean rooms.
- Cheap room rates.
- Great location - 4 minute walk to Fort Lauderdale beach.
- Use of a small pool.
- Great customer service from the ladies at the reception office.

Bad points:
- Our bathroom window did not have a lock/latch which was unnerving during the night time.
- The rooms are not supplied with a safe for visitor's valuables.
- General lack of security of the entire motel; anybody can walk into the motel's courtyard and wander around.
- The place is shabby and outdated.

It was a good experience and I would stay here again. I'm just not sure how it's had so many "excellent" reviews.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Emma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Royal Palms Resort & Spa
#58 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
755 reviews
The Link Hotel
#94 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
204 reviews
Central Beach
Soleado Hotel
Soleado Hotel
#39 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victoria Park
The Victoria Park Hotel
The Victoria Park Hotel
#3 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
828 reviews
Royal Beach Palace
#29 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
644 reviews
Central Beach
Nobleton Hotel
Nobleton Hotel
#27 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birch Patio Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birch Patio Motel

Address: 617 N Birch Rd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#18 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#43 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: $84 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Birch Patio Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A little paradise in the heart of Fort Lauderdale. Surround yourself with tropical trees and the sounds of cascading waterfalls. Minutes from the Famous Las Olas Boulevard. Two short blocks from the warm ocean waters. Come see why the Birch Patio Motel is a favorite vacation retreat among its repeat guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Birch Patio Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birch Patio Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Birch Patio Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing