We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!”
Review of Birch Patio Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Birch Patio Motel
Ranked #64 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
stockholm, sweden
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place!”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Great place with excellent location! Nice little poolarea and just a few minutes to the beach. Basic rooms but very good value for your money. And Angela was really helpful and nice. We had breakfast at the Deckbar closeby.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marran75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    56
    16
    5
    2
See reviews for
51
78
21
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed at the Motel for four days. Angela was great she let us stay without charging us for 3 extra hours to be able to catch our plane that took off later that night and she let us print off our boarding passes. The place is not the Ritz's or Waldorf Astoria but it is a home away from home if you like laid back and just relax. The rooms are basic no hair dryer but they are clean and friendly. Our room had a kitchen. This Motel is great for people on a budget. The rooms do not have a safe but there is plenty of security walking around all the time. I never seen one person just entering the motel just to hang out. I will in deed go back again. The ocean is only 2 blocks away the room we had you could see straight down the road to the ocean and didn't have to pay for parking.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tropicalgoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
615 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

For a relaxing day or two stay near the beach in Ft. Lauderdale we end up Birch Patio Motel after inquiring about rates at a few other hotels in the area.

Located just a few blocks walk from the beach, Birch Patio turns out to be a nice find in a quiet area of Ft. Lauderdale within easy reach of all the beach activities.

This property has an old fashioned deep end swimming pool, free Wi-Fi and our room although simple was very clean and had a microwave, toaster and full size refrigerator.

We will definitely be back to Birch Patio as the room rates and accommodations makes for a nice affordable beach escape in Ft. Lauderdale.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DMBTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Overall it was a fair experience. My cousin and I stayed here last week; we booked it based on price and its good reviews on TripAdvisor. However, our experience hasn't quite lived up to what other reviewers have been saying about Birch. It was cheap (which was why we chose it), but you definitely get what you pay for; it's a "no frills" type of establishment.

Good points:
- Free wifi in addition to use of the "office" (where you can print off your boarding pass).
- Fairly clean rooms.
- Cheap room rates.
- Great location - 4 minute walk to Fort Lauderdale beach.
- Use of a small pool.
- Great customer service from the ladies at the reception office.

Bad points:
- Our bathroom window did not have a lock/latch which was unnerving during the night time.
- The rooms are not supplied with a safe for visitor's valuables.
- General lack of security of the entire motel; anybody can walk into the motel's courtyard and wander around.
- The place is shabby and outdated.

It was a good experience and I would stay here again. I'm just not sure how it's had so many "excellent" reviews.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We are a young couple who trusts Tripadvisor for a lot of our hotel decisions, and were pretty disappointed when we spent a night at the Birch Patio, following the numerous five star reviews.

The location was pretty good, and the price was fair, however the units were really unimpressive.

The one positive note is that they were very large - if you are travelling with a big group and looking for great value (i.e. 4 people in one room for under 25$ each), then this place might be for you. Otherwise I wouldn't recommend it.

1) The decor is outdated and tacky, even for an inexpensive motel
2) The furniture was old, smelled a bit, and had stains on it

Don't get me wrong, the place wasn't the worst ever, I just have no idea how it has so many excellent reviews. It is an average motel in a good location. There is nothing else to it. Definitely not worthy of all the great reviews, but certainly not a horrible place if you can take advantage of the value by sleeping more per room and/or using the kitchen area that comes in the units.

Angela, who checked us in at the neighbouring office at the Napoli hotel was very nice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BeachBumToronto12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellin
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Well Angela thanks again for hooking me up with a clean and quiet room. Now that I know where the hotel is and my way around town more this trip was perfect. I love the huge rooms with closet, fridge nice working shower.Cleanliness is great. I just feel so comfortable at this Family owned hotel. Super close to the beach and also a supermarket nearby on Sunrise Blvd. Very convenient to the Airport and restaurants on the strip. This is my go to place to stay in Ft Lauderdale

Room Tip: Talk to Angela beforehand since there are upper, lower, and poolside locations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColombiaCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schererville
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

This is our 6th year here at the Birch Patio Motel, We just love it here and the proximity to the beach is perfect. It is very clean here, The pools are awesome and the rooms are stocked with all you need, just bring your food and drinks. The owners Angela and Tony are very personalble and friendly. This is why we keep coming back. We spent 5 days here in May 2013 and we cant wait to come back. Why pay the big bucks for all those fancy hotels around us when this is much more than they are. If you want a great place to stay that is clean and affordable then book your reservations here.

Thanks Tim & Lorrie
Schererville, Indiana

Room Tip: This is the place if you want a clean and affordable motel and its 2 minutes from the beach. :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScherervilleIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Nobleton Hotel
Nobleton Hotel
#23 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
98 reviews
Central Beach
Soleado Hotel
Soleado Hotel
#36 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
92 reviews
Central Beach
The Fortuna Hotel
The Fortuna Hotel
#40 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Winterset Hotel
#74 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
352 reviews
Central Beach
Fala Hotel
Fala Hotel
#44 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
398 reviews
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birch Patio Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birch Patio Motel

Property: Birch Patio Motel
Address: 617 N Birch Rd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#18 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#43 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Birch Patio Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A little paradise in the heart of Fort Lauderdale. Surround yourself with tropical trees and the sounds of cascading waterfalls. Minutes from the Famous Las Olas Boulevard. Two short blocks from the warm ocean waters. Come see why the Birch Patio Motel is a favorite vacation retreat among its repeat guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Birch Patio Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birch Patio Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Birch Patio Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing