We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't stay here!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sea Beach Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sea Beach Plaza
Ranked #107 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Don't stay here!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2010

We stayed here the night before a cruise because it was the only place available (due to visitors in Ft. Lauderdale for the Super Bowl the next day). The only good thing I can say is it is just across the street from the beach and near the water taxi. However, it was a totally flea-bag motel. I would not recommend it. Creepy, poor lighting, worn out, not real clean. Very dirty, tiny pool Find another place!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelaColumbus_OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nmotwani, Manager at Sea Beach Plaza, responded to this review, June 9, 2010
In response to the review, we extend our apologies if you did not enjoy your stay with us. We try to accomodate each guest in our hotel as best as possible. As stated, it was Superbowl weekend and due to the high occupancy we may have not been able to give the best room available on the account that it was already booked. Instead of having to cancel/reject your stay at the hotel we tried to give you a room to sleep in for just one night before your cruise. If there were any complaints we do urge all guests to notify us during their stay so we can satisfy them to the best of our ability. Thank you for your business and we do apologize if you werent satisfied.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    38
    33
    17
    55
See reviews for
28
65
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
144 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2009

This place has to be among the last remnants of "old" Fort Lauderdale, where numerous 40s and 50s-era hotels near the beach would have rates as low as $19 and be filled to overflowing with spring breakers in the 70s and early 80s. The spring breakers are largely gone to Daytona or Panama City and most of the old places have been torn down, but in some hidden nooks and crannies a few remain.

This one looks quite a bit tired in both the public areas and rooms. The location is great (walkable to the beach easily and to Las Olas). Combine that with posted rates on the sign ($49 when I was there, though I booked through Expedia), and it's a recipe for drawing in a cash-paying, blue-collar down-and-outer crowd, the kind that'll chain smoke in the smoking rooms or drink beer from cans by the six-pack by the small pool.

My (non-smoking) room really wasn't that bad, though, just a little tired. The mattress had a couple of springs protruding out the side, but they had put a "pillow top" covering over it, possibly as an alternative to replacing. The TV was about a 27-inch CRT with good cable selection. The small bathroom really needed renovating but was functional. The air-con was a wall unit but was adequate for the job. Parking is on the street side; you need to display a parking pass from the desk (free, maximum one per room) to avoid being towed. There are only a limited number of spaces and all weren't filled when I was there, but if they were full and everyone had a car it could be a problem, given the dearth of inexpensive alternatives nearby. Though if you just wanted to visit the beach you could actually reach this place via a combination of BCT buses from the FLL airport, walk to the main beachfront areas and avoid needing to rent a car (car-rent taxes at FLL airport are really ridiculous!)

Check-out is a beach-unfriendly 11 a.m. and they charge $10 an hour after that.

Overall the place doesn't have great curb appeal or a good vibe and feels a little dinghy and way past its renovate-by date, but there wasn't anything really solidly wrong with it for my visit. If it does get renovated then rates will go up to where it isn't a comparative value, so that's the conundrum. Seems like all the cheapies in FLL within walking distance of the beach are inexpensive because of being long in the tooth.

I can't really recommend this place, but I don't have cause to rail against it, either. Call it a borderline non-recommendation.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ploughman8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia MD
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2009

I travel for work to Fort Lauderdale a lot and try out new places to stay every time I am here. I would not stay at this hotel again. It's not a clean place at all. The pool is small and right in the front so if your driving on the street or walking you can see every one swimming.

There was enough parking so that was never a problem. It is a small hotel but I look for cleanliness and did not find it there.

The rooms were a bit small and shabby looking.

Do not stay here if you don't have to.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beitrizenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fort Lauderdale hotels

New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2009

Aside from its good location, this place is not even worth half a star, or more than a $20/night motel. Rooms are old, especially the bathroom with peeling walls, constantly dripping water, very worn out fixtures, missing strips of window blinds, and towels so old they feel like cardboard on your skin when used. Walk with your toiletries because none are provided, except for a few bars of hotel soap. The rooms are cleaned by a few girls who do a good job of sanitizing the room with strong chemicals. Bed linen is clean but way past its days. Parking is inadequate for the capacity and several times we could not find a place to park around the hotel. One good thing is that they had WIFI. They really should consider closing this place down and get some serious renovations done.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drak21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, QC
Level Contributor
128 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2009

We stayed here for 1 night as we were moving thru ft-lauderdale. We visited several hotels before stopping at the Sea beach Plaza, It was the cleanest out of the $65 hotels. I believe we had room #114 which included a small living room, kitchen, washroom and a bedroom. The place is very old, the washroom and bathtub weren't great (paint peeling in the tub), the kitchen looked like it had seen better days. The couch seemed dirty and I was uncomfortable sitting on it at first. The exterior of the hotel is nice, the pool is decent but small and the hotel staff was very very friendly. The rooms really do need a makeover because they look very very old. unlike other reviews We didn't have any issues with any bugs. I would only recommend for people looking to pay really low rates and stay for a short period of time.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FieroAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cuyahoga falls, oh
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2009

We looked at all of the photos and thought that this would be an ok room for one night. When we arrived at the hotel, we were shown to room 212. This room was like one of those hotel you use by the hour. We asked for our money backed and was immediately shown to other rooms that were available since they are unable to refund the money. We were able to pick a room out of the 3 shown but were afraid. This place has not been updated since the 70's. Everything that you read is true. It might be ok for spring breakers but not anyone else. We couldn't wait to get out of there.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jackib1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2009

We weren't expecting much for the price.......just a clean room with a bed and a shower. The room we were given was dirty, the paint was chipped off of the meager furnishings, there was a one inch gap above the door which we had to stuff with towels to keep bugs out. The floors were crooked, the refrigerator was completely rusty inside. Because it was high season and we were only staying for one night we suffered through it The staff was very pleasant and the little pool and courtyard area could be charming. With just a little bit of elbow grease and some TLC this could be a nice property but we would never advise even those on a modest budget to stay at this facility as it is not clean or safe.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AMPKP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Bahia Cabana Beach Resort
#103 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanside Inn
#25 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,400 reviews
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#49 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#24 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,599 reviews
Central Beach
Seville Hotel & Apartments
Seville Hotel & Apartments
#46 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Harbor Beach Inn
#17 of 24 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Beach Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Beach Plaza

Property: Sea Beach Plaza
Address: 3081 Harbor Dr, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-2409
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sea Beach Plaza 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Sea Beach Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Beach Plaza Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Sea Beach Plaza Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing