We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced/forced valet parking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
musicteachtravel
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Overpriced/forced valet parking”
Reviewed August 8, 2009

For the person who likes to stay at a nice place and protect your money this is not it. The location offers few options for decent priced food, the rooms (which I knew in advance) were pricey, but what kills me and everyone needs to know is it will cost you 29.95+tax for parking, and for those of us who like to park our cars and save on tips good luck!! Valet parking is the only option at this hote. I paid it but didnt tip once because at that price they should be paying their help a lot!! The room was okay, some dirt in the shower and the carpet was coming up. Beach is across a 4 lane street which they manage to hide in pictures of the hotel. There isnt a stoplight there so getting to the beach can be hard with smaller-walking kids. Wont likely stay again the area doesnt offer much other than the beach---which is very clean and nice.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank musicteachtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,272
    1,209
    389
    163
    82
See reviews for
1,716
1,890
216
474
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,175)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Texas Gulf Coast, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2009

I researched our June, 2009, Ft. Lauderdale trip as I do all of our trips.

This was the best hotel surprise of all of my planned trip accomodations.

Great Staff (not snooty like some larger hotels). From the moment we walked into the hotel, the staff was always courteous and helpful.
We loved the room. It was a studio and had a small frigerator and studio kitchen. The view was awesome. ......a fabulous view of the beautiful Ft. Lauderdale beach.
Far enough away from the noisy areas but you can still walk or catch a bus to many spots in Ft. Lauderdale. (get the one day or 7 day pass and you can hop on & off when you want).

When we return to Ft. Lauderdale, there i no doubt where we will stay......the Hilton Beach Resort. ......it was perfect for us.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pocoloco24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royan, France
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2009

We arrived to the hotel after three days of queueing in the Land-of-Lines at Disneyworld so we were ready for a relaxing 4 days before returning to the UK. The accomodation we were provided was oceanfront on the 22 floor and was truly excellent although I had to pay an extra $80 a day for it despite being a Diamond member. For some reason the Diamond upgrade was not available but you could pay for an upgrade...(?)
The staff were very friendly from the time we checked in. So, why not an excellent rating?
Well, this hotel seems to have the Hilton Resort Disease in that it trys to extract as much money as possible from you in the time you are there. Complimentary breakfast (a Diamond perk) is limited to "Continental" fare of Croissant,cakes fruit etc. but if you paid for it, it's $36 for 2 people plus tax. And then, the tipping. Breakfast and room service all state clearly that service is included (at 23%!) but the bill always shows the space for a tip..so the expectation is there. Even the coffee shop, which is just a mini 7-11, had space on the bill for a tip and a prominently displayed jar with tips in it. Valet parking is a compulsory $30 a day plus, tip.
Of course, I understand this resort is not unique in its policy, the same comments could probably be made for most of the Hilton chain on the Florida East Coast.
The lesson I have learned on this trip to Florida is that Homewood Suites, whilst not always having the same location as Doubletree, Embassy or Resort, do offer excellent value - large suites, inclusive internet, inclusive drinks and dinner, inclusive breakfast, inclusive entertainment at a great price. If they can do it, when are the Great American Public going to insist the rest of the Hilton chain follow in terms of value?
Finally, if you have kids at an age where they can be left to head to the beach on their own, make sure they are careful on the road that runs in front of the hotel. It has to be crossed to get to the beach. There is no crossing light and the rules seem a bit vague. If you are "English" and wait to cross at the coloured path, you will wait forever, no one will stop. Once on the "crossing" , the traffic is supposed to stop but whilst they won't deliberately run you over, cars seem happy to try and drive around you especially at weekends when the local entertainment in bars and restaurants is in top gear.
Overall, nice place, shame about the value.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianDiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2009

Great hotel. For $269 got a huge room with 2 bathrooms, fulll kitchen and breakfast included. Marbe tile throughout, gorgeous views.... Cant say enough good things about this property. Booked the Pelican Grand for our last nite and that was huge mistake as doesnt come close to Hilton in terms of service, rooms.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank igreen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2009

I had meetings at this hotel and took my spouse along for the trip. The property is very modern. We stayed in 1 King Bedroom with a Bath and Half. Both the Living Room and the Bedroom had ocean views from the side of the hotel. We stayed on the North Side of the building which had great views. I would guess the views were not as nice from the South Side of the building as their was another high rise next to that side. The room had a full kitchen with full sized refrigerator, dishwasher, microwave, and stove. The pool is on the sixth floor facing the beach and the ocean. The beach is located across Highway A1A. Service and Housekeeping was great. This is an upscale hotel in an upscale area. It was a very enjoyable trip with a very comfortable room.

Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank hby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2009

Very nice modern property. Stayed in a 1 br suite with full bath plus powder room. Was really like a small apartment with full kitchen, large covered balcony with ocean and city views. Bath had big tub plus separate shower and double vanity. Really nice. Staff was excellent and attentive, quick responses from housekeeping. The property is tastefully done and upscale. Lots of kids and families though which can be annoying if you are trying to relax by the pool. Right on the beach so walk to restaurants, bars etc. W is right next door...more of a kid free zone there...but the Hilton is first class.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Captexguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehall, PA
Level Contributor
110 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2009

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We struggled with the housekeeping staff's ability to have our room cleaned and ready by mid-afternoon. Our only true problem with this facility occurred on the second day of our stay. The air conditioning unit malfunctioned in our first room, and we were forced to move. The staff offered an upgrade, which only provided for one king bed and a sofa bed Since we preferred two beds for our family, they offered to move us to the same type of room (2 queen beds) and provided us with a voucher for $100 at the hotel's resturant. Unfortunately, it took another 5 hours to get us in our new room and move all of our belongings. After discussing our displeasure with the manager in the length of time it took to move us, he offered to reimburse us for that night's stay.

Overall, this is a great facility. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zebra11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#16 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,652 reviews
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#26 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,022 reviews
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#15 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdal...
#6 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,488 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#21 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,659 reviews
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort

Property: Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Address: 505 N Fort Lauderdale Beach Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#3 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#4 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#4 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#5 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort is located on the shoreline of Fort Lauderdale's exclusive north beach, between the palm-shaded boulevards of Sunrise and Las Olas. The Resort delivers the refined elegance of beach resort living, with unique tropical amenities and upscale accommodations, much larger than a regular hotel. Our vision is to provide Distinct Personalized Service by creating unforgettable experiences for our well-traveled guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Vacatia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Ft Lauderdale Beach Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Hilton Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing