We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Property But Bizarre Housekeeping”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Ranked #11 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great Property But Bizarre Housekeeping”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed for one night pre cruise last year - loved it so much, decided to come for a week this year over Christmas. We booked a one bedroom suite at half the price of comparable properties ie., Marriot and Ritz. Our room was on the corner with a large wrap around balcony that faced the pool and part of the beach. Absolutely stunning, modern, clean and no mouldy odours.

The on site restaurant was better than most hotel restaurants with a nice atmosphere, the pool area large enough and attractive - there is also a quiet patio to lie out that can be accessed through a little gate just adjacent to the pool. The pool service was pretty good with servers coming by on a regular basis.

Beach rentals are 10.00 per chair and 20.00 for an umbrella. This, unfortunately is standard in Fort Lauderdale except for the Ritz which is "free" but you more than make up for it in the price of the room. Also, valet with tax at the HIlton is just under 35.00. with in and out privileges.

Front desk help very helpful but housekeeping issues extremely bizarre.

While I was aware from reading Trip Advisor Reviews that you should ask upon check in to have the kitchen stocked, when they did bring up our dishes etc. many were completely filthy. They did replace them with what was suppose to be cleaner items, however, some were still dirty and I asked if I could have dish washing soap to wash by hand. They explained that for "sanitary reasons," they were no longer allowed to give out dish soap, only dishwasher soap!

I also asked to have a frying pan as we liked to have breakfast in our room, and they said they had given them all out and it would take 24 hours to get one. When it did arrive a day later - no sooner was it taken away the next morning, to, I presume, someone else who needed it!
I had to ask for it back.

When I mentioned all of this to the front desk manager, he was very apologetic, but explained that perhaps I didn't understand that these rooms were actually condo rentals, and that was why there are no kitchen utensils immediately on hand.

However, all the condos I have ever rented always have a stocked kitchen - so this of course did not make any sense. When I also asked why I couldn't have any hand dish soap, he said that the dishwashers were more sanitary (even though the utensils I received were filthy), but he did manage to get me some.

Further, one night when the maids came to clean our room, they left our door wide open!

Again, the front desk was very apologetic but obviously there's some serious housekeeping management issues to work out.

Apart from this, it is a beautiful property on a lovely part of the beach, walking distance to stores and restaurants and a five minute drive to the night life and restaurants of Las Olas.

Las Olas Favourites: Would recommend Johnny V for a really great and imaginative dinner menu, nice atmosphere, and fabulous assortment of cheeses and wines - also Tuscan Grille for Italian. Not that impressed with Trata Greek Tavern, very average Greek food - nothing special. Make sure to stop at Kilwin's Chocolates and Ice Cream while at Las Olas - amazing assortment of fresh fudge and chocolates.

Room Tip: If you are getting a one bedroom or two bedroom suite ask for the corner suites - they are much larg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas I, General Manager at Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for your candid comments about your recent stay; we thank you for your loyalty to our Resort, and very pleased to read that your accommodations and Resort experience were mostly positive. I apologize for the inconsistencies with houskeeping and have shared your feedback with our Housekeeping Department to ensure these issues do not happen in the future. We hope we have a chance to host your stay again, and look forward to providing the kind of service you should expect from the Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort. If I can be of any assistance with future reservations, please feel free to call directly to 954-414-2602.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,341
    1,241
    398
    174
    85
See reviews for
1,772
1,937
220
481
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,193)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clinton Township, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Visited this property for a three night stay expecting a Hilton resort level experience of excellent but only got good. It turns out this property is a pre / post cruise hotel and the public space experiences are not as pleasant as you would expect. The jammed lobby, overwhelming families pushing for their buffet breakfast and transient atmosphere take away from the relaxing resort feel. The property is is in generally good condition, our bathroom had several areas of significant damage that gave the impression no one cared about fixing it. The deadbolt on the main room door would not engage, appeared it was new and no one took the effort to align the mechanism. The hospitality training the staff has had is superior. Each staff member we encountered engaged us with a smile, provided a greeting and took an effort to ask about our day and our stay. The beach is just across the street, lounge chairs are $10.00 which is a good value. The only drawback is no food or beverage service but it is only a short walk to the hotel's cafe. We had an afternoon snack at the bar and breakfast in the restaurant. Expect to pay more than you expect, after all this is a resort. As Hilton Honors Diamond members we received breakfast coupons otherwise we would have gone offsite to eat. Overall, the stay was very good except for the casual resort feel being shattered by the one-night cruise ship guests and their mountains of luggage overwhelming the lobby and public spaces.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms give a great view of the beach, no need to book an actual ocean front
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oxford23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas I, General Manager at Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for posting a review; we appreciate your candid comments and feedback, and I will share with our Managment team for discussion on ways to improve our guest experience. We always try to make our check-in/check-out process efficient, and I apologize if you had delays. I am pleased to read, however, that our Team Members were friendly and helpful, and we hope we have the opportunity to host your stay again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We found a 1 bedroom suite with an ocean view on the north side of the hotel very much to our liking. There was a double balcony outside the room and the suite that were connected. If we had friends with us, we could of had a party with the full kitchenette. The bath area was built for 2 with a tub,shower and double sink. The shower was a true waterfall, which I personally love. The view of the ocean is plenty to take in, and since we were on the north, we were shaded. You'd want to be on the south side for the most sun. Since the bedroom is 40 feet from the front door, it is plenty quiet. The hotel is well appointed, within easy walking distance of shopping, sand and eats. We'll be back.

Room Tip: You can spend more, but the oceanview beat the oceanfront by more than price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas I, General Manager at Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for posting a review; I will share your kind comments with our entire team, and will look forward to your return in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kemah, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Booked a 1 bedroom suite, beachfront for 3 nights before our cruise. Room was great. We did have to wait until 4:30 to get into our room. The Hotel gave us a $50 voucher to use in the bar/pool area while we waited. Staff was friendly and very helpful. Would recommend to anyone. We will be staying there again.

Only negative was the breakfast, if you didn't have the buffet you had to wait too long to get your food.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LOWEPLACES3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas I, General Manager at Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for posting a review; we appreciate your comments and feedback. My apologies for the delay at check-in, we do our very best to have all our rooms ready by 3pm. I am pleased that our team offered the breakfast voucher to enjoy the 6th floor Sunrise Terrace while you waited. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Its a shame we had bad weather while we were in Fort Lauderdale as we would have loved to enjoy the pool and beach. The pool (on 6th floor) overlooks the beach and the restaurant Ilios has pretty good pool meals. The beach is right across the street, similar to all other hotels in the area. For us, since the weather wasn't nice, we would have liked the option that the hotel had a shuttle to the Galleria at no charge, like the W next door had. The room was nice with a partial view of the ocean. It was clean and had a mini-kitchen (we had the Jr King Suite).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salandtal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas I, General Manager at Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for the review, and the candid comments about your recent stay. I will share your feedback with our entire team, and certainly explore the possibility of a shuttle for our guests. We hope we have better weather during your next visit. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had an excellent stay here in December. We had a King Jr Suite w/a partial an ocean view. The room and the bathroom were very nice and spacious. The bed was comfortable and had tons of pillows. The staff was wonderful to us. The room was spotless and was always cleaned and restocked when we returned from wherever we were that day. Housekeeping even checked in on us the first evening to make sure we didn't have any special requests. The servers at the poolside bar/breakfast area remembered our name, our drinks, etc. The valets even knew our car and always gave us water to take with us. The pool area is lovely. It was well stocked with clean towels and the DJ was a nice added touch. The beach area was also well stocked with clean towels and an attendant to help. The breakfast had a huge variety of things to eat and everything tasted good. We will be traveling to Ft Lauderdale more in the next few months and we plan on staying here again.

Room Tip: The suites are well worth the upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amyzmailbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas I, General Manager at Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for the review about your recent stay in December; we appreciate that you took the time to offer feedback, and very pleased to read that your time with us was enjoyable and memorable. We look forward to your next visit! My best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a lovely property..at the quiet end of Ft Lauderdale, away from the honky-tonk. It is half the price of the Ritz-Carlton and 80% as nice. We had a room on the 16th floor with a balcony overlooking the ocean. The pool area is nicely designed. Would recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lsd54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas I, General Manager at Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
We appreciate your review; and I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and will recommend our Resort! We look forward to your return. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#14 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,726 reviews
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#26 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,095 reviews
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdal...
#6 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#17 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,990 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#22 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,696 reviews
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#45 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort

Property: Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Address: 505 N Fort Lauderdale Beach Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#3 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#4 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#5 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#5 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort is located on the shoreline of Fort Lauderdale's exclusive north beach, between the palm-shaded boulevards of Sunrise and Las Olas. The Resort delivers the refined elegance of beach resort living, with unique tropical amenities and upscale accommodations, much larger than a regular hotel. Our vision is to provide Distinct Personalized Service by creating unforgettable experiences for our well-traveled guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Ft Lauderdale Beach Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Hilton Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing