We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location...BUT”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Location...BUT”
Reviewed March 21, 2008

This is a good place to stay, you can walk to great eating places and the beach is nice. Our suite was large and clean enough. I was surprised that the walls needed painting, the bathroom could have used a deeper cleaning---as the hotel appears to be fairly new. BEWARE of the construction, it is on both sides and you hear it about 7 am every morning. The staff was helpful and friendly. The pool area is great, crowded but really nice.

  • Liked — Size of suites.
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aggie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,272
    1,209
    389
    163
    82
See reviews for
1,716
1,890
216
474
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,175)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
brooklyn, ny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2008

1) the hotel is NOT directly on the beach, u actaully have to cross a very busy 2 way street to get to the other side.

2) if u want a beach chair on the beach u have to rent one for $10 bucks a day, this can add up if ur planning on staying a few days

3)the only form of parking is valet parking for $29 bucks a day plus tax, again this can really add up , do the math

all in the all the hotel is really nice, the concierge was very helpful, but if ur paying this much money to stay at the pool u dont have to pay for oceanfron, we actually considered staying at teh PELICAN BREIF which is very close but they were a bit more, with all the parking fees and beach chairs, it would have actaully ended up being cheaper..........and they have a private beac, ironic aint it

  • Liked — very clean rooms, great concierge help
  • Disliked — the false advertisement, and the way they manage to disguise many issues that would make u not pick this hotel
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dimpnk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2008

We spent two nights at the Ft. Lauderdale Hilton. I don’t know why it is called a resort…it’s just a hotel with a small pool. If all you want is a hotel room near the beach then this hotel is probably an OK choice. The two massive buildings going up on either side (Trump disaster and the more promising W) aren't finished yet, so the beach is not that crowded. The pool and pool area are really small and the pool was very murky on the 2 days we went down there. Anxious guests come down in the morning and "reserve" all of the seating with beach towels, so if you aren't that type of person you’re better grabbing a quick swim and heading to the beach. The building is so tall that it puts the pool area in the shade at around Noon, so there is little reason to hang out at the hotel if you are looking for sun. On the beach they provide water and you can rent one of the 10-12 umbrellas and chaise chairs they have…but that is it, it’s a public beach so you are pretty much on your own.

The rooms are nice and new and the bed and bathroom in our room was nice and comfortable. There was a little kitchen (we needed to call down for glasses and plates, etc.) and a European washing machine, but the spin cycle was disabled so all it does is get your close really wet and hot…they must have realized too late that the washers can be really loud when they spin.

The balconies for most of the rooms look out on the neighboring construction sites (We were lucky to be on the Trump side because there isn’t that much work going on) even though our room was listed as ‘ocean view’. The balconies are spacious, but because of the shape of the hotel the balconies in the middle all face each other, so they are not very private. You would have to be on the front of the hotel to really see the ocean and get a feeling of privacy.

The real problem with this hotel is the service. There really isn’t any interest in that aspect of hospitality. I have been travelling for work a lot lately and I have encountered some instances of poor service, but this hotel suffers from some of the work staffing choices I’ve encountered. For example, the restaurant where we had lunch and some drinks by the pool is substandard and wildly ambitious in their pricing. The bartender on our one day we ate there was so bad that the first drinks that arrived looked like they had been sent back by another customer earlier and then pawned off on us (half full with the ice melted). We noticed this too late because I don’t think I will ever get the taste of those horrid concoctions out of my mouth. The wait staff understood, but didn’t know what to do, so I blame the management. Something else that may speak to the service and staffing issues we experienced - I tipped the woman who brought us a set of dirty dishes and silverware after we arrived…it was 5:30PM and she told me that it was her first tip since 5:30AM. I noticed that the clientele was mostly European. In Europe where there is a different pay structure tipping is not always necessary, perhaps it is harder to find Americans to service them…

The only exception to our bad meal was the breakfast buffet, which is very good, but $27 for coffee and an omelet that you carry to the table yourself is pushing it.

There is one other issue with this hotel. It is not well situated, so you have to drive go out, and you are at their mercy for parking $39 a day...

  • Liked — proximity to the beach
  • Disliked — waiting repeatedly for someone to forget your request...room service...housekeeping...waiter...front deask, etc.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank lapsarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfield, NC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2008

We spent 4 nights at the Hilton - 3/5 - 3/9. Other than some rain, the trip was sensational! The hotel as described here is truly beautiful. We had an ocean front, one bedroom. Fantastic! I have
stayed in Presidential suites not as nice. The pool was great - the seating is a little limited for a property this size. Two hot tubs. We had breakfast included in the package and found it to be very good. Lots of choices. The beach is across the street but no problem getting over there. We stayed mostly by the pool. Staff was fantastic. We did not meet one person who didn't smile and speak to us. The one restaurant/bar/breakfast room seems to be a little compact being in one room for such a large property but we only ate breakfast there and there was never a problem getting a table. The entertainment district with a large selection of restaurants with sidewalk seating is a 15 minute walk. Try the Del Mar for a terrific meal! Sun Trolley runs up and down the street at 15 minute intervals and charges 50 cents per trip if you don't want to walk. It will take you in the opposite direction to the great Galleria mall, too. All in all - we had a great get away - just too short!

  • Liked — Beautiful suite
  • Disliked — Lack of a
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brogden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2008

The hotel is modern and very nicely appointed. We started in an oceanview studio with 2 queen beds with mini kitchen - on the weekend, but we were upgraded later to a 1 BR suite with a full kitchen, LR and 2 balconies with the view of the ocean. Wonderful front desk staff who were very accomodating. The negatives - the restaurant is VERY expensive altho the food is not bad; parking is valet only for $ 29+ tax /day- standard for the area however.
Am a gold Hilton member so breakfast was free for 4 of us BUT it 's very limited - continental only and has to be served, can't get your own - choice of pastries or toast , fruit cup and juice/coffee - but for $11 you get the entire buffet .
Overll, considering this was a reward FREE stay, can't complain at all, if only you didnt have to cross a busy blvd to get to the beach!! misleading picture on the website;

  • Liked — view and space
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank looneytune123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
87 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2008

Hotel is lacking any ambience. The one and only restaurant is horribly overpriced, food had no flavor and for a glass of wine and appetizer the bill was 65.00. Pool is incredibly small for size of hotel.
One bedroom suite was gorgeous, beautiful view of ocean the ocean. Bed was comfortable. Very clean and quiet. Although wouldn't stay here again because it isn't a place where you would stay for more than one night.

  • Liked — The room
  • Disliked — Location, no ambience
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank sunbaby39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2008

We had an ocean view with 2 queen beds. The room was nice and clean. The bathroom was very nice. There was a microwave, fridge, cook top and coffee maker (with coffee) in the room. The views from the balcony looked across the street to the ocean from the side. If you were inside the room looking out, you could just see the ocean. The restaurant and bar were very expensive, but we were within walking distance from beach place and the water taxi.

Service at the hotel was very bad (except the bell men and the concierge). Each time our room was cleaned we had to call for something (bathclothes had to call 2 days, toilet paper 1 day, towels 1 day, soap 3 days). Then we waited for a long time each time, called back and the first request had been forgotten. The first morning I had to go find the housekeeper to get washclothes. She led me to a linen closet that was a total mess with towels and washclothes all over the place and trash and dishes on the floor. She grabbed a stack of about 6 washclothes (unfolded) and handed them to me, a handful of soap bars and 6 towels). Of course the next day she took them all and there was none when we got back from sightseeing.

So enjoy the clean room (which is most important to me) and do without the service - after all we were there to enjoy the break from winter and they had unseasonably high temperatures.

I will look for somewhere else next time, the prices were top of the line, so I would expect top of the line service.

  • Liked — Clean, nice room
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank sherrye777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#16 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,653 reviews
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#26 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,022 reviews
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#15 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdal...
#6 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,488 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#21 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,659 reviews
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort

Property: Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Address: 505 N Fort Lauderdale Beach Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#3 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#4 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#4 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#5 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort is located on the shoreline of Fort Lauderdale's exclusive north beach, between the palm-shaded boulevards of Sunrise and Las Olas. The Resort delivers the refined elegance of beach resort living, with unique tropical amenities and upscale accommodations, much larger than a regular hotel. Our vision is to provide Distinct Personalized Service by creating unforgettable experiences for our well-traveled guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Vacatia, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Ft Lauderdale Beach Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Hilton Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing