We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it’s not my first choice”
Review of Coconut Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coconut Bay Resort
Ranked #57 of 127 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Reviewed March 15, 2008

The Coconut Bat Resort is an older Motel done over into timeshares. There was some new furniture and some older. The transitions are fair, but the "main frame" is still an older building. When we turned on the oven, a large Florida cockroach comes crawling out from behind the stove onto the counter. TVs were old and had poor quality pictures. There is a list of rules and it's was like taking care of everything at home instead of being on vacation. If you didn't follow the rules, there was a charge! The pool was a little small for the size of the facility and the pool was hotter than the hot tub. The managers made nice presentation Monday morning with coffee and donuts. The survey they ask you to talk about the points system ends up being a pitch to sale additional weeks, but there was no pressure. When we said no, it was accepted. The location was great – a short walk to the beach. There is a fantastic Italian Restaurant on Sunrise, just on the other side of the tree line. It’s great and a must!! I would go back if I couldn’t find another place, but it’s not my first choice.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank WashPA0214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

145 - 151 of 187 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2007

On first inspection the apartment was larger than I had expected and I was pleased with the equipement provided. However a little let down by the fact that there were no sheets for the sofa bed which meant we had to wait until the next day to get some. The carpet was filthy as the bottom of my daughter's socks revealed!
You need to keep ALL food in the fridge to avoid the ants!!
The staff were friendly, but felt a little intimidated in the surrounding area ( bars and tattoo parlors not to our taste)The pool area was very quiet and provided many happy hours of sunbathing and swimming.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Floridafun_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2007

Our son is in Coconut Grove so we traded a timeshare week to stay at the Coconut Bay Resort. Although this is only the second time we traded . We are seasoned travelers.

This Resort is in a super location. Many malls and restaurants nearby. Beach is a block away. 7-Eleven is on the corner !!! Lots of places to walk to. Water taxi is nearby.

We had a one bedroom unit. The unit was spacious and very clean. It was very comfortable but needs updating. They are in the process of updating some units.The grounds were well kept and the pool was very clean. It is located on an intracoastal waterway so we had a few large boats out our window to look at. They have outdoor sitting areas on each floor, so you can be outside. Lots of chairs and tables around the pool. And they have gas grills you can use.

If our son stays in that area we will definetly go back to this resort.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank SugarMtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Nosotros teniamos un apartamento de 2 cuartos y estaba muy bueno.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Katya F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Ana2606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: no duden en ir , precio conveniente
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Thank RichardAndres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017
1  Thank Drakabor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#14 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
2,822 reviews
Central Beach
Silver Seas Beach Resort
Silver Seas Beach Resort
#93 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
102 reviews
GALLERYone - A DoubleTree Suites...
#42 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
2,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
3,825 reviews
Ocean Beach Palace Hotel and Sui...
#51 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
199 reviews
Sea Club Resort
#82 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Bay Resort

Address: 919 N Birch Rd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-3317
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: $103 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coconut Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Coconut Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Bay Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing