We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place, especially for the older hosteler” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hotel Deauville

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Hotel Deauville
Certificate of Excellence
Osceola, AR
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Nice place, especially for the older hosteler”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2009

Deauville is only a couple blocks from the beach in Ft. Lauderdale. Great location. Guys running the place are very proud of their place and they should be. I arrived late, but was no problem. Paid $25, current rate. Met many guys who were above the 35 age. Had some great discussion and enjoyed a bottle of wine. Atmosphere is very relaxed.

Problems? Only a few. Bathroom was unbelievably dirty and the common kitchen was almost as bad. We should have spent more time cleaning than chatting, but it looked like it's been that way for a while. Everything in the kitchen was privately owned, as little to nothing was owned by the hostel... which is unusual. 8 packed to a room made it a bit crowded, and some of the older guys were heavy snorers.. whew. Overall, these problems are common to popular hostels and we get used to that.

There are several hostels in the Lauderdale/Miami area, and didn't have time to check the others. This place is worth the money for sure.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BAHnOsceola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    24
    8
    5
    5
See reviews for
7
28
58
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
fort lauderdale
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2009

Suprisingly, nice place. Many upgrades. Not a gay resort anymore.Great pool area, friendly staff, close to the beach.

  • Liked — pool area
  • Disliked — construction
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sixpackjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdubbs23
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2008

My stay at the deauville was very pleasent and nice. the hotel staff was nice and polite. the rooms were clean and there was a beutiful view of the ocean which made for nice quiet, pleasent evenings, i would recommend this hotels to vacationers. the next time im in florida im stayin at the deauville inn.

  • Liked — ocean view
  • Disliked — valet took too long
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jdubbs23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2008

Stayed in this hostel for 4 nights, the first night saw bugs walking on the wall behind the bed, told the manager, next day , nothing was done, I got over 100 bites in the boddy. At the beggining I thought it was mosquitos bites because it was raining and there was a hole where the ac was, but later realized that were bed bugs. The manager promissed to exterminate the room next day but nothing was done. I came back home and brought some of themin my luggage, I got bites two days lafter I arrived back home . I had to go to a doctor and I am getting allergy reaction from it. It has been almost 4 weeks after I left I just got two bites in my head last night , so that mean I still have that bug in my apt.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank msousa4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2007

What a slice of heaven with a cherry on top! Clean, well kept up, friendly staff, and a pool for those days you don't want sand everywhere. Free laundry, just buy your single serving soap there or walk a block or so to Walgreens where you can get ANYTHING you need. (GREAT location, you don't even have to get on the city bus if you don't want to) Also a gas station across the street for a shorter walk for your beverage of choice, and about 5-6 blocks up is a large grocery store which saves you money.

The Night Manager, Bo, besides having won 1st place in a state tattoo competition (ask him to show you his back!), and also having his Captain's License, is one of the most kind & helpful souls I have ever met! He's "Good People", for those of you who don't know what that means-he's like the friend that always looks out for you even when you don't know it. You can ask him any ? about Ft Lauderdale & where you want to go & he can tell you how to get there.

Anyway, I'll definitely be going back to the Deauville! It's like a hotel & you just sometimes have a room mate! They are also very good at not tolerating unacceptable behavior from guests...& kicking them out & only allowing only us well behaved guestes stay :) It doesn't mean you won't have a blast though!!!!!

  • Liked — Ceanliness, location, night mgmt
  • Disliked — lockers had not arrived yet
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whypetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2007

In the past 4 years I have visited Florida 9 times. On 8 of those occasions I had the pleasure of staying in Fort Lauderdale in this little hidden wonder. I've always had a great time while there. Along the way, I met some good friends and the management has always been professional and curtious. They go out of their way to try to make a person feel welcome. I have a positive relationship with them and recommend this island paradise to anyone. The clubs and restaurants are very, very close by, the beach is around back, just turn the corner, and the site there is amazing. Although recently, they got a bit into the "nude" thing, inspite of this, it doesn't deter me from visiting again and again. After all, clothing is optional, nude is not mandatory. Thanks guys for making my many stays wonderful and memorable. I hope they continue for years to come.

Efrain (zdor@gay.com)

  • Liked — Quiet Seclusion
  • Disliked — Not enough rooms, but still nice
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank zdor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2007

I found this place while doing research for a travel guidebook. They just reopened in April as a hostel. The innkeepers were super friendly and professional and the place is really awesome for a hostel. I had just been to the hostel across the street and frankly found it a little creepy. But this place has a great pool and the rooms are great, too. Plus, it's right near the beach. I saw hostels all over Florida and this was one of the nicest.

  • Liked — Price, great management
  • Disliked — No complaints
  • Stayed July 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank krausely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Universal Palms Hotel
#80 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,618 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#17 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Manor Resort Hotel
#21 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,890 reviews
Pelican Grand Beach Resort, A No...
#11 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,530 reviews
Galt Villas Inn
#19 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Deauville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Deauville

Property: The Hotel Deauville
Address: 2916 N Ocean Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308-7528
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Hotel Deauville 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your The Hotel Deauville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deauville Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing